Five ways Steem has changed my life, and what comes next...

in #steempress5 years ago (edited)

In my 50+ years I have been involved in many causes, many organisations, many communities and many new activities. Some for shorter, some for longer.

But of all of these, the past 18 months on Steem has been more intense, more condensed and more all round impactful on my life than any other of my past endeavours.

Steem has taught me, steem has changed me, steem has made a indelible mark on my life...


1. The World of Crypto


Steem has been my entry point to the world of cryptocurrencies and blockchains.

As well as learning about Steem itself it has prompted me to explore other parts of the crypto world. I am seeing clearly that this is a world with many, many, many possibilities.

With every crypto stone I turn over another idea sprouts up before me. Fertile lands are just over the horizon.


2. Justice, Equality & A Dollar A Day

The single most important part of Steem for me is without a doubt A Dollar A Day.

Running this charitable giving organisation on Steem has opened my eyes so, so wide.

Talking directly to the people at the other end of the line, hearing how they live, about the problems they face and the solutions they are trying to implement has changed my outlook on the world big time and a half.

I have connected so directly with the people I work with. It is difficult not to have a heightened sense of responsibility to get involved and do the very, very best I can to help.

And A Dollar A Day has helped, a little at least. Even in these difficult days A Dollar A Day has managed to raise approaching US$ 5000 since the project started in May.

This has clearly demonstrated the potential of the Steem blockchain to do good in the world. I do so hope A Dollar A Day can continue to grow and develop in its present form, in its present place.


3. Radio Shows


Becoming a show host on MSP Waves has been my biggest personal revelation from being involved in Steem.

I had never hosted radio shows before, and I would never have dreamed of doing so if not for Steem.

And it has been such a fascinating and enjoyable part of my steem life. Since starting in January, through the various incarnations, I have put out almost 70 shows.

What's more, on those shows I have now interviewed around 400 steemians. That has been a joy, a pleasure, a privilege, an honour to get to know so many people on the platform in this way.


4. Vegetarian & Vegan


Back in March I interviewed @teamsteem on my Alternative Lifestyle Show on MSP Waves. We talked at length about his choice to be vegan. Then a few weeks later I brought together 10 steem vegans for a vegan special edition of the show. This covered all the different angles of why people become vegan... health, ethics, environment etc.

I had never been a big meat eater. But since those shows I have not eaten any. I am totally vegetarian.

Going full vegan, particularly having our own chickens, has been a longer, and more windy journey. But the ultimate goal is coming close.

I feel healthier for it.


5. Sleep

The other four have been big positives. But it would be dishonest for me not to include this rather more negative impact of steem.

With a 24 hour round the world community I commonly find myself chatting on Discord into the wee small hours with people in earlier timezones.

And there is always more to do. Posts to write, comments to make, shows to listen to, interviews to arrange, donations to send. I set myself steem targets each day - and I try to get them done before going to sleep.

This is not good. I have written about it before. I know it has got to change.

It will, I am trying harder.


So Steem has changed my life. Mostly for the better.

Whatever comes next these past 18 months have been fruitful.

I will wish for many months more...


[ photos from pixabay.com ]

Sort:  

This is a beautiful story pennsif :) I am glad to learn more about your path on steem and how it has encouraged you to do more good. Also the honest negative point is good to hear you being honest. I am sure many of us can relate to being drawn in to do more. For us homesteaders it is even more obvious, the disparities between the outside world and the online world. Being techy and homesteading is a challenge when both are demanding and sometimes contradicting.. however, how you choose to spend your time on steem is a great example for us; being generous with your time to help others. Thanks for sharing :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for these kind words. This is a time for reflection in the world of steem.

A crossroads confronts us, the satnav is malfunctioning, the roadmap is lost, so we've got to look to the stars, and deep into our hearts, to find the best route to take...



Very interesting post!

I didn't know steem was your entry to crypto.

I did think you may not get that much sleep. You really should change that - urgently!

Posted using Partiko Android

Out of somewhere darkness deep, comes that dreaded monster sleep..

I especially like your mspwaves show, congrats on all you do!

Posted using Partiko iOS

When the storms leave my broadband in tact, they are great fun to do.

yeah i do enjoy being on yours for sure. nice pacing.

Great too hear onwards and upwards by the sounds of it. Your right Steemit have brought a wealth of knowldge to me and this is set to grow rappidly I feel 💯🐒

Never turn back, it will take longer to get there...

Hi @pennsif!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.244 which ranks you at #788 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 789).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 189 contributions, your post is ranked at #14.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

It's a pleasure to read a little about your journey here and going forward. Your radio shows are my favourite, mainly due to the fact that I never know what to expect, you really do keep us all on our toes. Thanks for making steemit a great place to be. You set the bar very high my friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11