i fix things

in #steempress6 years ago (edited)


Having a hard time introducing myself to an Orang Utan

I have always had a hard time when it comes to introducing myself. So often we tend to just label ourselves based on the kind of work that we do, while others label themselves based on the educational degree's that they acquired.

So when i am asked to reintroduce myself to the @sndbox community and steem ecosystem as a whole for my first assignment being on @sndbox Cohort2, I had to take a ciggy break and really think on where should i begin.

I have grown over the years to realize that i am a jack of all trades, master of few. Put me in whatever challenges or situations, I know deep inside that i will succeed and at times thrive. I am saying this with both confidence and humility due to many past experiences and challenges I've got myself into.

I am born with dyslexia, recalling my years growing up with it was tough. However, at one point in life, i felt like i had some breakthrough which i like to think of it now as a miracle. I am not the smartest guy in the room nor i am the most talented but somehow i am blessed with a strong imaginative mind to see through a problem and come up with various solutions.

Perhaps, Albert Einstein was right when he said imagination is more important than knowledge.



Organizing Awareness Program on Marine Turtle In Partnership With Sabah Park.

When i was headhunted by the World Wildlife Fund Malaysia to lead and established a marine conservation project in the east coast of Sabah, Malaysia Borneo. I was once asked on my strength to take on the task, i had a hard time answering the question as i do not have a marine biology or science background, to begin with.

So, i asked the interviewer to give me a tough scenario, a problem that they have and i will come up with a solution. The rest was history.

I've set up a team and we raise 1.3 Million Malaysia Ringgit, the biggest WWF Malaysia ever received on a single marine project. Since then, in WWF Malaysia documentation, when it comes to introducing me as the project leader, They would put up the following to describe me, " his core strength lies in understanding and adapting to changing environments".

In all honesty, until today i don't really know what they mean. To me, all i know is that i am pretty good at fixing things up.

Nowadays, i just enjoy being a dad to little @matthewdoughty. I owned and run a boutique PR Firm, does ecotourism and marine conservation consultancy, and is attached to several companies in various capacities that deals with creative media, social enterprise, entertainment sports, tourism, project management company and NGO's




Some of my work at Macau as the President for a tourism-based NGO


Thanks to @bitrocker2020 that got me into steemit on July 2017, i am now hooked on blockchain especially on Steem Blockchain.

When i first heard about blockchain and the crypto world, i just push it aside as i couldn't figure out where is the best entry point. Of all things, this is one thing that required more than just imagination, it required knowledge.

Being on steemit is the best and easy entry into the world of Blockchain, to see it and using its application especially for steem blockchain is mind-boggling. The possibility is endless but the fear of entry is real, so the solution to end the fear is through education.

Since then, we have organized Steemit Bootcamp and an advanced level programs call Steemit Masterclass, to educate other on content creation and the variety of applications build upon Steem Blockchain.

To me, i am passionate toward getting more Social Enterprise and Non-Governmental Organization that deals with Community, Environment and Social Justice to consider Steem Blockchain as their platform for Alternative Sustainable Financing Mechanism rather than just depending on getting their funds through traditional methods.

It is also ideal for philanthropy to use Steem Blockchain as their channel to support such causes. The bottom line for these two parties to work is transparency, reporting and accountability, all of which is in steem blockchain. The time has come that we change the way philanthropist and project executors collaborates.

Steem Blockchain has truly impacted my world, I see it as another solution to the existing failed world economic model. Communities that we have grown within our region has started accepting steem as a form of payment, this includes a General Practitioner @papanog, a Travel Agency @veenang, a tattoo and airbrush artist @borneoairbrush and a Cafe Owner @beverlyjoe to name a few.

It is because of this growth and the initiatives that we as a community created in the past month that drives me to more driven about steem, steem blockchain, steem applications and its potentials.

A month ago, after pitching to @bitrocker2020, together we reconceptualized a program of what we did in the past, to be duplicated throughout Southeast Asia with one goal in mind...

To encourage Mass Migration of social media user in Southeast Asia to steem blockchain application

This initiative is called @SteemXP (www.steemxp.com). Through SteemXP we hope to identify and collaborate with trust agents in every city in Southeast Asia, engaging them to be a city chapter manager to grow steem blockchain communities in their city and organizing educational program and events.

By then, imagine the abundance, diversity and network of product and services through the SteemXP communities that take on steem as a form of payment within the Southeast Asian Nations Member which includes Indonesia, Thailand, Malaysia, Vietnam, Singapore, Philippines, Myanmar (Burma), Cambodia, Laos and Brunei.

As mention earlier, one of the challenges to get into the Blockchain world is fear of the unknown, this can only be tackled through education. It is because of this that we will be organizing The Borneo Blockchain Summit which will be held on the 8th of September 2018 at University Malaysia Sabah, Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysian Borneo.

I hope to see through more of similar events in different cities in time to come. It is through this platform that i will be contributing for the steemit community and most importantly would help accelerate our goal to see more Southeast Asian Communities to be on steem applications and NGO's to realize the possibility to have steem blockchain as their platform for alternative sustainable financing mechanism.

There is a lot more about me that I've done in the past, but honestly who cares. What might be interesting is what i am getting myself into in the future. i hope we cross path in my journey through the steem blockchain world.

So, let's start all over again, let me reintroduce myself. My name is Daniel Doughty, I am from Kota Kinabalu, Malaysian Borneo. I am hopelessly in love with my wife @viverridae, love spending time with my kid, little @matthewdoughty and i fix things.



@viveridae, little @matthewdoughty and i love Japanese Food


 





Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://danieldoughty.vornix.blog/2018/08/07/i-fix-things/

Sort:  

Congratulations @danieldoughty on your success acceptance in @sndbox team. It will be fruitful in future and will help you go more smooth. CheERS for that.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @danieldoughty on the acceptance into sndbox cohort 2!!!

I have missed your first introduceyourself since you joined way earlier than me. This post is helpful for us to know you more. The strength that you have about "understanding and adapting to changing environments", that is a great strength because not everyone possess that. It means you can survive anywhere because you are a survivor.

What an inspiring post, thank you! :)

cheers @happycrazycon , my first introduceyourself post was just a photo of myself and a few lines saying hello to steemit world. lol. pretty pathetic. hahaha. i am glad that this post did what it does , for you to know me a little bit more. hehe. cheers for dropping a line.

Your photo being so close with the orangutan is so cool! @danielwong would envy you because his favorite animal is the orangutan! :)

hehe.. cheers, it was one lucky shot made by a friend when i was at kalimantan . good to know that @danielwong love orang utan too. come to kk , wildlife park .. can see there too
hope to see you both here next month

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17