Behind the song - Growing Old Disgracefully

in #steempress6 years ago (edited)


Today I'm telling the background story for song number four "Growing Old Disgracefully" from my new EP "Acoustic Dreams" that's available in my store now and from the 15 of July on all major services


You can already today do me a great favor by pre-saving it on Spotify and in that way you will automatically get it in your library on the day of release and at the same time help me get attention for it.


The story about "Growing Old Disgracefully" is also a story about friendship and how relationships made on internet are as great as relationships made "in real life".

One of the biggest reasons why I have reached the position I have today is thanks to mr Juxta John (@Juxtamusic), front man of the industrial, post-punk, electronica band Juxta. But also the creator of one of the finest communities and websites for independent artists, Atom Collector Records.

In March 2017 I was sharing my music in several useless Facebook-groups when I stumbled over a post from JJ about this site of his. And the rest is as you say, history. Thanks to the community I made a ton of new friends and also got inspired to build my own community, #MonsterThread.


Last year, when I was going on my UK-tour, one of the reasons was to hang out with JJ and play some music together. As a little surprise I wanted to do an acoustic interpretation of one of the best songs from his band Juxta, namely the punk anthem "Growing Old Disgracefully". The energy and emotion in this song is just incredible and I could actually say it's one of the best punk songs that has been made for years.

To make it a little more special I actually changed the arrangement totally and also the chord progression, but kept it to a three chord sequence that repeats during the whole song to keep it simple and "punky" and then added some ornamentation with percussion and counter point-guitar.

And luckily JJ was happy about my interpretation and when I got the idea of an acoustic EP, including "Growing Old Disgracefully" was a necessity. And here's a little snippet for you!

Next week the turn has come to my acoustic interpretation of one of my most popular songs, Your Dreams, which is also the last song on the EP and hence it will be the last behind the song story for this time. So stay tuned!

Sort:  

Two top geezers for sure :-)

Thanks buddy!

WWWOOOOAAHHHH WOOOAAAAHHHH...!

Juxta and Jon?!! DAYUM son, that's a sight!

You guys rock!

xewyvs.jpg

Awwwww thanks Jon!!

We had a lot of fun and I was humbled that you wanted to add this cover to the EP.

Looking forward to coming to visit you in Sweden in the future and jamming out some more tunes!!

Good luck with the EP!


juxta profile wide.png

Great cover , I have his original on my computer , good to hear another version, well done

Thanks buddy! It's a great song to cover!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86