IELTS SPEAKING TOPIC PART 1 - SAVING MONEY

in #steempress5 years ago (edited)

Recently, the topic about money and saving has come out on the IELTS Speaking exam. If you have knowledge about financial education, spending habits, financial freedom and the like should come in handy. If you lack ideas, worry not, as we prepare sample answers to questions about money. Feel free to use our material, get ideas, and practice!

 

PART 1

 

 

Are you good at saving money?

Well I’ve to admit that I’m not. I’m an impulsive buyer so saving money has always been a serious issue to me. Yes I really do know that I should prepare for the rainy days but I just can’t help myself, every time I see something that catches my attention, I buy them at once.

 

Vocabulary & Expression:

Impulsive buyer [noun] - a person who buys something without planning in advance as a result of sudden wanting

Rainy days [idiom] - a time of need

Can’t help myself [phrase] - cannot stop oneself

At once [phrase] - immediately

 

 

What kinds of things do people save money for?

I’m not really sure because every person has different needs or wants so I can only assume, perhaps, people save money for material things such as cars, latest gadgets, or even a house. Some may set aside some amount of money for traveling or for education like pursuing a Master’s degree.

 

Vocabulary & Expression:

Assume [verb] - suppose; presume

Set aside [phrase] - to keep or save something

Pursue [verb] - continue

 

Note: The speaker is being honest for not knowing the right reasons to the question asked, so he is making an assumption which makes him sound very natural.

 

 

Why do you think some people cannot save money?

This is hilarious, since I myself is one of those people who lack financial discipline. Considering my experience and as I’ve just said earlier, I buy things impulsively, that is one common reason. Another reason would be some people are drowning in debt and saving is impossible or perhaps some are just living beyond their means.

 

Vocabulary & Expression:

Hilarious [adj.] - funny; extremely amusing
Financial discipline [noun] -refers to how well you conform or obey to the set rules of spending and saving
Drowning in debt [idiom] - to owe a lot of money
Living beyond your means [idiom] - spending money more than what one earns

Note: The first line sounds amusing since the speaker realizes that the question is somehow intended for him, the way he reacts to the question makes him sound natural and eloquent in expressing his thoughts.

 

 

Do you think parents should teach their children about saving?

I have to say yes, in my opinion, it’s actually every parent’s responsibility to educate their children about saving. Children need to learn how to spend money wisely, financial education should start at an early age so that when they become adults they will achieve financial freedom, and regretfully that’s something I didn’t learn.

 

 

Notes:

The use of synonym like ‘educate’ instead of teach is a must.
Topic expressions related to money such as: financial education and financial freedom are necessary.

By using these, the speaker shows that he is naturally eloquent in using the language. And that is high band!

 

Do you have any questions or comments? Please leave them below. Check our previous post about TRAVEL AND HOLIDAY with this link https://www.ieltsdragon.com/ielts-speaking-topic-part-1-travel-holiday/topic-of-the-day-answers/

 

 

Best of luck to your exam! Be Natural! Breathe Confidence!


DON’T FORGET TO SHARE!

Did you find this helpful? Help ieltsDragon continue. Even a dollar can be a huge help. Click the button below.
[wpedon id="68" align="center"]



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://www.ieltsdragon.com/ielts-speaking-topic-part-1-saving-money/topic-of-the-day-answers/
Sort:  

Congratulations @julsmlz! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!
Be ready for the next contest!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77