Early Retirement Finance Update November 2018

in #steempress5 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Early Retirement Finance Update November 2018


I've moved to Hive, along with most other people, following Justin Sun's takeover of Steem in the Spring of 2020. I believe hive is a lot more decentralised than Steem!

Sort:  

How do you keep track of the munchies? My big downfall is going into shops, I'm fine as long as I don't do that.

This is just an estimate tbh... also I include the odd muffin with a coffee under coffee and crisps with beer under beer.

It's a categorical fiction tbh but the overall amounts are near enough.

Yup avoiding the shops is good for sure!

Posted using Partiko Android

I need to keep a closer eye on cash spend, even keeping an estimate would be a good idea!

December might not be the best time to start... maybe fire up the spreadsheet in Jan!

Posted using Partiko Android

Can you come over and hypothetically work out my finances so I can ignore you and spend money i dont have?

No seriously, think we are on track, as long as we can live with 5 more years of teaching.

Lol..

Five more years is a long long time in teaching.

As long as yr under 40 you might just survive it I guess.

Unless it's better down under? The system here is literally intolerable.

Posted using Partiko Android

I think it is a lot better here. We both taught in England but when we came to Australia the wages were three times as much. And things went downhill by all accounts after we left. We are both mid 40's, and I teach part time which is awesome. It's a super hard job but not intolerable here - very hard, yes, but not intolerable. Plus we are taking long service leave, as we have it accrued - will stretch out one wage over a year and go travelling and rent out the house, come back, do a year or two and quit by 50. We can always do tutoring and supply teaching to tide us over. It's a sweet gig really when we look at it that way. I have weeks where I want to die rather than teach but to be honest I love kid's energy and being part time keeps me under radar of all the other bullshit obligations ... hubby is Head of Science but he handles it all pretty well and our combined wages are sweet really.

You're still not selling it to me....

Part time is not too bad though.

Tutoring is something I plan to do. Maybe from this April. Locally and online too. Quite looking forward to it tbh!

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh I know... I am probably talking myself into something. I would rather not work at all. I hate the politics and bureaucracy and unreasonable demands. But I do love teenagers. However I'm teaching 16 and 17 year olds at a private school so there isn't really any behaviour issues.

Posted using Partiko Android

Pretty much what I did for the last 16 years - 16-19 in a very good state college.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yep.. that'll do it... I couldn't do longer than that for sure.

Posted using Partiko Android

I’m liking this . May try it myself.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I recommend it... once a month - it keeps you on track!

Posted using Partiko Android

This is not surprising, man. It's horrible how much people end up paying on mortgages. When they don't pay a portion it just keeps getting compounded and increasing their losses. I really think this house ownership mindset needs to change, people should look to renting more.

Posted using Partiko Android

Here in the UK renting just doesn't work.. so expensive, as expensive as paying a mortgage. Once you've paid yr mortgage it's 25 years + rent free.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh right, my bad. I was talking from the perspective of Asia and even North America, where rent is expensive but not as bad as the mortgage payments. But still, if you default on one payment, that default compounds over time to such an alarming amount.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes it can do... I'm lucky to have got a 1.9% 5yr mortgage deal though so the extra interest is minimal!

Posted using Partiko Android

Love your entry for Poundland shit! And you must drink a heck lot of coffee to spend more than beer.

It's just my current daily coffee habit. I work from home - but I wander into town around 7.15 after breakfast etc for a take out and come back with a coffee to kick.start work at 8.00.

Besides the staff in the local coffee shop are really nice!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @revisesociology!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.298 which ranks you at #2550 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 9 places in the last three days (old rank 2559).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 290 contributions, your post is ranked at #50.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hi, @revisesociology!

You just got a 0.37% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Congratulations @revisesociology! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 3250 replies. Your next target is to reach 3500 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66569.64
ETH 3235.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31