Being a Good Reviewer

in #steempress5 years ago (edited)

Before I started making games, I reviewed them. I see a lot of novice mistakes in reviews I read, and I made them too. Heck, sometimes I still do.

However, at a certain point people started evidently caring about my reviews, including to the point where I started not just getting regular reviews but actually wound up writing for publication from time to time.

At a certain point I hit burnout and stopped reviewing as frequently, and now I've got a conflict of interest for reviewing games (so I mostly just review the biggest names around or things I really like), but I still feel the reviewing itch from time to time.

I'm also testing the water for doing a whole series on this, so let me know if you have any feedback, concerns, or good thoughts. I'm going to outline a number of different things here

Professionalism

The first rule of reviewing is "Don't be a jerk."

As a reviewer, you are obligated to both the audience and the creator of anything you are reviewing.

Your first commitment is to your audience. You want to treat them with respect and dignity. Don't inflate value to drive sales (ah, affiliate programs!), and make sure to respect their intelligence.

Some of this just comes down to writing good reviews. Be detailed but not manipulative. That's basic stuff.

The part of professionalism that doesn't come across as often is your obligation to the creator of anything you're reviewing.

You can call out garbage, that's one-hundred percent fine. One of my greatest regrets as a reviewer is not calling out a particular product enough on some of its flaws, in part because I wound up going a little too soft on it, and while my voice probably won't change the universe, it's worth noting that a person who shared my preferences and followed my reviews may not have realized my true feelings about the game.

However, you also want to respect the effort and time that a creator put into their work. If it's fundamentally flawed or entirely schlocky, then that's the sort of situation where you come down hard (the example I mention above was fundamentally flawed in execution), but a good reviewer is not an internet troll.

Can you be colorful?

Yes.

Should you be mean-spirited?

No.

The general rule of thumb is that if you wouldn't be okay with someone saying it about the product if you made it, don't say it about something someone else made. Speak critically, but not rudely.

Communication

I struggle with clarity.

I'm a fan of long sentences and weasel words. I studied English in college.

As much as I used to make fun of communications majors, there is something to be said for the art of effective communication, especially in a review.

Make sure to format your review in such a way that you have clear points.

Always start with an introduction that talks about the product and makes clear which genre it's in. I don't suggest assigning a target audience (I occasionally see reviewers do this; it's usually either unnecessary or patronizing). Give an initial first impression if doing so isn't prejudicial to your later review content.

Wrap up with a clear conclusion. Make it clear whether you recommend the product, and if you have any concerns with it.

Remember that your most important part is the conclusion. If you whine about something for 80% of your review, then give a glowing conclusion, the people who skip to the end will see the glowing conclusion.

Though, generally, whining is not a good idea, which brings us to our next big topic...

Rapport

You want to build a connection with your audience. Let people know what you think and how you feel; give them an insight into your judgments.

The big idea behind this is that you want to give your audience a feel for what you generally like or don't like.

If I were to review a wargame of incredible complexity tomorrow, I'd have to be really clear about where I'm coming into my review from. Yeah, I work with games all the time, and I also have a decent interest in military history, but I won't be describing anything for which I have a giant corpus of experience.

I always suggest drawing a lot of comparisons to other similar products to draw a line between what you like and how the product you're reviewing either does it well or doesn't. You want to be careful here (you are, after all, not reviewing every product simultaneously).

However, if you look at any major serious review (Consumer Reports stands out to me for this), you'll see that a few references to other products slip through.

This is because the reviewer needs to build a rapport with their audience, and that's including shared experiences. I've played more video games than I care to admit, so if I review a video game I share my experiences with seminal works that are similar to it (if possible), or otherwise draw comparisons to literature or film as I can.

You also need to be clear about what you like and don't like. I'm not a huge fan of death spirals and complicated resource management that leads into death spirals. I'm the sort of guy who plays Forza Horizon with the rewind mechanic turned off to build up the challenge and I just restart a race if I'm doing poorly (in single-player, of course), to get practice in doing it right. That tells you a lot about my gaming preferences; I'm skill-driven, but I hate losing.

If I'm playing a survival game with really onerous resource mechanics, I need to make it clear in my review that a lot of my criticism comes from the fact that I don't enjoy playing a game where eating becomes a concern every three minutes.

Qualification and Quantification

Qualification and quantification are two of the hardest parts in reviews, and I generally don't like doing them unless I have to.

Qualification involves categorizing, tagging, and describing things, and it's going to make up the majority of your review in a broad sense.

More particularly, however, the act of qualification in a review is boiling down whatever you're reviewing into coherent units.

The big problem I see most people do with qualification is treating all products the same. If I took a roleplaying game like Rowan, Rook, and Decard's Spire (link leads to my review) and compared it to GURPS Lite, I'd have a hard time qualifying them in the same way, even though they're nominally in the same genre.

I like them both, but I am forced to confront the fact that different audiences will like each, and that I can't do an apples-to-apples comparison with them.

In other terms, it would be like comparing Monopoly to Sim City. Yes, both offer play experiences, but they are very different experiences.

For this purpose, I suggest simply finding the four or five main "selling points" of the product and then trying to qualify them. For instance, in Spire I love the dice mechanics, the narrative-game interactions, the setting, the artwork and layout, and the prose. In GURPS Lite, I love the dice mechanics, characters, flexibility, speed, and robustness.

Quantification is something I have gotten much less fond of over the years. I used to try to do 1-5 scale ratings on multiple categories, now I do a 1-5 star scale overall if I'm required to do so.

Honestly, quantification is a bit dangerous. It can lead you into a lot of issues with practice; a 10/10 from one reviewer is meaningless, while a 7/10 may be high praise.

Notwithstanding all the controversies about games journalism, the problem with such a quantification is that it is entirely subjective in most cases, or too complex for the audience to appreciate in others.

Remember that reading a review is not a major investment. People are looking for guidance, not scientific dissertations on other things.

The one thing that I would even care to quantify is when that is an integral part of the experience. Cars have a lot of good quantifiable elements: how likely is it to break down in the first year, how much fuel does it consume, what is its resale value?

Games and literature, the two things I tend to review, have nothing like this. You can describe their general length, but that's not necessarily going to reflect individuals' experiences (or, for that matter, whether the time is well spent).

Cost can be mentioned, but I find this to be more important in tabletop roleplaying where pricing schemes are less standardized and value tends to be more wildly fluctuating than in video games, where costs are pretty standardized.

Even here, I tend to qualify. Does it offer more value than any other game?

Wrapping Up

I have more to say on each of these points if people are interested, but I think I'm beginning to go outside the bounds of a general overview.

Reviewing is a process of determining value, and estimating how the value you find applies to other people. I'm not a giant economics buff (though I am a bit of a dilettante and my interests have led me to that a little), but value assessment is one of the most important skills to have in daily life, to say nothing of difficulty.

A good reviewer is careful to make judgements, rather than emotional decisions. They can't just follow a formula, but they need to make their ideas clear.





Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://blog.homoeoteleuton.com/being-a-good-reviewer/
Sort:  

Let me start by just saying that... This deserves way more votes and views.

Reading this helped me gain focus on what a reviewer should be doing since I consider my thoughts on writing about games just to be a mishmash of my thoughts put randomly on top of each other with very little order but hey, you've given me a guideline i'll adapt to myself. This really made me see things from a different angle and kindof motivated me to write more thorough reviews!

One of the things that I really like about writing reviews is that you get a chance to talk about things you like, but when I first started I had more mercenary motivations (games for free).

The first step in moving from just writing to writing well is organization. I stress that with students and anyone who will listen all the time, but the truth is that if you know how to organize something you probably know how to write it. A lot of people who say they "can't write" don't really mean that they can't write, they mean that they don't know how to approach it in a way that is fruitful, and that's a shame.

Hopefully we'll see some reviews from you in the near future.

I'll try to be more organized since i'm definitely into the writing thing as of now! But hey, maybe I'll do some reviews when I can!

I like to dabble in reviews from time to time myself and this was a great read.

One thing that I notice a lot of would be reviewers doing is confusing reviewing with reporting or summarizing. This of course occurs most with reviews based on stories, in comics, books, movies or games. I hate starting into a review to find out it’s just a poorly written plot recap, filled with spoilers to boot!

I feel that people who attempt to also create in the field they review have a different outlook and can hopefully avoid being a jerk in reviews. I always think of a scene from Daredevil on Netflix. Young Matt Murdock calls one of his father’s boxing opponents a bum and is scolded for it, being told that any man who steps into that ring deserves respect. I feel the same about most creative endeavors and approach my reviews & opinions in that manner!

There are a lot of times when people write without purpose, simply to espouse a position or convey that they have some information. Reviews have a very particular purpose. I'm not anti-spoiler, but I am in favor of meaningful reviews. Having a summary can be interesting, but it's not the purpose of a review and is only appropriate in certain contexts.

The real thing about reviewing and not being a jerk is to just take a step back and think about being conscious about what the point is. There are occasionally things that deserve heavy criticism because they're not meeting the standards that they claim to meet (e.g. all those early access video games that advertised features that were coming in a release planned for several years out without clarifying the current state of development), but that's a rare exception and that's when you have a duty to the audience to warn them that the product isn't meeting standards.

The Murdock lesson is probably one of the best ones that you can learn. You can be respectfully harsh. I've seen people really take things behind the shed and unload on them, and sometimes that's justified and sometimes that's not. There are a lot of reviewers, especially those who make videos, who go for a flamboyant over-the-top style (Zero Punctuation seems to be an early example of this trend), and many of these are fantastic.

However, a lot of imitators forget that the point of a review is not just beating something up, but rather making clear what its strengths and weaknesses are. If someone's always hyper-critical, but they're fair, their review can still lead me to buying a product because I know what is wrong with it and it may be things that don't bother me. If someone just rants and complains, that's a red flag.

Very interesting to read your thoughts and arguments. I always thought that it is easy to be reviewer but when you think how responsible it is and that much depend on what you say, as professional that made me think, no, thanks I can't do this job. The person who is writing review needs to be neutral to all the sides and look at the subject and judge it in very professional way. Thank you for sharing your thoughts :)

howdy from Texas kwilley! This is a great tutorial actually on how to do great quality reviews, or at least I see it that way. Very detailed analysis of the method which is the most successful for you makes a fine guide to go by and I think it could be applied to other types of review also.

Congratulations on the curie vote which is very well deserved! Do you review anything but games? I was just thinking you'd be great at movies too!

I don't professionally review things that often any more, so I'm basically a free agent doing whatever I feel like.

I've occasionally reviewed movies, but I don't do it quite as regularly as I should. I also have a tendency to go on in analysis for a long time instead of just reviewing anymore, so I need to work on that too.

yes sir I understand but curie sure likes long posts so that's something to keep in mind also. I don't see hardly any movie reviews on steemit so I think that might work.

Thank you for contributing to the Gaming Community on Steemit. You have been given an upvote by @steemgg. For more inspiration, visit our platform Steemgg, the first html5 gaming platform built on the Steem blockchain.

This really strikes a chord with me, particularly after a recent regretful comments exchange. It was interesting to read this and clarifying for me. I think this could also apply to reviewing unfinished products and sets of ideas.

The number one thing you want to focus on is being respectful and having the focus on reviewing for meaning. Don't just say that you like something or dislike something. That's not a review, that's an opinion.

Hah as you were mentioning not going hard enough and not calling out some flaws in the past, I was exactly thinking about respecting creators...but then you mentioned it.

I totally hate when people talk shit about products when people put soo much effort into it, while they are just a consumers and could never do half of the work they're talking about.

This is so so educative! This can be applied in almost all types of reviews, really... So you do create your own games too?

People are looking for guidance, not scientific dissertations on other things.

Quite true... It is so sad to see people miss that mark and well, go into making a dissertation out of a review. I think such reviews send people away.

Hi kwilley,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 18 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 6 SBD worth and should receive 128 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84