A review of @steempress (and why you should be using it!)

in #steempress5 years ago (edited)

@SteemPress is plugin you can install on your WordPress blog which allows two-way integration between WordPress and Steem: it allows you to publish your WordPress posts to the Steem blockchain and to view your Steem post upvotes, earnings and comments on your WordPress blog.

It works with both WordPress.org blogs and WordPress.com blogs, although you'll need a pro subscription for the later.

The vision of SteemPress is to empower all WordPress bloggers to be able to benefit from the potential earnings and wider audience which are both available on the Steem blockchain

SteemPress was developed and is maintained by two very talented individuals: @fredrikaa and @howo, who both left well paid professional jobs so they could commit to the project full time. I've been using it for several months on both my .org and .com WordPress blogs and it's a great plugin which works very well, and is constantly being improved.



The advantages of using SteemPress


WordPress is more efficient and functional than steemit and other pure steem blogging UIs

As much as I appreciate the work being done on UIs such as busy.org and steempeak, I can't help but think they are just 'reinventing the wheel'. WP is (as far as I'm aware) open source, with shed loads of available plug-ins which make it multi-functional, so as far as I'm concerned, I'm going to use it whenever possible!

In case you've never seen the back-end of WordPress.org - here's a screen capture: you can see that it's about as close to a Word Processor as you're going to get.


In fairness, busy.org does come pretty close to this, but with WP I have the following further advantages over using dedicated steem interfaces ATM:

  1. I can modify the content after 7 days, at least on the WP end.
  2. I'm much more able to weaponise my SEO on WP thanks to slugs, a wider range of image tag options, categories and feature images. There are also SEO plugins to help.
  3. I can set up pages with links to organise my best blog posts.
  4. I have multiple blog layout options - again in fairness to SteamPeak, it has two layout options, but WP has many.
  5. All of the other plugins! I can do so much: embed polls (easily), have my twitter feed displayed at the side, show my most popular posts, even set up a shop!
SteemPress helps established WP users leverage the advantages of the Steem blockchain....

The most 'in your face' leveraging advantage is that you can earn crypto from your WP blog posts as well as earning from WP advertising revenue. You might also get quite a nice upvote from the @steempress account, which has 1M SP, and there's not a lot of accounts out there that have that kind of fire power!

You could also get more engagement by cross-posting to Steem. Despite having 500K hits a month on my WP.com blog, I actually get more engagement in the form of comments and likes on steemit, and so this looks good when the Steem comments are embedded at the end of every WP post.

Having at least the 'first draft' of your work locked into an immutable chain offers some kind of advantage in terms of proving initial authorship beyond dispute.

Of course integrating the two accounts also means you might also attract more users to steem via WP, which is in all of our long term financial interests.

Using SteemPress helps promote Steem and potentially helps with Steem onboarding....

One of the main aims of SteemPress is to promote the best of Steem on WordPress in order to get more people using Steem. If WP bloggers with an established audience start using SteemPress, then every blog post becomes an advert for Steem. Two way integration means that anyone reading a WP post will see the upvotes, payouts and comments and this may peak their interest in joining.

In order for this to be most effective, I've designed a little bespoke footer to 'sell' Steem to people (see below), and I'm anticipating the journey from ad to onboard to become even more seamless in 2019 once the @steemonboarding project kicks off.

Your content is more secure with WordPress/ SteemPress

@Ned floated the possibility of steemit disappearing in the recent Steeminc livestream, which raised all sorts of concerns of storage of content and SEO. Well, if you're blogging to steemit/ Steem via WP, this is not a problem.

@SteemPress might also be part of the greater decentralisation plan moving forwards, given that data is already self-hosted on WP blogs there might be scope to not store this data on the blockchain, just somehow integrate voting and comment and reward functions without the data storage functions.

A couple of downsides with using SteemPress


You need to pay for the hosting of a WP blog, but the fee is fairly minimal, something in the region of £10 all in per month, personally I do this via GoDaddy.

Edit - NB SteemPress takes a 15% benefactor reward from your posts, which is quite a cut. Then again, in these days when SteemInc are worrying about how steem app's are gonna pay for themselves going forwards, perhaps that's just realistic!

Cross posting may hurt your SEO, but there is a time delay function with SteemPress, and if you delay cross posting by seven days then apparently this is sufficient to nullify any effects here. Or you can set up an alternative WP blog if you already have one that's up and running and has good SEO you want to protect.

Final thoughts/ SteemPress links


SteemPress is one of the best applications on steemit, if you've already got a WordPress blog I recommend integrating it. If you don't have a WordPress blog, I recommend setting one up and integrating SteemPress with it.

To download SteemPress, you'll find the plug-in at https://wordpress.org/plugins/steempress/

The latest updates are available at the SteemPress discord channel!

To vote for their witness, either use SteemConnect following this link, or at https://steemit.com/~witnesses.

If you don't already have a WP,org blog, I recommend setting one up via GoDaddy. There may be other providers, but this has worked well for me. Good service, reasonable price!

 

SICK OF MAINSTREAM SOCIAL MEDIA, THEN WHY NOT SIGN UP WITH STEEM?



This post is also being published to the steem network, which pays you in cryptocurrency (steem) for blogging, vlogging, commenting on, and even just upvoting other people’s content.

If you are a blogger, vlogger, entrepeneur or developer, or even if you just like good content, you should get on steem: it’s social media 4.0!

Even though steem only went live in 2016, it has already evolved into a thriving and diverse, decentralised network, and there are a number of ways you can start earning from your content on steem:

  • You can blog on steemit which is like a cross between WordPress and Facebook
  • You can upload videos to DTube, which is like YouTube
  • You can upload music to DSound, which is like SoundCloud
  • You can upload pictures to Appics, which is like instagram.


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://revisesociology.co.uk/a-review-of-steempress-and-why-you-should-be-using-it/
Sort:  

Steempress is pretty nifty.

It takes a benefactor cut of rewards doesn't it? 10% or 15% I can't recall which.



Yes fair point. I really should've mentioned that I just forgot..my bad! It'd 15%!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

thanks, i'll check it out

Congratulations @revisesociology! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I've been thinking about restarting my web site, which never really got off the ground, but came to Steemit instead. I certainly prefer the WP editor to the Steemit one, plus WP allows you to place a structure over the blogs, which Steemit doesn't.
I might try the plugin for a while and see how it goes.

How does it handle images? WP is much more sophisticated for image placement and allowing you to link from the image to a different image or unrelated URL. Does the plugin translate those correctly?

Good question. I don't tend to link to images so I'm not sure. Image placement (left or right) is good and regular links.

It has a problem with numbered lists. Stick to bullets!

Nb I need to edit - I forgot to mention the 15% cut it takes!

Posted using Partiko Android

Does Cheetah bot consider it as a copied/plagiarised content?

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh I see what you mean now, sorry, NO, absolutely not!

That is cool, thanks

Posted using Partiko Android

It might do because of my footer at the bottom. But I don't see any comment from Cheetah?

Posted using Partiko Android

You need to pay for the hosting of a WP blog, but the fee is fairly minimal, something in the region of £10 all in per month, personally I do this via GoDaddy.

This is the blocker for me, is it worth it for a month? if you post a lot perhaps.. but with the current price of STEEM to the USD thats a decent chunk per of your STEEM income per month.

Im trying my best to downscale my activities, so for the moment its not for me. Thanks for the review though.

Fair play! You have to factor in all the costs after all.

It's well worth it for me - I make about £1K a month from those WP blogs!

Posted using Partiko Android

That's very decent, there's income besides STEEM then? if you can do it then do it I say!

At least it's £1K a month when you don't accidentally switch of your advert settings for 4 months like I did over summer.

20K hits a day on revisesociology.com

I mainly make money out teens desperate to pass their A level.

It'd not as much fun as making steem by blogging about random shit I'm interested in

However there is quite a substantial overlap between the two... especially where news and documentaries are concerned. SteemPress helps me earn twice!

Posted using Partiko Android

Makes me wanna go right now and get a WordPress premium account.
But wait, Wallet :'(

It's only actuallly about £100 for the year I think.

Posted using Partiko Android

I feel like an idiot by I download steempress via wordpress, but now how do I open or install steempress? I don't see a way to do it in the file and nothing is popping up... someone said go to "settings' but I'm not sure where that it . ty !

It should be in the plugins menu: you just have to activate it. NB - SP do take a 15% benefactor reward, my glaring omission from the post!

Screen Shot 2018-12-03 at 19.45.19.png

what website is that? yeah, I see @engrave takes 15% too... maybe less as you go.

The screen capture is just the back end of my wordpress.org blog.

NB the hosting is sorted via GoDaddy, I did everything through them!

Is it .org you've got?

Posted using Partiko Android

yeah, they had the link for @steempress ... wordpress.org

Hi, @revisesociology!

You just got a 0.29% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71