The Time I Won At Parenting

in #steempress6 years ago


Is there anything worse than being three years old and having your mom make you get out of the bath? In my toddlers world, the answer to that question is an emphatic NO.

This day was no different. I was trying everything I could think of to keep the insanity to a minimum. “It’s no fun to be cold, is it?” I said, drying her off and praising her for doing a good job. She really was doing an excellent job. But I could tell being cold and wet was getting to her and a meltdown was imminent.

“Robe, please,” she shivered.

“Let’s get your underpants and pajamas on first, my girl.”

Then suddenly, out of nowhere she inhaled “heee” and exhaled a guttural “ahhhh”. I realized this was the moment we’d been working towards for months. Deep breaths in and deep breaths out to calm down in a difficult situation. What else could I do? I followed her lead. There we were, sitting on the floor of the bathroom breathing in and out like a couple of asthmatic hyenas.

“Is everything okay up there!?” My husband shouted from the living room.

“Yes, heeee, everything is fine, ahhhh!” I shouted back.

That day, we made it through putting on pajamas, her Wonder Woman bathrobe, and brushing her hair while engaged in our unusual deep breathing exercise. My daughter may have been the one wearing the Wonder Woman robe, but I was the one that felt like Wonder Woman after bath time.

 

lubomirkin-143245


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://rachelahanson.blog/2017/09/08/the-time-i-won-at-parenting/

Sort:  

It's a wonderful feeling, when something you've taught a child finally clicks.

It really is! Now if we could just get there with hitting :/

This post has been upvoted and picked by Daily Picked #52! Thank you for the cool and quality content. Keep going!

Don’t forget I’m not a robot. I explore, read, upvote and share manually 😊


You can upvote, follow, resteem, delegate and join my curation trail to support me, good creators and minnows.

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86