Sort:  

@byn,

Byn, you are a very good writer. This was very well written and flawlessly edited. I will definitely follow the series.

Mind you, as an ex-military guy, I can tell you survival isn't nearly that easy. A friction fire with some leaves ... try it. Coconuts and mangoes: By this time, they'd have lost twenty pounds apiece and would have chronic diarrhea. They need some fat and protein in their diet, pronto ... or they'll be no hanky panky going on between these two emaciated skeletons. :-)

Fat, woodash and water ... all you need to make soap. Throw in some coconut oil and Rachel smells like Eve.

Have Chuck build some fish and bird traps and have Rachel find a consistent source of eggs. Throw some clay pots in a rudimentary kiln and I shut up.

BTW ... bamboo solves a LOT of problems.

Quill

And I'm STILL thinking, "Why didn't I think of EGGS?" :) Seriously, awesome suggestions! Thanks again. You've inspired me.

@byn,

I'm ravenous just thinking about all this. I could eat ... a half-dozen seagulls. :-)

And seagulls ... they lay eggs in seaside cliffs by the thousands, don't they? Two paragraphs and you've got a huge source of protein. No refrigeration required.

While we're on the subject of information you never asked me to provide, all you need to do to catch a seagull is dig a cone-shaped hole down into wet sand and then drop some food around the opening, and, into the hole itself.

Birds can't jump vertically without first opening their wings. So, they jump into the hole to get the food (fish guts perhaps) but then can't get out because jumping up causes their wings to open, which is blocked by the narrow opening above.

Pluck, skewer with a stick and cook over an open fire.

Crack a coconut in half and leave the halved pieces on the ground overnight. The ants will perfectly clean out the flesh. Two bowls. Fill the bowls with seawater and let evaporate in the sun. What remains: sea salt. Salted seagull meat is delicious (we also had pepper but that's probably not plausible in your story).

Those clay pots: fill with rain water and bring to boil over coals. Crumble dried seaweed into the pot and add seagull blood and fat drippings. The blood and fat thickens the broth and adds a lot of flavor. Now throw in the cooked meat and, if you've got them, eggs. Seagull/Seaweed Stew. It's delicious, nutritious and filling.

Quill

Lol. I'm literally drooling just reading this. I might be hungry. :)

We spent almost two years living on a sailboat and spent as many days as we could anchored near uninhabited islands. Of course they were all TINY and had really nothing to show as far as fruit or birds or anything, being in the Bahamas for most of our time, there wasn't even cool things like coconuts.

Still, it really peaked my creative side and I love to imagine what it would be like. Seriously, thank you SO much for all the information. I might have to put a little more realism into this story as I go along :)

I really really appreciate it!

@byn,

Lots more where that came from. Let me know if you need to build a shelter from waddle and daub, create cement from seashells or thermite from an aluminum plate and a rusty chain. They were right after all: all that training would come in handy some day. :-)

I REALLY love the idea of writing a survival on an island kind of story some day in a much more solid, long form kind of way, so I love your ideas! I may figure out how to incorporate them into this story yet. Thanks for the suggestions! I always hesitate to take on stories like this because I know I'm not knowledgeable enough yet.

I believe everyone thought of being once on such lonely island, of course tropical, rich of fruits, water, fishes and may be some small animals that you can hunt and cook nice meat. But in reality if it happens everything is more hash and it is not only nice tropical paradise but a hard life. In your story it seems like the hero is traveling in time or in their past life, where again they were together but another circumstances. That makes them confused, lost but who knows what is behind those memories. Interesting build up story with good potential for continuation.

Hi byn,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Whoa... it is certainly a strange and intriguing story so far. They remember their pasts but they don't actually remember why they are there :o.
                           
A nice chapter to read :).
                           
Congratulations for your curie vote ^_^.

I haven't read through previous chapters but just seeing it is already chapter 7 and reading through it tell me that you are indeed a very good writer. As a struggling writer even for my short blogs, I really admire and keep wondering where you folks are getting those ideas specially for fiction stories.

Very good writing your have there!

I often start with a freewrite (either a single prompt or a three part weekend freewrite with three prompts) and I just start writing. I rarely ever think ahead or know what's happening next. On the rare occasion that I think I know where the story is going or what is going to happen... THEN I have struggles writing or I discover that I am really really wrong!

Thank you for the compliments. I would highly recommend checking out @mariannewest for the freewrite challenge. I was stuck for years trying to write any semblance of a story and the freewrite challenge literally made the stories start pouring out of me!

Thank you for the inputs and recommendation. Yes, I see Marianne's username and contest pop up from time to time. It looks like her initiatives are indeed a great start. I'll try to keep an eye on those... 😊

I like your story. The way you tell the story is beautiful. Every single word is carefully chosen and nothing is there just for the sake of words. Very nice and thoughtful. The story is so interesting. Being on a deserted island and having no idea why you're there while you're remember the past? And probably even your former life? Great! I will be waiting for the continuation. I wonder where you will bring them and how the story will develop around the war. Thank you for sharing and congratulations on your curie vote!

COMPLETE THUNDER OVERHAUL
Read Here

The Thunder Gods have deemed you a worthy recipient of this upvote.
You are a true supporter and it is the God’s honor to bestow you with our gift.

If you wish to receive greater gifts please consider the various delegation levels!

Tier 1 - 50 SP --- Tier 2 - 100 SP --- Tier 3 - 200 SP
Tier 4 - 300 SP --- Tier 5 - 400 SP --- Tier 6 - 500 SP
Tier 7 - 750 SP --- Tier 8 - 1000 SP --- Tier 9 - 1500 SP
Tier 10 - 2000 SP --- Tier 11 - 2500 SP --- Tier 12 - 5000 SP
We can't wait to support you!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky.

The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy,
rewarding it with an upvote and comment from @thundercurator.

Get on-board early and grow with us!

Great job with this @byn! I did not realize you were writing big projects aside from freewrite. You have endless creativity. I hope you will be joined the nanwrimo challenge so you can get some of this published long term. It will be a crazy month, but worth it, I think.

I'm working on a compilation to publish in November. I've written four longer stories/novellas that I really SHOULD expand on and flesh out into full length novels, but I'm not sure if that will happen. I MIGHT do the NaNoWriMo, but there is so much chaos in my life at the moment, I'm just not sure I can make the commitment. I do need to look into the details more, though, because I've been horrible about keeping up with any of my online things! Thanks for the reminder!

You are welcome. I have a book in progress that I really need to publish. I'm thinking of doing my own version of nanowrimo to see if I can get it onto Amazon by 11/30.

I surely do not need to write any more words. I need to edit and cut instead. I won in nanowrimo a few years ago and did not publish that either!

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS @steemitbloggers family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17