IELTS SPEAKING TOPIC PARTS 2 & 3 - MAGAZINE

in #steempress5 years ago (edited)

 

This is the recent topic that our Korean student got in her exam last October 27 , 2018 which she took in Seoul, South Korea. On this blog we have made our sample answers for you to get ideas. Feel free to use our material and practice answering the questions about magazine. This topic should never be tough!

 

 

PART 2

 

Describe a magazine that you like

You should say:

What it is

When you started reading it

How you feel about it

And explain why you like this magazine

 

 

ANSWER

I consider myself as a bookworm, I read different kinds of books and magazines more than you can imagine. Well, Reader’s Digest is my first love in terms of magazine since I grew up spending my leisure time reading it. If I’m not wrong, I started having interest in reading it when I was only nine years old.

 

Vocabulary & Expression:

Bookworm [noun] - a person who loves or enjoys reading

More than you/one can imagine [expression] - to give emphasis that it’s more than one can think

My first love [expression] - favorite

 

Tip: The use of conditional tense like that in the last line will have positive impact on your grammar, since it is considered as advanced grammar.

 

Reader’s Digest is an American general-interest magazine which is intended for families. To be exact, it was founded in 1922. Since its theme is general, articles about health, home, environment, sports, food, parenting, and success stories of people from around the globe are what readers can devour.

 

Vocabulary:

Devour [verb] - read eagerly

Tip: This part is giving description of what the magazine is about. In this way, the speaker is feeding the examiner details so that he can understand better.

 

Well, as far as I can remember, I first learned about this magazine when I was just a grader, one time my dad came home from work with that magazine and placed it on the table of our living room. The cover caught my interest, it was an image of a woman with a caption, ‘How I Survived From Breast Cancer’. It was really timely since at that time my best friend’s mom was suffering from the said cancer. Well to be honest, I didn’t have thorough understanding about that illness since I was only a kid at that time, in spite of that, I read the whole story to satisfy my curiosity. Little did I know that I would be loving this magazine up to now.

 

Vocabulary & Expression:

Grader [noun] - elementary pupil

Caught my interest [expression] - caught my attention

To satisfy my curiosity [expression] - when you have satisfied your curiosity, you feel good because you know something what you really need to know

Little did I know [expression] - used for saying that I did not know or realize that something is true

Anyway, my favorite part of this magazine is the section of “Life’s Like That” since it features mini-story of people’s experiences in their daily life. They are really amusing since some of those are relatable, that it sometimes bursts you into laughter.

 

This magazine has been world-renowned since it has global editions. Honestly, I would never trade the enjoyment that I always have when reading this magazine to surfing the net worthlessly, which most young people do nowadays.

 

Vocabulary & Expression:

Amusing [adj.] - entertaining; funny

Relatable [adj.] - that someone can understand or feel sympathy

Burst into laughter [expression] - to suddenly laugh

World-renowned [adj.] - famous

I would never trade … [expression] - not to exchange to something that is not more valuable that the thing one has or currently enjoys

 

PART 3


 

What kinds of magazines are famous in your country?

 

Well I have to say technology and travel magazines are extremely popular here in South Korea. As you know, my country is one of the global leaders in terms of smart devices, which I really take pride in, Koreans are keen on the latest models of smartphones and smartwatches. I believe some people here want to keep updated of what tech giant companies are developing. Also, magazines about travel and holidays are widespread, we can see them in every shop or in offices, that I guess because we Korean people consider traveling as a hobby. So these two types of magazines have been a part of our reading culture.

 

Vocabulary & Expression:

Global leader [noun] - world leader

Take pride in [idiom] - to be proud

Giant companies [noun] - successful companies

widespread [adj.] - common; distributed by a large number of people

 

Do you think men enjoy reading fashion magazines?

 

I believe so, but absolutely not all men, we cannot generalize that every man is into fashion. In the first place, fashion magazine is not solely created for female audience, it is for everyone who has interest in fashion. Gone are the days when people’s mindset was stereotypical that fashion was only associated with women. Nowadays men’s fashion magazine has been a huge business since men have started to to take care of themselves, by wanting to look best, and that I believe because of the influence of pop stars or Hollywood actors. So it is undeniable that more and more men are eager to spend some money just to know the latest fashion.

 

Vocabulary & Expression:

Solely [adverb] - only

Gone are the days [idiom] - describing something in the past

Stereotype [noun] - an over-generalized belief of people

Stereotypical [adj.]

Associate [verb] - link; connect

 

What kinds of magazines do teenagers like to read? What about the old people?

 

To be honest, I do not have any opportunity to meet teenagers since my circle of friends is mostly composed of young adults. So my answer is only an assumption, I suppose girls find delight in reading magazines like that of a Candy magazine, which features gossips or stories about famous stars. As for boys, I guess some are fascinated in reading sports magazines as they start to idolize some sports stars like Messi or Beckham.

 

On the other hand, for the elderly, I believe they are mostly into reading news magazines such as business or economic since they have more interest on the standing of local and world economy.

 

Vocabulary & Expression:

Circle of friends [expression] - a group of friends with common interest

Assumption [noun] - presumption; belief; speculation

Find delight [expression] - to enjoy; to satisfy

Fascinated [adj.] - interested

Idolize [verb] - admire; adore

Standing [noun] - status

 

Do you have any questions or comments? Please leave them below. Check our previous post about LETTERS with this link https://www.ieltsdragon.com/ielts-speaking-part-1-recent-topic-of-letter-with-complete-sample-answers/topic-of-the-day-answers/

 

Best of luck to your exam! Be Natural! Breathe Confidence!


DON’T FORGET TO SHARE!

Did you find this helpful? Help ieltsDragon continue. Even a dollar can be a huge help. Click the button below.

[wpedon id="68" align="center"]




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://www.ieltsdragon.com/ielts-speaking-topic-parts-2-3-magazine/topic-of-the-day-answers/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14