Where to get some info every time Steem platforms are down?

in #steempress6 years ago (edited)

In case you just woke up, you probably are not even aware that hours ago most if not all Steem platforms from Steemit to Busy to eSteem among others were inaccessible. If you are new to the platform and have invested some or a lot of money in Steem then it is understandable that you might have panicked a little bit and was actively seeking for some information about what exactly had happened.


In my case since I have been in here for over 6 months now, I have experienced things like this many times already and was not even a little bit panicked as I trust the whole Steemit Inc team can fix whatever bug/glitch it is in no time. Although I have to admit, that this last one might have been the longest downtime I have ever experienced yet.

Anyway, one thing I've noticed about the downtime from hours ago was that when all Steem platforms are down, no one exactly knows where to get information about what likely happened. Most of us here (especially the newbies) don't have contacts with witnesses or people who might have any idea about this things which eventually brings me to write this simple post.

Where to get some information every time Steem platforms are down?

By now most of you are probably aware about the fact that almost all casual social interactions from a simple "Hi" to "Please upvote me" do not really happen on the platform itself but on Discord. Because of Discord's existence it is now easy to be in contact with other steem users belonging to the same community as yours. But then again, for things like this where do we go to?

SteemSpeak.com


Image Source

SteemSpeak is a 24/7 Radio-Station and voice community for Steemians created by witness @fyrstikken & @thebatchman. I honestly just joined the SteemSpeak server this week but I am already impressed as to how they mean business there. I am a member of over 45+ Discord servers and they probably are the first ones who spoke of the downtime issue from hours ago. There are a lot of reputable witnesses from there so you'll surely get some reliable information out of them in case something like this happens again in the future.

Peace, Abundance, Liberty (P.A.L)



Image Source

P.A.L is probably the most famous Discord server there is in the Steemiverse because of their @minnowsupport bot. But did you know that if you actually take some time checking their #general-chat-deepend channel you can actually get some information about issues like this? Like SteemSpeak, P.A.L also have some reputable witnesses on their server (or possibly even more). I actually got this little summary about what happened from there:


STEEM.CHAT

If you are a complete newbie on the Steem platform then chances are you still don't have a Discord account and probably hate the idea of creating another account on another app. That's why I've also included this option to those who don't have a Discord account out there (although you still have to create an account on this one but there's no more need to download an app).

Again, the most reliable people to get info about things like this are witnesses. That's why all you need to do is go to a channel where most witnesses hangout. Simple as that! There are two channels I know of on Steem.Chat where most reputable witness hangout:

https://steem.chat/channel/witness and

https://steem.chat/channel/witness-social

Twitter

From time to time, Steemit Inc posts updates there.


 


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://jlordc.vornix.blog/2018/07/03/where-to-get-some-info-every-time-steem-platforms-are-down/

Sort:  

I am actually more scared that I might lose the chance to cast my vote on steemitboard's world cup event especially when we are entering the crucial moments where a single vote could spell your victory or defeat. Anyway now I can finally check out the reasons for the down of the platform so thanks haha.

Lol I haven't had much luck in Steemitboard's World Cup lately. It's as if I jinx all it after I made a post about my FIFA World Cup score XD

That's unfortunate, but in my case I have been able to catch up to the ranking but seeing that there's only 6 games left, my chances are getting smaller by the day. I would need to outmaneuver and predict two games that others on the ranking couldn't to secure a place which I doubt would happen lol.

In Group of 16 (or Knockout stage) I only got 2 successful predictions. So even if I got all upcoming matches correct, I still wouldn't be able to catch up Lol

Good luck to you though!

Thanks I desperately need the luck now, if only I have made more research during the opening matches I may have been able to secure a spot. But as they say, there's no using crying over spilled milk so I'm just gonna grit my teeth and prepare for the worst lol

True! And for me if I had also made some research as to what countries are good at football instead of judging the country based on how cool it's name is, then I would have scored much better lol

At least we learned from our mistakes, now we just have to wait for another 4 years for the next world cup to happen lol

Well done @jlordc! You successfully guessed the match result.

Round 16 - Colombia vs England
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
Do you want to know your current ranking? Read this post

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Day 4


Do you like the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest?
Vote for @steemitboard as a witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63134.74
ETH 3052.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81