Pennsif’s Progress #584 – What is freedom?

in #steempress6 years ago (edited)

For someone living a relatively comfortable middle class life in the beautiful Welsh countryside in the UK it is very easy to assume one is free.

I can do what I want, when I want, where I want, how I want and with whom I want.

I think. When I have the money. And when the rules don't stop me.

It is easier to assume the positive than to question the negative.

Being on steem has made me think more about what freedom is.

One of the bedrocks of the steem platform is the decentralisation and the (apparent) lack of censorship.

But that is not the point.

Freedom is more pointed in the offline world.

I talk to people around the world. Every day. I learn from them.

I learn that their life is different to mine. My norms are different to theirs. And their version of freedom is often very different to mine.

When I was involved in local elections I walked a lot and got very tired. When they get involved in elections they talk a lot and get beaten up. Or worse.

When I want to buy in bulk to save some cash I go to the cash and carry. When they want to buy a few dozen shoes to give to street kids they are investigated and suspected of illicit trading.

When our children reached school age we chose to homeschool. But in some countries that is plain illegal, and if you persist you might need to flee the country, else face the prospect of having your children taken away from you.

Freedom comes in many flavours, some more bitter tasting than others.

I've explored many of these issues with guests on my Alternative Lifestyle Show. From that I've begun to compile my own little checklist of freedom points of reference.

As well as the big ticket items like free elections, freedom of worship and free press, these are some of the freedom markers that I have identified so far :

  1. Homeschooling / Unschooling - allowed with little or no restrictions / allowed with heavy intervention and regulation / not allowed at
  2. Drugs - cannabis in particular - medical and recreational use allowed / medical use only / not allowed at all
  3. Vaccinations - parents have total rights to chose / restrictions placed on those parents and children who do not vaccinate / absolute legal compulsion
  4. Guns - all types of guns permitted / only certain types of guns permitted in certain circumstances / no guns permitted except for very restricted licensed use
  5. Cryptocurrency - no restrictions on use of cryptocurrency / allowed but with restrictions / not allowed all
What else should go on this list?

Looking at this list again I am not sure I am so free and easy in the UK.

Lock and load, how does your country fare...?



PROJECTS :
BLOGS :
RADIO :


[ image from pixabay.com ]

Sort:  

The US does not fare well either, I'm afraid. And currently, we have the police defending armed fascists from peaceful protesters, oil pipelines from peaceful protesters, etc. It's looking pretty dark.

I think there still is more good then bad. Keep the hope!

I try! Sometimes I just need to step away from the news cycle and focus on positive things/things I can do something about. :)

It does appear that the direction of travel, even in the 'free' western countries is towards less and less freedom.


Host of The Alternative Lifestyle Show on MSP Waves Radio.

Founder of the A Dollar A Day charitable giving project.


I appreciate that we must all live by a base-set of rules, but some people kick the arse out of things, fuelled by greed and their own needs. I would also add the folowing to your list though:

  • Freedom of Information - Give the people the information and let them decide for themselves. NOT impose restrictive rules and regulations that hinder.
  • Transparency of governence, ties in with the above point.

There are many things wrong with the society in which we live. I would like to see a de-regulation of our Red-Tape society which inherently takes away slices of freedom on a monthly basis. Freeman of the Land is an interesting concept, but i fear I have missed the boat on that one.

Some good additions to the list - both big ones and tricky ones.

I fear those that control are getting better and better at regulating and manipulating the flow of information fed to the mass population - who alas don't seem to realise, or worse still. don't seem to care.

Are any of us really free? Probably not unless you live on a deserted island in the middle of an ocean. What it boils down to is what level of freedom are you comfortable accepting? If you don't accept the level where you are, you can try to leave or you can try to change it. Many countries brainwash people from an early age, into thinking they are free. You are only as free as the current government says you are.

Freedom is definitely all relative - relative to the society you live in, and relative to what standards you set yourself.

Congratulations @pennsif! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82