The Shallows by Nicholas Carr:  How the internet is changing the way think. A summary of chapter 1

in #steempress6 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: The Shallows by Nicholas Carr: How the internet is changing the way think. A summary of chapter 1


I've moved to Hive, along with most other people, following Justin Sun's takeover of Steem in the Spring of 2020. I believe hive is a lot more decentralised than Steem!

Sort:  

Psaw...

Others believe the net has made books superfluous.
Books will never be superfluous! At least not in my house. I'm of the mind that we need to keep the information we treasure the most at hand in print. Maybe it's the homesteader in me, or growing up without reliable internet but I refuse to trust having information online when I need it.

I don't doubt however that I'm not the norm and that many people no longer find the same joy or ability to become engrossed in a book. The fact that people skim and jump around instead of probably reading a text sounds scary but sadly very likely. As someone who has spent hours discussing a single word or period in a sentence, I find it odd.

I agree, I'm pretty sure books are here to stay!

very interesting. I liked your earlier article about strategies on steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73