A few thoughts on @Ned's Livestream

in #steempress5 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: A few thoughts on @Ned's Livestream


I've moved to Hive, along with most other people, following Justin Sun's takeover of Steem in the Spring of 2020. I believe hive is a lot more decentralised than Steem!

Sort:  

I still can't figure out what "Destiny" is. Livestreaming is the "bridge" to what? And fire 70% of the staff to prepare for this "Destiny" that nobody knows of? To me, it's a kind of mind game.

And it doesn't cost THAT MUCH money to create ways for making API keys on a full node! Eff-ing 70% of the staff means he's miscalculated on his budgeting without taking in account the instability of the coin and the market volatility. I really wonder what he's up to. Something is up his sleeve and somewhere along the line, he's NOT being honest with us.

He's also too relaxed for my liking. The relaxed air of a young multimillionnaire.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, I know what you mean. Young, and not much life experience.

Still, I don't get it. Steemit may go down due to financial problems. But why that young multimillionaire can't throw in some bucks to fix this current bad financial situation as every little shopkeeper would do it to overcome his business problem.

I guess he's got his!

Posted using Partiko Android

I think it's like the bridge to total freedom

Destiny is now on the 'backburner' btw. So that Steemit Inc can focus all its resources on everything that isn't steemit.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh~, I see. Then, I guess being patient is best..?

I just love Steemit but somehow I am not so confident on Steem Inc and Ned. He doesn't believe in Steemit and I can totally understand that, but he has to understand that Steemit brings Steem blockchain value as it gives the blockchain, community support which is so crucial for any project. The fact that they are struggling with finances in a bear market which is not even an year long till now says a lot about how badly they have managed their funds. I hope this will teach them a lesson and they will be better prepared in the next bull run whenever that happens. It is a good time to focus on building better tech and stay ahead in the game in this highly competitive market.

Posted using Partiko Android

I think all we can do is have that attitude now... try and look forwards positively!

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, absolutely. These things won't put me down and my Steem accumulation at these prices will continue ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

Funny thing is that Steemit inc owns roughly 60 Million steem and even with current price that’s over 20 million usd

Posted using Partiko iOS

Quite! It is simply inconceivable that a handful people involved in steeminc aren't multimillionnaires on the back of cashed out steem!

@ura-soul mentioned something about @ned's worth possibly being around $500M at the peak.

Posted using Partiko Android

I watched the replay of the live stream.

The prospect of a rift opening up in the Steem-Time Continuum is the biggest risk at present...

Is something like a Steem Foundation needed to give some sort of overview, guidance, direction, governance etc...

But possibly all those words don't fit well in the anarcho-capitalist world of steem...



A steem foundation/ co-op maybe - there was no mention of that but it's an idea for sure.

Defo communication and clarity are key.

Posted using Partiko Android

Take a look at the RChain coop. Governance was the first thing that they did.

Posted using Partiko Android

I will do cheers!

Posted using Partiko Android

Fair coin is another example.

So agree with this. The weird thing is, it's easier to "get" yesterday's livestream by reading such follow-up posts rather than watching the actual thing.

steemit, which he seems to view as fundamentally flawed

that part was so sad to watch, when he said something like okay, we tried, but steemit's fucked. Depressing moment, but then everything has to end sometime...

As for the comments, I kept an eye on them throughout and the spam was really annoying. I'm really not a technical person and I was trying to follow the discussions in the comments to maybe understand what the hell was going on, but the constant chatter made it really difficult to do that :/

I was annoyed that he had its replacement in mind in the back of his head - 'Destiny' - he's like a boy playing with lego but with blockchains instead.

Posted using Partiko Android

@smooth for CEO

For me, @ned had courage to say that to everyone and be transparent.
Now, it's time for two things:

  1. Steemit Co, understand their errors and change the strategy
  2. We start to be more decentralized.

Cheers!

Good comments, I think most people see the changes as reasonable and that yes Steemit didn't reach its potential, but that's ok because STEEM is about the blockchain and not just the steeemit site. About the money, i understood that steemit was taking about withdrawls/power downs on a periodic basis. I think doing otherwise is kind of a Catch-22 about the perception of leadership taking out money at random intervals and spec about why, but, again, i don't really know the details. ty

I've nothing against steemin powering down periodically to pay people and pay costs - I would, however, like to see some accounts!

I'd like to know how rich people have gotten.

Posted using Partiko Android

I have the opinion that this has been planned since more than a 6 months ago and it corresponds to maximizing strategy in order to squeeze as much as possible the cow...
I can’t swallow the idea that due to the bearish market, impacting in all of us, Ned has decided to do so without alerting with advanced time.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Well if it was planned they're in the wrong due to lack of communication. If it wasn't planned, that's just sheer incompetence!

Posted using Partiko Android

Lack of communication is also incompetence.
I'm no sociologist, but I think anarcho-capitalism relies on a lot of honesty and personal responsibility. It isn't just "I'll do what suits me at the moment, screw you."

No fair point I don't want to bad mouth all of anarchism - but if it means more freedom to use yr capital as you see fit - extracting milliond of dollars from a blockchain is totally in line with that!

Posted using Partiko Android

Well, true. I meant that even (especially) in a system where no one tells you what you must do, it's on the individual to do what's right - not just right for today but tomorrow too. Ultimately that means more responsibly to others, not less - but it certainly means many mistakes along the way too.

They were always incompetent at communicating.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @revisesociology! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 3500 comments. Your next target is to reach 4000 comments.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34