A few reflections on minimalism and why it’s so difficult to get rid of some of my stuff….

in #steempress5 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: A few reflections on minimalism and why it’s so difficult to get rid of some of my stuff….


I've moved to Hive, along with most other people, following Justin Sun's takeover of Steem in the Spring of 2020. I believe hive is a lot more decentralised than Steem!

Sort:  

Much happy lifting, 33 years of ingrained sweat, and very little muscle to show for it.

:D

It was heart breaking to load up a mates boot with 20 years worth of books. But would I have read more than 1/2 in the past 3 years, not sure.

I left Nottingham with 20 years of stuff in one car, the sold/gave away stuff and left for Spain with 2 suitcases and a rucksack. Not gained much since, and feeling quite light :)

Just a quick test reply

Good effort!

I may get there.

Funny how no one's suggesting I cling on to everyrhing!

Posted using Partiko Android

4 comments arrived in total :)

I like the space it gave me, both mentally and physically.

And another. Partiko is telling me 'the steem blockchain is very busy' and not posting my comments.

Clearly that's not the case.

Good effort!

I may get there.

Funny how no one's suggesting I cling on to everyrhing!

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh look it posted the reply twice!

If I were single, I'd probably be thinking the same. My wife, unfortunately, is not a minimalist in the slightest. We have a large house full of shit I would never have bought if it depended on me. We will, however, try and get rid of some of the useless stuff such as old children's clothes and sports gear next summer.

Worth the compromise I hope!

Of course!

Posted using Partiko Android

Not even really a compromise as much of the stuff is not useful to use by any standard, including things like children's ski boots our daughter has outgrown.

We have a large house full of shit I would never have bought if it depended on me.

This made me laugh! Good luck shifting stuff next summer.

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

I’m aiming to reduce my stuff down to one small van load which would mean I could easily move my stuff and rent out my house, in case I either want to go travelling (I’m kind of getting the urge.)

Great plan m8. It's always good to be minimal if you have the travel urge. also you have a better chance of being able to make good money air b'n'bing your abode as most people like the clean, cream minimalist style.

I recently moved out of a flat into a bedsit so my place is like a minimalists idea of hell ;-)

Hopefully that was a voluntary move rather than being forced into it!

Posted using Partiko Android

Not really a voluntary move if I'm honest. I didn't have to move but I couldn't afford to pay the rent at old place. Well, I did pay the rent but just ended up in massive debt to electric and had to leave that address so I could even have a chance to start to pay my debts. Got offered a smaller, cheaper (bedsit 😔) in a nice area so jumped at it.

It's not bad but I get cabin fever something's cause it's so small and you're basically living in one room 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

At least it's in a nice area! I'd probably get cabin fever also, but I guess you've gotta live somewhere you can actually afford!

I really want to go proper off-grid and just put up a yurt and some solar panels in a field, but it's just so much hassle in the UK.

Ha ha, I'm with you on that m8. The closest I've come is to go wild camping in Wales. That was pretty awesome... but I don't think I could live like that fur long. It was nice watching the sunrise from the top of the cliff above Aber falls though.... while eating a pack of cheap ramen noodles 🍜 for breakfast 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

Sounds ideal - But you need a wood burner and a floor to be comfortable long term!

Posted using Partiko Android

Why not make a list of the books and sell them for steem?

Posted using Partiko iOS

You know selling my stuff for steem hadn't even occurred to me!

Mind you I am fiat poor atm so I need the dollar to keep the monkey off my back!

Posted using Partiko Android

Well, sell for steem and exchanging what u need and power up the rest

I always feel much clearer and focused in my head when everything around me is clear and tidy. Rather than a distraction, clearing the material stuff might be related to the mental stuff.

No doubt they are related. I need to tidy more for sure!

Posted using Partiko Android

I was kind of forced into minimalism about 15 years ago and since then your list whilst you were at your Dad's is very similar to mine back then and still the same today. I no longer give it too much thought now, it's just how I am. I could fit all my worldly possessions into one rather large suitcase and I don't miss anything.
I have some furniture these days as I'm living in a small home with my wife but my urge to 'collect stuff' has never returned, helped by the digital age. Any urges to collect can now be satisfied by a hard drive!
There's no right or wrongs, just how you feel but I do hope you go for the travelling!! Don't regret not doing it while you have the chance :-)

That's all very interesting. Perhaps I need a push.

I did feel pretty liberated over summer. But that may have had something to do with it being summer and living rent free!

Funnily enough I intend to purge my electronic storage at some point too!

Posted using Partiko Android

Aarrgghh.. I'm so jealous on single free living one😂😂😂, I'm quite a minimalist myself, when I left my rented house 2 years ago and moved out to hubby's house.. I gave all my kitchen wares for my sisters and my only stuff are books that I will never ever parted with😊

Unless you are a hoarder, being part of many good stuffs is easier, right😉 if only you're my neighbour..I'll take toaster and washing machine😂

Books are the hardest items to get rid of!

Washing machines are the most amazing things.. if only they weren't so much hassle to move!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hope we will have a portable that we can fold and unfold in the near future 😂😂😂 I'd like to have one. Laundrette not always solved my problems with washing abd ironing😊

'My ZX81's'... this got my attention, how many? 50 or 60?
They hold some value now, you could sell them.

I bought them on ebay 10 years ago as an investment - around £15 each I think. I haven't even unboxed them.

I will sell them assuming there are actually ZX81s in the boxes rather than stones or something!

Posted using Partiko Android

2009, for £15 boxed? That's really cheap.. even then. Have a look now, you may be surprised with what you find.

It helps if they are tested and working and depends on the condition a LOT. Got an RF cable?

Only 2 of them!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi, @revisesociology!

You just got a 1.39% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71