Why is Trick or Treating in Decline?

in #steempress5 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Why is Trick or Treating in Decline?


I've moved to Hive, along with most other people, following Justin Sun's takeover of Steem in the Spring of 2020. I believe hive is a lot more decentralised than Steem!

Sort:  

There is a second degree danger to stranger danger. In some parts of North America, letting your kids roam the neighbourhood unsupervised may expose them to invervention by law enforcement or busybodies reporting them to CPS. You hear all kinds of stories today. With the proliferation of smart phones, it has become easier than ever for busybodies to report and document any and all suspicious activity on the spot.

I don't know about today's UK, but in most parts of continental Europe, kids walk to school unsupervised from the start. I've been told that would be completely out of the question in most parts of the English-speaking world today.

Yes very fair point - I've heard about that in the US...

I do see the odd few kids going about unsupervised but it's well known that it's much less common to let yr kids go to school on their own these days!

Now I've moved out west however, there are more independent kids here than in the SE for sure.

Posted using Partiko Android

Personally I hate trick or treat. When I was a kid, I just made a turnip into a lantern and sat it outside the door. As an adult, I just stuck a sign on the door saying @ don't bother' knocking.
I just think its such a bizarre thing to do, send your kids onto the streets, knocking on strangers doors, begging!

Let's just say I'm glad I've been living in a flat for the last decade.

When did you grow up? In the 1840s?

Posted using Partiko Android

lol, no im 52 but when I was a kid trick or treat was unheard of apart from on US TV programs

I do think you have something of there with the whole community thing. I mean everyone seems to be locked in their own little scared houses, so actually interacting with each other on Halloween would be kind of weird right? My parents came home from the beach late and there were teenagers hanging about dressed as zombies so they didn't even drive into their driveway and went around to my uncle's place for a wine so they could hang out in solidarity shunning social interaction.

Posted using Partiko Android

That's pretty much what I did!

Teenagers trick or treating... bunch of piss takers. They're probably just hoping for cash.

The under 10s I can forgive!

Posted using Partiko Android

As a future dentist, I think a decline is great cause of the potential cavities!
As a Halloween baby, I’m torn because candy, parties, and presents make Halloween the best holiday lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

If you're a dentist, shouldn't you consider the decline in a reduction in business ? lol
Eat sweets kids, my salary depends on it !!

That would be unethical haha not too concerned with money cause Steem will probably cover everything by the time I graduate lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

Well good luck with your studies fella :-)

Isn't it all about teeth whitening these days anyway...? So you'll be doing less cavaties but more bleaching.

Then in 30 yrs time dealing with the negative long term consequences of teeth whitening that we haven't yet realised.

Or just driving around in yr steembo.

Posted using Partiko Android

Honestly, I think parents just don't like it. It is so much easier and more convenient to take the kids to a party or to the mall to "trick or treat", to a trunk or treat event, etc. In our area it is usually freezing cold on Halloween, so walking around for a couple of hours at night has not always been my favorite activity as a parent.

Posted using Partiko Android

Fair play! I guess that's individualization working in parents' favour.

Posted using Partiko Android

I fall into the paranoid parent after saying no one year. To be fair, the area I lived was very likely not conducive to good treat hunting.

Not the same as it was when I were a lad!

More conducive to getting knifed maybe?

Something like that :/

People that have got a bigger trick up their sleeve!

That sounds very sinister.

I got into monsters btw. Completed the ten missions with the death squad and got a Legendary and a Rare in my booster pack.

Is the only way I can level up by buying (or otherwise attaining) more cards.... I was under the impression that entering them for battles would up their experience, but it doesn't seem to?

I think I might be stuck in the bottom ranks perpetually.

Seems right now, there is no leveling up the cards when we win battles, I read that there will be tournaments soon and those will allow us to level up the cards by gaining XP when we win battles.

Right now, it's just like buying new cards and level up.

Also, if you are open to attend the giveaways, you can try your luck as there are many giveaways being conducted everyday.

See you in battles :)

OK. Thanks for the clarification.

By the giveaways do you mean the posts where you can win by commenting? If so I just got into those.

Do you know if there's an exchange or a discord channel where we can do swaps?

Seems preferable to spending hard earned steem on the market!

As to the battles it might take me a couple of weeks to catch up, but I'll get there!

Posted using Partiko Android

I see a channel on Steem Monsters official Discord
with link: https://discord.gg/mJGXRby

There are few other communities like Contest Kings and Lion's Den which allows us to rent the cards for a certain period, I haven't used any of those services, but we can give it a try.

The accounts for above mentioned ones are: @contestkings, @larrythelion.

Hi @revisesociology!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.097 which ranks you at #3302 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 45 places in the last three days (old rank 3347).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 310 contributions, your post is ranked at #35.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations @revisesociology! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 27000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 28000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!
Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82