Roads trips - a retrospective

in #steempress5 years ago (edited)


Having grown up in a small town and in high school, having gone to boarding school in another town, road trips were commonplace. There are, however, some trips that remain embedded in my memory. The first that I really remember would have been in 1967. It was the year after we arrived in South Africa and my father had a new job, necessitating a move from Port Elizabeth to East London. It's a trip of about 300km and at the time, my parents didn't have a car. A friend offered to drive us to East London. I remember little about the trip (I'd have been about four and my sister nineteen months younger), except that the car was huge. The four of us - plus the driver - had ample space. One thing I do remember - other than the heat and burning the backs of my legs on the shiny vinyl seats - was the bench-like front seat from which I could just about see over the dashboard. A music play list? I doubt it. The driver would have been accompanied by anything a capella - if anyone sang. I don't have a clue!

Granny and the Mini


The next road trip that I remember, was not long after that, and as my Dad was going for a(nother) job interview - in Grahamstown. It would have been late 1969 or early 1970 because my granny was visiting from the UK. By then, my parents had acquired a motor car which was the complete antithesis of the vehicle in which we made that other road trip. It was a Mini Minor, much like the one below.

Source

What you do need to know, is that both my mother and my grandmother were tall women, so I still have difficulty thinking of their folding themselves up so that they could get into that car.


Granny outside her home in Cowley, Oxford. Ironically, this is where Austin manufactured minis and it's likely that she had worked in that factory during the war. I wrote a bit about that here.

Back to that trip. Granny sat in the back: in the middle. She was bookended by her granddaughters. I have vivid memories of putting my head in her lap and sleeping at least part of the way. Although I don't actually remember her singing, I have no doubt that she did. This was her nightly lullaby. I sometimes still sing it in my head and Joan Baez's rendition reminds me of Granny and her beautiful voice.

As I mentioned, road trips were a regular feature of my childhood. After moving to Grahamstown, there were frequent visits to Port Elizabeth and even one to Cape Town. Then in my high school years there were regular trips from Grahamstown to East London and back - at least monthly, if not more often - to and from boarding school. The subsequent series of motor cars didn't have a radio in them, let alone a tape cassette. Consequently, there was no such thing as a road trip play list. I must have sung on some of these trips - especially as a little girl. I loved singing, but my singing was not loved:

Daddy, what can I sing for you?
His inevitable reply:
Over the hills and faraway....
He meant not the tune, but ... literally.

Consequently, road trips included games like "I spy with my little eye...." or counting cars, and more interesting, guessing the origins of motor vehicles from their number plates. This was long before the advent of the current number plate series, and we could guess province, town and country. We prided ourselves on knowing that TSN was Sandton (if memory serves). TJ and TP were Johannesburg and Pretoria, respectively, both in the then Transvaal (now Gauteng). There was a time I could recite the towns for number plates that started with C(ape) and from A to Z. The Western Cape has retained this series for its towns and I can still tell you some of them, including that CA is Cape Town (a no-brainer since we lived there for years) and that CZ is Beaufort West. B, C, D, E and F were all in the Eastern Cape and were, in order: Port Elizabeth, Kimberley, King Williams Town, East London and Grahamstown. I did have to check that I was right with Kimberley (Source). Funny how these trivial things stick. I wish some other information was so readily retrievable from the memory banks! Actually, the second car I owned, was registered in Grahamstown, and it was with that CF number plate that my Blue Fiat Uno and I arrived in Cape Town in the mid-1990s. Not a road trip I remember with any relish at all.

A stop in Parys


Moving swiftly back to happier times, well, sort of, is a road trip made not long after my 21st birthday and on which occasion this photo was taken.

Dad, Mum and I at my 21st birthday (garden) party

That road trip is memorable for a range of good and awful reasons. It was a 1,000km trip from Grahamstown to Johannesburg. On the trip up - in a clapped out Datsun - packed to the gills with students - the weather was appalling. It poured with rain and there was a hole the floor of the car - my feet were perpetually wet. Of course, the inevitable happened: the car broke down. The water pipe connecting the radiator with the engine ... well ... it burst. Suffice it to say, we had to stop and have a Heath Robinson repair in Paris Parys, 100km from Johannesburg. It was already dark and, as I said, miserable. Even though it was early autumn and should have been balmy (we were all barmy at that point...). It was pitch dark by the time we hit the road again. All I remember of the rest of the trip, other than the belching and screeching of the water pipe, was the orange moon at which I stared out of the back passenger window, with frozen, wet feet, and to the sound track to the 1983 (this was 1984) film, Lawyers in Love.

Any of those Jackson Brown songs, particularly that one, take me back - less to the trip - and more to that moon.

Source

Johannesburg-Queenstown, return


Fastforward just about ten years to when I was living in Johannesburg (which skyline still does it for me...): for the entire year or so prior to leaving that city, and once a month, I'd make the just under 700km trip to Queenstown and back - for the weekend. At the time, I had a company car and it was the first of "my" cars to have a radio and a cassette deck. I was in heaven. Prior to that, I'd had a little 1970-something yellow Renault 5. The Yellow Peril had no frills, let alone a sound system. I compensated with my pink walkman portable cassette player and ear phones. Any how, I digress. As usual.

Those trips between Johannesburg and Queenstown were accompanied by a pile of cassette tapes. They were all loud, sing-alongs because I was travelling alone and would leave around 1pm, and drive straight through, stopping once and just to long enough fill the car, the stomach and to use the ablutions, arriving some six and a half hours later. I have wracked my brains to remember what those tapes were, and the only one I can remember, is Bette Middler's Some People's Lives and especially this song:


Spoilt for choice


Having travelled quite a bit for may day job in the last 20 years ago, and living where we do, I'm not so fond of road trips. I prefer to stay put. That said, there is the odd trip to Cape Town and the-not-odd-enough-trip to places we've not been. We don't have a hard and fast playlist, and with our not-so-new Chevvy just having a CD player, we both select what we'd like to hear and put the discs in a box. The selection ranges from The Beetles to Santana, Mango Groove to Edith Piaf, The African Jazz Pioneers and Abdullah Ibrahim (Dollar Brand) and a whole lot in between.

There have been times, though, having selected the maximum number of CDs our carrier would allow, it lived in splendour on the diningroom table until our return from a trip.

Post Script



This post was inspired by thist month's PHC Top 3 contest. This is is not an entry as I can't pick just three (can I ever?), so in support of the @phctop3 initiative, 50% of the Steem payout from this post will be transferred to that account.

Thank you


Thanks to @curie and @randomwanderings for their ongoing support of this initiative with an allocation of 80 Steem for distribution between July and August to boost the rewards over and above the original 50 Steem they contributed for May and June.

Curation Trail


There is a curation trail for @phctop3, which you can follow here to continue to add to the prize pool and the growth of the competition. Delegate to @phctop3

5SP 10SP 25SP
50SP 100SP 150SP
200SP 250SP 300SP
400SP 500SP 1000SP

Until next time Fiona The Sandbag House McGregor, South Africa


Photo: Selma

Post Script

In addition to WordPress I blog on a number of platforms:
  • Steemit - a crypto, social network and blogging platform, to which I post from WordPress using the SteemPress plugin. If you'd also like to use your WordPress blog to earn crypto, join us on SteemPress.
  • My WordPress site is hosted by fellow Steemian, @gmuxx, with fees paid in crypto currency: Steem Based Dollars. If you want more information, join the Steemblogs Club on Discord
  • Narrative, a crypto blogging platform

  • Instagram is a mostly visual platform where I post microblogs about fluff: usually food and the cats; posts that sometimes promise hint about future WordPress posts.
On the Steem platform, I am part of these communities

Designed by @zord189





Let me help with your English writing
Rates depend on the depth of edit required
More about why I am offering this service here
Contact me



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://www.fionasfavourites.net/2019/08/09/roads-trips-a-retrospective/

Sort:  

You've made so many road trips early in your life. My family was more less concentrated in one place so there was no need to own a car. My family didn't have money to get one either so I have no funny stories to tell about my road trips as there were none. I remember being so car sick when I was young because I was not used to sitting in the car at all.

I also remember license plates for some reason. I think they just easily stick in mind. Yeah, I wish too that other things would come up that quickly as well :)

Great post! It was nice to read about your memories! Have a lovely weekend!

Delving into memories of bygone days takes awhile to remember some of the songs we enjoyed over the years, every age there is a stage, and music.

Influenced by musicians and friends sharing the ride another factor to the equation as to what was listened to or sung on a road trip. The old cars had no radio let alone cassette player, entertainment was up to you to keep yourself amused with siblings.

Great selection from your past, thanks for sharing Fiona and good luck in the @phctop3 contest. BTW congrats on the @curie nomination, well deserved!

Hi fionasfavourites,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Much appreciated @curie and team

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi, @fionasfavourites!

You just got a 0.02% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

What a wonderful trip down memory lane and great music to go with. Great picks @fionasfavourites.

Well worth the wait as always! ;) What a wonderful mix of memories, even the wet feet. Though as a tall woman myself I cringe a bit thinking about your mom and grandma squeezed into a tiny little car, but I'm sure your grandma loved being surrounded by her granddaughters. One of my favorite memories of my paternal grandmother was actual while we were driving in the car. Perhaps I'll write about it some time, as well.

Though the cassette days are long gone, I do still have a CD player in my car and no satellite radio. So on occasion I will still load up a small case with CDs and go through the ritual of listening from beginning to end before switching it out for another.

Thank you as always for bringing something interesting to the table! And of course for your generous offer to put some rewards into the pot for the month. We appreciate you!

Ah, yes, I had forgotten about your regal height. You are taller than both Mum and Granny. I am glad you are spared the original mini.

Well worth the wait as always! ;) What a wonderful mix of memories, even the wet feet. Though as a tall woman myself I cringe a bit thinking about your mom and grandma squeezed into a tiny little car, but I'm sure your grandma loved being surrounded by her granddaughters. One of my favorite memories of my paternal grandmother was actual while we were driving in the car. Perhaps I'll write about it some time, as well.

Though the cassette days are long gone, I do still have a CD player in my car and no satellite radio. So on occasion I will still load up a small case with CDs and go through the ritual of listening from beginning to end before switching it out for another.

That's us!

Look forward to hearing about that trip with your grandmother

Congratulations @fionasfavourites! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 3500 replies. Your next target is to reach 3750 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Such nice memories, such nice road trips

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77