IELTS SPEAKING TOPIC PART 1 - LETTERS

in #steempress5 years ago

 

Recently the topic about “LETTERS” also known as SNAIL MAIL or SMAIL has been coming out on IELTS Speaking exam. We have answered the common questions about it using our own technique. Study how we develop our answers, get ideas, and practice on your own. Feel free to use our material!

 

 

Do you write letters?

 

To be honest, not much. Snail mails have been outdated because of the existence of electronic mails so I have shifted to sending emails. I only write letters when it has something to do with my job.

 

Vocabulary & Expression:

Snail mail [noun] - letter sends by post

Outdated [adj.] - old-fashioned

shift [verb] - change

 

Which do you prefer to write letters by hand or to use a computer?

 

Well, it’s no-brainer to choose between the two. I prefer the latter since it’s much more convenient, knowing that I can make my writing more stylish by using some classy or casual fonts, not to mention making my sentences free from grammatical mistakes. Thanks to the auto-correct built-in application in MS Word or in emails.

 

Vocabulary and Expression:

 

No brainer [noun] - not complicated

(The) latter [adj.] - the second choice

Font [noun] - typeface of a certain style and size

Not to mention [phrase] - used to introduce another point

 

What do you usually write about?

 

Since I work in the Human Resource Department, my emails are usually about invitation for a job interview, responses to job inquiry, requirements needed for newly-hired workers, things like those. Also, I still write letters to my loved ones who live miles away from me during important occasions such as birthdays, Christmas, or wedding, just wishing them to have a prosperous life.

 

Tip 1: Relate the question to your work as it is easy for you to answer the question, like that in sentence one.

Tip 2: Instead of using ‘live very far from me’, you can use ‘live miles away from me’. The first expression is just too plain and it doesn’t give positive impact on the criterion, Lexical Resource.

[bha size='300x250' variation='01' align='aligncenter']

How do you feel whenever you receive a letter?

 

Receiving letters such as congratulatory, love letter, or just wishing me good luck is really heartwarming. I dunno but the feeling is inexplicable, I feel that I’m really valued by the person who sends it to me. And I always appreciate their best effort in writing letters to me.

 

Vocabulary & Expression:

 

Congratulatory [adj.] - sending good wishes or praises for the achievement or success done

Heartwarming [adj.] - emotionally rewarding

Inexplicable [adj.] - cannot be explained

 

Do you think handwritten letters will still exist in the future?

 

I’m confident to say yes, for me, handwritten letters are a form of art. The handwriting of a person expresses emotion more than the font style in electronic mails. Each stroke of a person’s handwriting tells a story, much more if it’s a love letter. The world may be more advanced in the years to come more than now, but, the advancement of technology will never make this special kind of art vanish.

 

Vocabulary and Expression:

 

Stroke [noun] - a mark made by writing

Vanish [verb] - disappear

 

Tip: Instead of plainly saying, ‘in the future’, use ‘in the years to come’, it sounds better.

 

Do you have any questions or comments? Please leave them below. Check our previous post about BUILDING with this link https://www.ieltsdragon.com/ielts-speaking-parts-2-3-building/topic-of-the-day-answers/

 

Best of luck to your exam! Be Natural! Breathe Confidence!

DON’T FORGET TO SHARE!
Did you find this helpful? Help ieltsDragon continue. Even a dollar can be a huge help. Click the button below.
[wpedon id="68" align="center"]




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://www.ieltsdragon.com/ielts-speaking-part-1-recent-topic-of-letter-with-complete-sample-answers/topic-of-the-day-answers/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88