Digging In The Dirt

in #steempress6 years ago


The dangers & precautions of deep personal development


Whilst psychological deconstruction is the main technique of Taoist & Buddhist methodologies as well as many psychotherapeutic techniques, its has also become popular amongst coaches and ‘pop-therapists’. These techniques are effective, but also dangerous in the unqualified hands.


Stay with me, I need support I’m digging in the dirt To find the places I got hurt Open up the places I got hurt — Peter Gabriel

I was facinated with the occult sciences from quite an early age, buying a book on how to develop psychic powers while I was in 6th grade, and bought my first Tarot deck when I was 14. As a child, I was intrigued by the power that having such ‘powers’ would have.

As I grew older, and my understanding of these traditions and phenomena became more sophisticated my approach to it all was somewhat more mature — these methods were about helping heal fragmented minds, hearts, and souls. I spent twenty years exploring and learning all I could; and then realised that becoming whole meant removing the many layers of conditioned beliefs and what I thought I knew.


Everybody hurts, sometimes —  R.E.M.

It was around 6 years ago that I first realised that even though I had lived a relatively charmed and privileged life, I still had a degree of pain and suffering which affected my thoughts, words, and deeds. Finally, I had somewhere to begin putting into practice all the theoretical and philosophical knowledge I had accumulated over the span of two decades.

And so it began.

There was only so much I could do on my own. Recalling an old Chinese saying, “he who treats himself has a fool for a doctor”, I began to attend seminars, workshops, courses, and retreats — all with the express (and very generalised) purpose of ‘healing myself’.

And yes, I uncovered much. Acting on this awareness, I made distinct (and for the most part) lasting changes in my life which made a difference. When I look back on who I was compared to who I am today, I believe the transformation is remarkable.

My approach was rather aggressive. I was booked into some kind of intense workshop at least once a month, as well as finding smaller practices to fill in the time in between, reading everything I could on ‘self-development’ on a daily basis. Not only was I delving into Taoist & Buddhist texts on the subjects (which I did for my work anyway), but also readings from Neuroscience, Human Behaviour, Psychology, Psychotherapy, and Sexuality. I searched out techniques and methods, and even began to incorporate what I learned into my own clinical practice and upscaling the level of results for my clients.

What I noticed as a clinician began to shift my own perspective on this kind of work. I started to attract clientele who had been through all these workshops and courses, and began to notice a pattern emerging.

Individuals were going to all these events, workshops, and retreats with the promise of instant personal salvation. They were coming out of them changed, yes. Blasted open, is how I would describe it. Egos smashed, illusions shattered, souls open and vulnerable… and then left to their own devices by the facilitators and self-styled gurus, struggling to integrate the knowledge and changes they had initiated.


Extinguished by light, I turn on the night Wear its darkness with an empty smile — Pink Floyd

Many of these folk had walked into these spaces fresh and new. Never having done any form of meditation or introspection, most had no previous experience, and all completely unprepared for what was to come after. In many regards, they were in worse shape than before.


Photo by Ian Chen on Unsplash

In the ancient traditions of Taoism and Buddhism, these deep processes are entered into only after extensive experience, training and preparation. The processes are deliberately slow to allow the person to go through them in their own time, reaching each ‘level’ of change when they are personally ready.

In the Lakota tradition, ceremonies such as hañbleçeya (‘crying for a vision’, aka Vision Quest) are only undertaken after a lot of preparation, and only when the Medicine Man considers the individual ready for it. As I was told by one Medicine Man many years ago, the quest itself is easy; but dealing with the knowledge of the vision, and the consequences of that, is another thing altogether.

In each of these cases, the seeker is supported extensively throughout by their teacher/medicine-person both before and after, as well as by their community.

What was happening in these workshops however was that seekers were coming in fresh and new, with little to none preparation, being blasted open with powerful techniques and methods over the course of 1, 2, or 3 days, and then being left to sort it out themselves, with no follow-up support or assistance with integration.


Photo by Hailey Kean on Unsplash

Worse still, many were involved in signing contracts and agreements that the facilitator held no responsibility for what may or may not happen, instead claiming that the experience was the sole responsibility of the individual.

And they were coming to me, and practitioners like me, trying to pick up the pieces and make sense of it all.

I came through these experiences relatively intact and unscathed. I did after all, have almost 20 years of experience and knowledge before I began to dig deep. I was familiar with the techniques and methods, and in most cases knew how they worked. In other words, I felt safe enough to surrender to the processes, and also had my own learned knowledge of how to remain safe and whole while going through them. I was also aware that I would need support before, during, and after and had trusted therapists I would turn to help integrate my experiences.


Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

And yet, even with all my knowledge and experience, I am still struggling with processes I have been actively engaged with for almost 6 years.

Shedding layers and getting to the truth of who you are is dirty, messy business. And it takes time.

The many layers that prevent you being your truly natural self have built up over the years of your lifetime to the present. It’s not something that will be fixed over a weekend workshop, or with a 4-week online course.

By all means, attend the workshops, sign up for the courses and retreats. Go into them with some preparation — answer for yourself the following questions:

  1. What do you want to achieve from this workshop/course/event?
  2. Once you get what you want from it, what will you get that’s more important than that?
  3. Once you get what you want, what are the possible consequences (good and/or bad) that may come from that? Are you willing to accept and deal with those consequences should they arise?
  4. How much energy/time/space will you need to give to the process? If you uncover something, how much are you willing to continue that process beyond the workshop/course/retreat?
  5. Have you got an integrative support network of therapists/practitioners who you trust? If not, where can you find them? How much are you willing to put into working with them?
The keys fundamental to personal transformation are preparation and integration. The process of personal deconstruction is certainly a noble and worthy endeavour; but it is challenging, and will rock your world. You will need support and time (and space) to integrate the changes. There is a reason these ancient traditions took their time and supported and supervised the process with each participant.

Tread your path mindfully, and be careful where you dig.


Originally published by Petah Raven on June 21, 2018.
Canonical link
Exported from Medium on August 1, 2018.

 


Posted from my blog PANDORA'S LOST GIFT with SteemPress : http://metametheus.net/digging-in-the-dirt/

Sort:  

I really appreciate your u ique perspective on this topic. I've worked with psychotherapists, life coaches, psychologists, and dug into the occult as well, extensively. It was similar for me, at first it was a fascination and almost a lust for extrasensory capabilities, but with time and maturity that has changed as well. Your perspective though is unique in that you not only have dug into your own self, but you have also had the opportunity to see patterns in other people and their experiences. And you have the open-mindedness to question and put the pieces together. Just terrific, and we can all learn a lot from this.
You were so right too in saying it's messy, dirty work and takes a lot of energy, and a long time to sort out. Although it's rewarding in a lot of ways, and freeing, it's rarely fun in my experience and there have been times I wish I never opened the clamshell.
I still work with a life coach, mostly because she helps me see patterns that I am sometimes overlooking and she also helps keep me excited about the process. But I don't think coaches are the best choice for everyone, just like maybe taking an ayahuasca journey might not be a great choice for some people. As one person described it, it's like being hit over the head with a 2x4 and though that may be just what some people need to facilitate positive change, not everyone responds to that favorably. Haha so... Thanks for sharing your experience. I enjoyed this post very much.

😅 ahh yes, the ol’ 2x4…

I guess the only way to find out which approach will work best is by trying.

That’s what I feel those questions are good for – helping one get some (but by no means, complete) clarity on the issue.

Ultimately, one gets an internal ‘yes’ or ‘no’ to something, and that’s usually true.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Shedding layers and getting to the truth of who you are is dirty, messy business. And it takes time.

Oh indeed it does! Get healed quick courses and promises are empty and irresponsible. And yes.. that cracking and blasting open is so beneficial but you are right.. what does one DO with that? I seek those revelatory moments willingly and often but then Im well read and versed. I can imagine how hard it would be for those who are faced with it for the first time with no follow up support.

Oh, the impetuousness of youth! 😉

Posted using Partiko iOS

@metametheus
Very interesting thanks for sharing your experience!
This article felt very honest!

/FF

Thanks mate. Appreciate the feedback.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeah, it makes a lot of sense, most people with your experience level are almost always trying to sell something, so it's nice to read this it feels honest and most useful for people who are working to improve themselves.

/FF

I attended A LOT of different workshops and I completely agree with you, the problem is what to do after it finishes? I love when people who are holding them leave a contact to reach out to them or give you a homework/assignment/what to do next or monitor your progress in some way. There are some wonderful ones out there. Thank you for sharing your experience and thoughts about this 💚

Thanks for your comment @zen-art.

I used to help out with a local facilitator as an ESP (emotional support person). There were usually 2-3 of us present for a weekend workshop, able to work with people 1:1 if their need arose at any time during the weekend. We’d also be available after the workshop for attendees to contact us. We were all qualified professionals.

This kind of support is necessary, and the best breakthroughs I had personally were in such nurturing, supportive contexts.
😊🙏🏽💜

Posted using Partiko iOS

No matter how you twist and turn it, no matter the preparation, it must be mind shattering, the bigger the contrasts, the bigger the 'growth'. No matter how many people surround you, at any given time, you are and will be alone with your own mind.
So for me personally, I've had gut punches and 'softer stuff'. The soft stuff, didn't do much for me. For me it takes actual deaths of loved ones, contrasting experiences mostly on my own, with minimal preparation for their actual happenings.
The world and the mind is a confounding thing, where opinions aren't attitudes. Actions aren't thoughts and yet need thought to be done. Saying no to yourself mostly just does nothing against or for whatever behaviour you're trying to stop, or bring into a natural rhythm with your own self.
Being your inner Police, or policing other people... Just OUCH. If you 'know'/ understand this, not doing too much against or for other people, seems like the only way, except for these spontaneously arising situations.

If I am honest, I wouldn't want it any other way, for such is probably the only way I could learn or change my attitudes, seeing how I have acted so far :D.

Your questions will hopefully deter some people to just wait and let mellow they're problems, to learn about each of their problems, hopefully without too much of inner criticism.

The Inner Critic will be there, regardless. Part of the approach to all personal development (to a degree) is moderating their voice.

A colleague of mine loves to say “change doesn’t have to be cathartic, does it?!”

What part of you wants, craves the challenge? Perhaps the Inner Warrior...

Posted using Partiko iOS

So moderating the voice with other thoughts of that same voice?
For me there is something that isn't my voice which can act on my inner voice.

I also prefer natural change as it happens anyway.

Since I only live once might as well make it interesting

What is it about the “something that isn’t my voice which can act on my inner voice” that’s different to your inner voice?

Don't really know how to describe that, nor how to point at where this might be. I just experience there to be sonething

Somehow like twitching my brain muscles makes them shut up for a bit :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by 📀 Petah Raven [metametheus] from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hi @metametheus!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.337 which ranks you at #18366 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 6 places in the last three days (old rank 18360).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 499 contributions, your post is ranked at #218.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66407.27
ETH 3219.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34