Calling all makers on SteemsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steempress5 years ago (edited)


Let's get together.

I've been looking around on Steem for Makers a bit lately and I just can't seem to locate many.

Fellow Steem geeks, is there a good way to find makers on Steem, or do I just continue to manually sort through searches and people I happen upon? I don't know if I expect to find a silver bullet for finding these folks, and maybe they just aren't really here yet, but that is sort of hard to believe.

Contest?

I see a lot of people using contests to outsource activities. It's a new interest of mine that I almost willfully resisted until now. These days I find myself really attracted to trying all sorts of contests. It's fun and it seems to get people riled up, which is a good thing, of course.

I'm not particularly creative and I want to be fair. The hard thing for me is coming up with a scheme I feel that is fair to anyone that is trying to help.

Any ideas of how I might do a contest to find Makers out there? I could delegate some SP as a reward. Goodness, as I'm thinking about it, I need to have a contest to figure out how to do contests.



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://makers.diggndeeper.com/calling-all-makers-on-steem/
Sort:  

I can relate to your problems for sure. It is not easy to find people who are sharing their knowledge and experiences here on the blockchain.

My strategy for finding new content is to browse tags like #diy, #homesteading, #craft, #print3d, #howto, #tutorial and so on.. It is not easy and kind of a bigger effort but so I found a lot of cool stuff.
You can browse tags pretty easy by using the following url and just replace the tag in the url:

https://steemit.com/created/diy

You can check out the weekly curation reports of diytube to find new creators but there are many more DIY-topics we are curating:
painting, music, and such stuff but from time to time a homesteader / crafter uploads something.

I can also recommend you the community called GHSC (Global Homesteading Collective) where many homesteaders and makers are active. They got a good organized discord. https://discord.gg/pRHUtQd is their link.

If you have any questions just ask :)

Peace!

Thank you. I appreciate that.

Hey there! @thesteemhouse guy here. The project is down, but not out for the count. I've had a sort of disaster scenario in my life as of late, and the time needed to pursue even a personal blog has been lacking.

Things are coming together, and I'm hoping to one day soon light a fire under it once again.

As far as finding makers, and getting them to actively engage... I'd say I've tried a lot. There's the @steemmakers discord, though you seem to already know about that due to your use of the tag. Beyond that, I was connecting with niche groups that fell under the maker umbrella, as most don't call themselves "makers". Manual tag searches were always fun, and connecting with individuals who might connect you with friends.

It's almost serendipitous that you would mention The Steem House today, as I've been writing a long "Where have you been?" post, and just today have been writing a note about the project 😊

I'm glad to connect with you again!

I'm sincerely sorry you have been having troubles. When it rains, it pours, as they say. I hope you are doing better.

@steemmakers seems to be quiet. Their last post is 8 months ago, which is a Welcome post, lol.

Manual tag searches were always fun, and connecting with individuals who might connect you with friends.

Yup, we might be geeks if we think that's fun, lol. I know I am.

It's almost serendipitous that you would mention The Steem House today, as I've been writing a long "Where have you been?" post, and just today have been writing a note about the project

Great! I look forward to hearing more. I'd like to light a fire under more "makers" and get people together so we can see the cool things they are working on and also get some collaboration going on.

I have an old project that I'm thinking about spending some free time on that could end up being a source of funding for @thesteemhouse, and that's a sort of maker project that I'd definitely be looking for collaborators on, though I can't promise anything to the internet in my current state 🤣

Wondered why I had not heard from you in a while. Keep your head up @thatsweeneyguy. I look forward to communities, hopefully we can get a maker community going.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey @diggindeeper.com I work to showcase maker type folks on steemit through my podcast @meadowsandmakers there is an effort by @tibfox creating a project @diytube for makers. I share all of my projects with steemit.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for sharing the diytube contest!

No problem. I have come to really like to do and promote contests these days. I feel like it helps put a fire under people.

Awesome. I look forward to seeing more of that. Thanks for the comment.

@diggndeeper.com You have received a 100% upvote from @botreporter because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86