Mr Banks Brewing Co. - An Exploration into IPAs

in #steempress6 years ago (edited)

For the Love of IPA!


Today I found myself craving a good IPA so ventured to my favourite bottle shop. In my home town of Mordialloc, there's a little bottle shop called Mordialloc Cellar Door which stocks an amazing selection of wine and craft beer. Most of the beers are from local breweries which is excellent. It means that if I don't have time to go to a brewery, I can swing past the shop and grab a local brew. And the staff and owner try everything that comes through their door, so can offer you real advice about what they have in stock.



Mr Banks Brewing Co.

While there today I discovered a couple of beers that had just been added to their selection. These were beers from a brewery called Mr Banks Brewing Co. I'd never heard of this brewery before, so was incredibly surprised to discover that the brewery is located in Seaford, Victoria, which is a suburb only a few minutes south from Mordialloc.

The team at Mr Banks have been brewing since 2016, so they're relatively new to the craft beer scene. But they already have a decent range of beers on offer which is excellent to see.

My bottle shop stocks two IPAs from this brewery, so since I hadn't tried them before I grabbed both.


Mr Banks India Pale Ale


The first of the two was a nice and simple IPA. The beer pours a bright amber colour with a mild haze. It pours with a bright granular head and I was immediately hit with aromas of tropical fruits. On the palate the beer has a moderately high level of carbonation, a dry mouthfeel and the fruits follow through along with a good level of hops intensity and bitterness.


This was a good and refreshing IPA. It met all the usual expectations that come with an IPA from a small craft brewer. The is a great beer, but comes with no surprises. So if you're looking for a good quality IPA then this is the perfect beer for you, just don't expect any surprises.


Wheeze the Juice


Wheeze the Juice is a New England IPA. The brewers state that it is a hazy IPA, and it's definitely that. The beer pours with a large, white head that lingers only for a short while.


The aroma is of sweet fruits and slightly milder than the previous IPA. The carbonation is also less intense, but well balanced. On the palate the fruit flavours follow through and you'll be surprised at the intensity of the bitterness. This bitterness slightly overpowers the flavours of hops however not in a bad way.

The bitterness and fruit flavours lingers on your palate long after your sip, which is pleasant and refreshing. I could quite easily sip on this beer all night. It's an excellent beer and disappeared all too quickly.


Overall Assessment

Overall, I am very pleased to have discovered yet another craft brewery that is so close to my home. And even more pleased to find that they make two IPAs that are well worth drinking.


If I were to choose between the two I would probably go with the Mr Banks IPA. This IPA is everything you want in an IPA and was highly enjoyable.

I think I'll have to find some time to head down to this brewery in the coming weeks. They have a stout and some darker beers that look very interesting. Keep an eye out for a review from this brewery in the very near future.


The Beer Data

BeerTypeOriginABVRating
Mr Banks IPAIPASeaford, Vic6.4%4.2
Wheeze the JuiceNEIPASeaford, Vic6.1%4.0

All ratings are out of 5



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://cryptonbrews.xopus.io/2018/07/08/mr-banks-brewing-co-an-exploration-into-ipas/

Sort:  

Hah! An adventurous, beer loving Ozzie? Oh that is a follow for sure. Welcome to my feed!

Great review and I can just IMAGINE the awesome craft breweries in Australia.......making me thirsty just thinking about it.

Cheers!

Haha thanks mate. You’ll have to head on down here sometime to check the out. :)

Hi @mazzle, it is always great to discover, great breweries on your doorstep, I am waiting for the review!!

It might happen very soon. :)

I always loved the Mr Banks cans, not sure who does their artwork, but it's really strong, My first experience with them was a little like yours in a bottleshop (in Sth Melb not Mordy), never heard of them, attracted by the awesome cans and really pleased with the taste.

I'm pretty keen to try their range after these IPAs. I'm really curious about their Coconut Stout actually.

Whooot, this souds like a nice beer.

Need to figure out of I can get it home.

Oh wow! So Mr Banks it is. Is it readily at all breweries? I haven't been out for a few weeks :(

Nah just at the Seaford brewery and probably a few bottle shops. Head on down my way sometime soon! We can have a beer together somewhere.

What parks do you have around? I could bring my drone. Been looking at upgrading

I live on the coast so you have a lot of beach. :)

i love your beer reviews, mazza :> always gives me a happy thought thinking that there's more IPAs to discover and try out the next time I'm out and about :>

Thanks Miss Spoder. :)

Good afternoon @mazzle

I just replied to your post related to Cotton Coin contest. Check it out please.

I figured that I will also check your latest post and show my little support by upvoting it.

Thank you again for your amazing support!

Yours
Piotr

Thanks Piotr. I just responded. :)

Congrats U received a free resteem from @steemwhalepower please upvote this comment to help everyone who uses this service if you want me to remove this comment reply remove

send 0.100 sbd or steem for 2 upvotes and a resteem

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mazzle from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-08T11:14:45
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 383.65/400.00
Total Photos: 43
Total comments: 15
Total contest wins: 3
And have also received a 0.80 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66344.62
ETH 3214.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.37