The United Kingdom of Steem : almost 100 steemians - Steem UK Virtual Meetup

in #steempress5 years ago (edited)

My last couple of posts have been exploring steem activity in the UK.

It ain't big, and it ain't pretty.

For many it has been downright shocking. For a few it's an opportunity...

We have now found almost 100 active steemians in the United Kingdom.

That is just over one active steemian per 1 million population.

That's not critical mass. That's not on the edge of a breakthrough.

That's virgin territory and we've work to do.

We've got to be smart. We've got to be clever.

We've got to be resourceful, committed, brimful of new ideas, chomping at the bit.

We've got to take to the streets, shout from the rooftops, look for opportunities in every nook and granny.

We want mushy steem with our fish and chips, we want Big Ben to go boing, boing, steem.

We want the BBC to announce "Here is the Nine O'Clock Steem", we want the Queen to say "Arise Sir Steem".

We want Steem to be great in Britain.

Bring on the United Kingdom of Steem...


UK Steem Virtual Meetup - Thursday 1 November, 8pm - 11pm


Do you want to join the fight? Will you sign up with the Steemship Troopers?

I'm all in. Steem is too important, too vital, too special to let it wither away and die.

We need to organise, we need to brainstorm, we need to coordinate, we need to make a plan.

It's up to us. The cavalry is not coming over the hill. And the reinforcements from head office never got the memo.

So let's get the balls rolling, and talk.

Kick off is 8pm this coming Thursday 1 November. A UK Steem Virtual Meetup on my radio show on MSP Waves.

Will you be there...?

Comment below, or message me on Discord (Pennsif#9921).

Come along, put on your game face, and let's party.

If you want a bit of homework, there's plenty swirling around the steemisphere, but @surfermarly's caught my eye today. Take a read and see what sparks...


List of Active Steemians in the UK


Here is the current list of active steemian's in the UK - 110 in total.

London & the South East (37)


@adetorrent, @allasyummyfood, @andabout, @basilmarples, @blackrussian, @bleepcoin, @breadcentric, @buttpacker, @charitycurator, @cryptogee, @donatello, @ezzy, @gillianpearce, @hockney, @hopehuggs, @justyy, @lloyddavis, @lolzwithlisa, @maneco64, @marczanto, @markangeltrueman, @molometer, @nakedverse, @nanzo-scoop, @nickyhavey, @pjau, @rea, @redrica, @scalextrix, @sergiomendes, @shazza, @simonjay, @stav, @steevc, @stimp1024, @teodora, @ultravioletmag

The Midlands (18)


@article61, @atomcollector, @cryptofunk, @dickturpin, @gmuxx, @honeybee11, @howardblott, @ictman1076, @kryptoe, @martaesperanza, @neopch, @revisesociology, @rimicane, @shanibeer, @silverfoxx, @skaarl, @starkerz, @ura-soul

Wales & the South West (20)


@cryptocariad, @eveningart, @francesleader, @happysmileyman, @jen0revision, @jimbobbill, @owenwat, @p-props, @pennsif, @perceptualflaws, @pumpkinsandcats, @stevejhuggett, @stevelivingston, @sunsethunter, @theadmiral0, @theturtleproject, @tinygalaxy, @ukbitcoinmaster, @wales, @welshstacker

The North (20)


@anarcotech, @artonmysleeve, @ashtv, @beautifulbullies, @c0ff33a, @cryptocurator, @darrenclaxton, @gdwcoins, @geordieprepper, @mckeever, @mikefromtheuk, @pcste, @raj808, @russellbury, @slobberchops, @steemonkey, @stephenkendal, @teamhumble, @techmojo, @vibeof100monkeys

Scotland (7)


@barge, @camuel, @fiftysixnorth, @johnkingwriter, @meesterboom, @natubat, @tom-orrow

Northern Ireland (1)


@silverstackeruk

And also... (7)


@atomcollector, @britcoin, @mynewlife, @opheliafu, @owenwat, @someguy123, @tremendospercy

If you know anyone that should be on the list let me know in a comment below or via Discord (Pennsif#9921).



MORE OF MY POSTS...


[ flag from pixabay.com ]

Sort:  

A few to add to the list:

London: @colossus39 @freedomexists @mummyimperfect @bleepcoin @cryptogee @rod.crisafulli @ingaaa @yasminep

From midlands or up North:
@michellegent @opheliafu @cryptofunk

Ireland: @eroche @demotruk(?)

There are definitely more I'm not remembering right now! Will add more when they come to mind!

Will definitely try to tune in for a bit on Thurs, thanks for organizing @pennsif :)

Thanks @redrica

No worries :)

Hi @opheliafu, good to meet you. Which region are you in for the list?

Thanks @redrica for all these. Several seem to have gone quiet about a month ago (HF20 ?) but those currently active have taken us over the magic 100 !!!

Hope you can join in the show tomorrow.



Ill defo try and make this but I have an appointment Thursday evening so I might just make the latter hour or two! also in London @bleepcoin @cryptogee @rod.crisafulli @colossus39 @benphillips London @wallpaperflower in Ireland then @seanreily in Scotland also @beautifulbullies in midlands I believe @rimicane @techmojo @Sergiomendes @jayread @happysmileyman @ewa @eroche

sorry if I've doubled up trying to make sure they are not in list

I'm in the north west.... should be able to attend. just not as active as i want to be due to work commitments.

Good to meet you @techmojo - look fowrard to chatting with you on the show.

@sergiomendes is in London, Sarah

Many thanks for these people - alas several of them inactive now.

Look forward to talking with you again on the show tomorrow.

Without wishing to be picky, I'm in The North - Halifax and Bradford mostly, just to avoid confusion. I know @fiftysixnorth is in Edinburgh if you would like to add him in, I can't think of any others right now. I'm actually surprised - this is many more then I realised.

I will try and join in the show Thursday, it could be one of the first Discord shows where people can understand what I am saying!

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Thanks @c0ff33a - moved you north and added @fiftysixnorth to Scotland - one more closer to 100.

I will look forward to talking with you on the show on Thursday.

Thanks @c0ff33a for remembering me :) I'll try and make it to the show on Thursday as well.. I could have sworn there were more of us in Scotland, but then I think a lot of people gave up and left when the price of steem dropped after the good times last winter.

Hi @fiftysixnorth - good to meet you. Hope you can make it along to the show tomorrow.

Thanks! I plan to be there :)

Aw... I missed this as I was away on a residential course for most of last week, with no time for internet use! Hopefully there'll be another opportunity to participate. I'm heading off tomorrow for part 2 of the same course, but I'll be back on Thursday or Friday next week so I'll try and catch up then :)

Hi there @natubat, we are planning another similar event - maybe at the end of the month.

This is the post about the outcomes of the meeting - hopefully we can pick up on an event in Scotland as well...

Fantastic! I'm off to bed now, but I'll give this a listen tomorrow.
I already run a hillwalking Meetup group, and I keep meaning to start a Steemit one, but I haven't taken the plunge yet, mainly because when I tell people about Steemit, I find that they just don't "get" it. Which is why I need to start a Steemit Meetup group I guess!

I remembered two more for you, @eveningart and @pcste . I know a few that are from the UK but live in other parts of the world - are they included or does it have to be currently living in the UK only?

Thanks for these two people - now added and up to 105. We're really rocking now 😊

I think only those based in the UK currently.

I'll be there for the first bit. Probably not the later as I'm getting up at 3.00 a.m. to drive to Kent, and I do need my sleep!

Look forward to it.

At least the list's growing!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi Karl, that will be great if you can come along to some of the show. 3am sounds like an early one!

I want to be at my destination in Kent by 7.30. Before the traffic.

The M25 is rammed around junction 5 by 6.00. TBH I'm risking it aiming to hit it by 7.00.

Anything after that and it's a lottery.

Posted using Partiko Android

More information is coming into my head... ah yes.. @meesterboom appears Scottish but I think he lives in the south somewhere now... can you confirm big lion with spectacles?

@artonmysleeve I think is from the Sheffield area.

What!!?!

Wtfunkz!! I most certainly do not live in the South!

Glasgow!!! :0p

OK.. 50% correct then.. you come under the 'The United Kingdom of Steem' flag.. don't know where I go the south from.. ;)

Hehe, yes, I come under that flag indeed!

Good to meet you @meesterboom.

Good to meet you too!

So where is the virtual meet up. You got a link?

Hi @meesterboom - I am just putting up a post about the show. But it will be in the PAL/MSP Discord and broadcast out from there to mspwaves.com and Vimm.tv.

Righty ho, will try my best, damn you are up early!

South, I like how offended you were with thing haha. its like calling a english man a welsh man, sorry welsh people we love ya really :D

Hehe yeah, probably exactly like that!

I am from Sheffield???? You know I am haha.
My friend is from sheffield too @wrongjohn he is not as active as he was, but he still posts sometimes. but I am sire that he will be up for a meet up :D

Hi @artonmysleeve. Hopefully we can re-energise and re-activate @wrongjohn.

Maybe, He has been very busy as he is a single dad who had custady of his son and he also works like 50 hours a week. so just finding time to go to the toilet i think he struggles. but i will have a word with him.

Great thank you

Thanks Slobberchops - @artonmysleeve added to the North.

That will be great - you are on the list.

It sounds like I want to be there! I will join in later perhaps. Can't believe there are so few from Midlands. Something got to change!

Also, some other names:

@steevc too.

Hi girl...i am in the philippines right now, perhaps anytime after March will be ok for meet-ups. You going to SF3?
Enjoy!

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Hi Imma, will you be back in the UK permanently from March?

That's the plan why? Gonna have a big steemian party?😍😍😍

Thank you for these people. It will be great to meet you if you can come along to the virtual meetup / show tomorrow.

Not sure about my schedule, how do we access your MSP show?

Hope you can make it along to the show.

The show is based in the PAL/MSP Discord channel :

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70223.87
ETH 3561.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73