A New Dolphin - Thanks To You!

in #steemph6 years ago

It's been a while since I had a milestone post. I remember getting overly excited about getting my first few payouts, that led to a post I titled; How 15 Minutes a Day for 30 Days in Steemit Paid for My Phone Bill. Milestones are important for many aspects of life. During my tenure in the corporate world, "milestones" is a term most often used in project management, typically to mark and celebrate an important achievement most specially those that are delivered within the project timeline. In life, "milestones" are pretty much anything indicating progress or development; like a baby's first few steps on his/her own, a toddlers first word or words, every graduation ceremony in school, getting married, having your first kid, 50 years wedding anniversary, among many others.

Dolphin.jpg

In Steemit, milestones are set in quite a few yardstick. Looking at the trending page for the tag milestone, we would see Steemians celebrating their anniversaries in the platform, or thanking their hundreds or thousands of followers. There are our fellow Steemians who announce getting to a certain reputation score, or having published thousands of posts and comments.

The milestones announced by Steemians usually involved gratitude for the support they got from the community in achieving those that are important to them, and this one is no different. I've always felt that Steemit is more of a marathon than a sprint. In contrast sprinters typically have the goal of finishing first, while marathoners have to plan and persevere to run the whole 26 miles; occasionally aiming to break his/her own previous record. In a marathon, surpassing ones own previous performance is usually more important than beating everyone else, actually finishing is more important than finishing first.

From early on, I have given building Steem Power importance. I have written a few articles about powering up, encouraged it in my writing, and even went to several cities in the Philippines to promote powering up. Here's a few posts I wrote about powering up.

I've always felt that community building and involvement are at the core of Steemit. My exposure to data however, says that it is really only beneficial for the members of communities when the group holds enough Steem Power to support its members. In my earlier contributions to @utopian-io exploring country specific tags, I have stablished a direct correlation between the growth of communities/countries' user-base, and the Steem Power holding of it's members. I used this knowledge to really drive powering up in every way I know; my thoughts around the benefits of powering up, an analysis of actual data to show how much more profitable powering up can be, a fiction story about accumulating Steem Power and its role in the long-term, and contests to encourage powering up.

plug-in-2783574_1920.jpg

My personal favorite however, is being an example. Powering up by process is fairly easy, there's been tons of tutorials on how to do it. The more difficult parts are the discipline involved in delaying the gratification from the hard-earned rewards, and believing that Steemit will continue to do relatively well compared to say ten months ago when my account was created. From then until now, I still believe us, and anyone who will join until the end of this year to be early adaptors still. While many will attempt to operate the same business model as Steemit, the platform is likely to maintain its leadership at least until something truly great comes up. Even when another great platform comes up, they will have to spend time building a name and reputation for themselves.

Because of accumulating Steem Power, I am able to spread my upvotes across many communities, who supports me in return. Even at a lower voting weight, my upvote still gives a few cents of rewards, and a full upvote is valued at an amount which can give a decent meal from where I am. I want to thank all of you who have supported me in my journey so far. And if you haven't been doing it yet, power up! and together, let's bring our communities to greater heights.


Special thanks to the @sndbox incubators and my fellow cohorts in alpha, my @steemph family, the #blockchainbi community, and my fellow qurites in @qurator


Credits:

Dolphin Badge - @steemitboard
Street Marathon - Pixabay
Team Hand-Stack - Pixabay
Electronic Car Plugged In - Pixabay
Thanks Scrabble Letters - Pixabay

steemitph.png

sndbox.gif

Sort:  

Congrats Red you are now rich-er than before ;D You perfectly deserved it. We hope to see steemit grow from now onwards as it really helps a big number of people. God Bless.

Thanks Arnold! I've not been as active as before. Been busy with other things. I hope your heath is improving. You are richer my friend, in Steem Power and in love. Take care!

Congrats sir Red, Its a great reward for your hard work😇

Thanks @mariejoyacajes! I've removed my trail to Antipolo after a month, and had to move on trailing another community. I just noticed that you've found a new format in @dlive. Congrats vlogger! :-)

Welcome.^^ yes i enjoyvlogging thank you po

Dear Friend @steemitph. Your article gives me the support and the necessary help to have a renewed confidence in this wonderful #steemit platform. Receive my most sincere congratulations.

Thanks @felixgarciap I see you're doing pretty well yourself. Thanks for always supporting my contents.

Congratulations!.gif

Thanks Anna! We've been extremely busy lately and haven't had time to engage. We are now back though, and hope to go or organize an event. Hope to see you soon!

I'll look forward to that Sir :)
Will that be held on weekends also Sir Red?

Congratulations @steemitph!! It’s a well deserved milestone for a very strong community builder.

Milestones - getting to goals, little steps in this space. The key is being consistent, getting your ass on here as often as you can. Keep up the good work. Cheers GUNGA

Congrats Sir, thank you for introducing steemit to me and now part of this amazing platform, your dedication and commitment is unparallel and unmatched, it will take me many years even before I reached your level now but I will practice my patience and hopefully I follpw your footsteps. Congratulations again sir Red..

nice post and agree with the transformative power of Steem power! and crypto in general, a new beginning....

Congratulations @steemitph! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congrats sir Red:) Truly you are an inspiration to us. We are so happy that you are here in this community . "Your success is our success .".

You deserved it sir, this is the reward of your hardwork!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63547.08
ETH 3070.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83