Has GentleBot Got A Screw Loose? - Comedy Open Mic Round 30

in #steempress6 years ago (edited)

Anyone who has been on Steemit for a while has probably had a visit from, or at least heard of, @gentlebot.


It's a bot that goes around upvoting comments. I always thought that it only upvoted comments that contained a certain gentleness. That was what I was always told anyhow.

Then I saw this on a comment I had put on Amir's excellent post.


Yeah, yeah, I know I didn't really learn to keep my mouth shut. It's just jokey jokes.

My point is that @gentlebot usually just upvotes comments that are all nice and shit. Does their filter just pick out the nice words like "funny" and "laugh" but disregard the sex and ass kicking? Maybe we'll never know, but thanks for the $.19 and a reason to write a quick post for Comedy Open Mic before the deadline.

I nominate @gentlebot's creator to compile a list of the funniest comments, if that's even possible, and also @shadowspub because she never responds to my goading for a funny post.

final.gif

 


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://changethetopic.com/has-gentlebot-got-a-screw-loose-comedy-open-mic-round-30/

Sort:  

Hi profanereviews,

Thank you for your entry in to #comedyopenmic comedy contest. We have asked the judges below to review your entry and give it a funny rating. (They generally have no sense of humor, as the saying goes, those that can't do, start contests and judge).
This will determine your ultimate position when the results are tallied. (That being said, you are free to adopt any position you wish - we can recommend pantsless with beer in hand.)

Judges:

If you have any questions or queries please feel free to contact one of the judges or come say hi in discord: Click Here

Click To Vote @ComedyOpenMic For Witness And Disrupt The Steem Blockchain With Laughter!
Support COM Banner

Thank you to @matytan for the great banner

I’d have to actually be able to write something funny to be able to respond

Posted using Partiko iOS

Have you seen some of the entries? I think you could easily come up with something. Are you trying to tell us that there are no hilarious moments from when @artemisnorth was a kid? I would think there would be a treasure trove of funny stories at her expense.

Of course you would have to change the name to Optimus Prime or something.

let's see now, @artemisnorth is going to be arriving here next week and I'm going to be a tad under the weather... not thinking it would be a good time to tell stories out of school about her as kid. She's kind BUT payback is always a bitch.

Good thinking @shadowspub. I was gonna ask why you picking on me then started singing Charlie Brown and forgot about it earlier. Lol!

Posted using Partiko Android

Well take note, it wasn’t me who suggested telling stories about you. Got your back lady.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Now I'm interested in the Charlie Brown statement.

You know the song....DEEP voice...Why is everybody always picking on me. Great....earworm.... it's stuck in my head again.

Posted using Partiko Android

Why would there be payback? You must have some excellent stories.

As far as I can tell, Gentlebot is completely random.

Well, it's programmed to upvote the best comment of the last hour according to the introduction post. It's been a while since anyone has posted on it though. Any other time it picked me it was a supportive sounding comment.

I guess I can be guaranteed to never get an upvote from gentlebot.

Oh, don't discount your bad ass yet. I have gotten a few of them by accident.

Hi @profanereviews!

drugwars

Received:

  • 1.180 STEEM
  • 8.298 STEEM from daily
  • 3.780 STEEM from heist
  • 0.043 STEEM from referral

Spent:

  • 12.333 STEEM

Total:

  • 0.968 STEEM

First transfer was before 18.04 days.
Your ROI per day is 5.98 % and you are earning approx. 0.74 STEEM per day.

Gentlebot once upvoted someone calling me a dog and said he was fucking my mother and sister.

Can’t remember who witnessed that by definitely @holybranches remembers that. It was a whole thing on traf’s Post. I think I even made a post about it.

Well, you got me beat.

Gentlebot is trying to identify the comments it thinks the community will upvote. It's guessing not what is gentle, but what is popular

Ah, that makes sense then. Where did all the gentle talk come from and why did it think the comment about Amir being a dog and having sex with his mom and sister would be a comment people would upvote? Is it a Trump supporter?

No, it's an algorithm that, I think, learns. So it's not that IT is a Trump supporter, instead it's an algorithm that's learned people are awful.

The concept of gentle bot somehow finding you is completely absurd. Just recalling your last comedy entry.
Correction: your ever comedy entry. =) steem on, ever so gently.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66785.29
ETH 3229.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30