Breaking Free of Captology: Stepping out of the Box for a Little While

in #steempress5 years ago (edited)

Having quit a ten day silent retreat due to having lost the will to live in over 35 degree Celsius temperatures, I drove away feeling a bit defeated. I’d come to break habits of minds and addictions that had accrued over the year, and had spend weeks psychologically preparing myself for this removal from the world and de-fragging of my brain from all the clutter that had filled it and wore it down. I had lost control and wanted it back. I had become addicted to habits of mind that were no longer serving me, and removing myself from society seemed the best way to go about shattering the chains that bound me.

Pulling the van over to the verge in the crackling heat, I took a deep breath and opened up my phone, doing two things – messaging my loved ones that I was out and on the way home, and deleting every app that was going to suck me into it’s time consuming rabbit hole of addiction. I removed Instagram. I removed Facebook. I removed my emails. More boldly, given the eight months I’d spend daily posting on a platform that promised cryptocurrency as a reward, I removed Steemit, and all associated apps, of which there was quite a folder, from front ends like Steempeak and Partiko, to Dapps like Dtube and Actifit, to data tools like links to Steemworld and a plethora of crypto wallets. All gone.

Now what was I going to do?

Having spent at least 30 hours without my phone and a good few weeks thinking about it, the decision was less hard than it appeared. The dopamine hits had settled down, replaced by a kind of calm. I’d enjoy being alone, I told myself. And at least I’d be beholden to my own life, and my own choices, and my own attention. Perhaps I’d find happiness and fulfilment in being a hermit for ten days, give or take interactions I chose myself and that I knew weren’t devised by a social media monster – hanging with family, for example, without every bleeding thought going to Steemit.

The pleasure chemical hit would be injected by me, when I chose to given my attention to it, rather than being lured in to the point I had little control over it anymore.

Such pleasure chemicals occur in response to social interactions – and motivate us to keep seeking them out. We are further motivated or triggered by friends and followers who encourage us to continue interacting. The more followers we have, the more comments we gain, the more emotional hits are delivered. We begin to spend our lives chasing the upvotes, the follows, the resteems, the likes, the claps – depending on which platform we’re on. Our entire lives become about taking pictures and putting words together to post, which leads to decreased enjoyment about what we’re actually doing in that moment, which leads to stress and unhappiness.

This is no accident. Habit forming technology is a business art form, refined by researchers, psychologists, social thinkers and technologists such as Nils Far, whose book ‘Hooked: How to Form Habit Buying Products’ is aimed at anyone wanting to drive customer engagement. He argues that habit forming companies are successful when they think “I’m bored” and the next thought is “Facebook” or “Twitter” – the first to mind platform wins. By manufacturing desire, rewards and intrigue, the consumer opens doors like ‘a lab animal in a Skinner box’.1

A Skinner box was an experimental box designed by BF Skinner where a rat was given a reward when it pulled a lever. After a while, the rat knew it was going to get the reward, so only pulled it when it was hungry. The reward was then made variable – the rat didn’t know if it would get one, three, or none, and thus began to pull the lever over and over.

The critter was hooked.


image.png
"I did not direct my life. I didn't design it. I never made decisions. Things always came up and made them for me. That's what life is" - B.F.Skinner

This variable schedules of reward, Far argues, multiples the effect of the dopamine surge that comes when the brain expects a reward. This is used in habit forming technologies – think slot machines and lotteries. The hook also asks the user to do some work, increasing the odds that the user will pass through this ‘hook’ phase again. It asks us for an investment of time, data, money, social capital – invite friends, review, state preferences, build assets, use new features. (1)

Consider any given day on your given social media addiction. On mine, Steemit, I never know if someone has commented, upvoted or resteemed me. I check rewards, comment on user’s posts hoping to get more followers and thus upvotes of our own writing in the form of Steem, post articles, check our wallets. The reward is variable to – perhaps a whale comes past and our reward is substantial, perhaps only cents, but both outcomes inevitably cue dopamine release.

And then I awake and the cycle begins again. We have no free will here despite believing we are in an ‘anarchic’ space – Steemit is ruled by the same habit forming super powers that are used by Pinterest, Instagram and any other dominating mainstream app. The interesting thing is that we’re the ones driving it, with little input from those who started the system. We’re virtually begging each other to keep posting to prop up a system that we hope enters a bull market one day again to achieve the fabled 8 dollars again, a time in history that seems like a dream to us. No-one is telling us to do these things – we are triggering ourselves when we’re bored, lonely or any other emotion that calls us to go straight to our platform of choice.

It’s not that this super power isn’t always used for good. Many of us have formed wonderful friendships in the Steemisphere, created powerful affirmations and learnt new skills. Whilst I might refuse Actifit’s insistent message that I haven’t posted about my activity for the day, writing poetry or a good article is just as motivating for me as an upvote. Many of us argue that the financial incentive is not our primary motivator. We do need to understand, however, the mechanics of behaviour engineering to protect ourselves from how we’re being manipulated. We can’t be advocates of free will without realising how little of it we have.

We might believe we’re going on these apps of our own free will and, whilst we’re there, staying on courses of our own design, but we’re magicked into spending more time and investment there without little awareness of how we’re being manipulated. One example I particularly resent is Facebook Messenger, where the person sending the message is able to see that you’ve read it, and thus obligating us to reply to fulfil social contracts. We’re also tied in to viewing sites in particular ways and thus become more likely to be distracted and buy into an experience we didn’t ask for in the first place. How wonderful would it be, for example, to scroll through Facebook marketplace or events separately without landing on the news feed first or being subject to alerts. They give us the illusion it’s a free choice to cancel – ‘if you don’t like it, you can unsubscribe’ - whilst making it difficult to do so.

Tristan Harris, ex product philosopher at Google until he became ethically concerned with where it was going (how can anyone have the power to manipulate someone's psychology, he pondered, and what happened to the Hippocratic oath?), argues that we’re being hijacked by technology whilst being fed the illusion of choice, which we believe empowers us 2. Concerned about how these companies were manipulating people’s psychology without adherence to any Hippocratic oath, Harris argues we need to see the ‘friction required to enact choices’ rather than the availability of choice itself, as well as the consequences of these choices. Would we engage if the button truthfully said ‘Review me and waste half an hour of your time doing so?’ or ‘Log in and check your messages, which at last count was 67 and thus may take you up to 45 minutes’?

Think about a time of late when you have realised you’ve been online for four hours when you only intended to check the weather. Perhaps you’ve gone online to check your bank balance and have spend twenty five minutes moving money around and using mortgage calculators to reading articles on ‘reducing your debt in ten easy steps’ because the periphery of the internet has seen us looking, and knows how to lure us into rabbit holes. Perhaps you’ve checked Instagram because you don’t want to miss out on the magical moment of your son in the snow in Estonia because you’ve willingly fallen into the trap of believing it’s better to see it right then and there in that moment than when he returns. It’s these temptations that are designed to entrap us whilst giving us the illusion of choice.

We are the rats in the Skinner box, looping in flows of triggers and hooks and rewards.It is very, very difficult to get out of the box - we’ve willingly become imprisoned.

Is it worth getting out of the box for a while? Is it necessary? What might be gained by leaving the box? Do we even care? Is this something we contemplate in the rare moments we find ourselves at the threshold of the box and real life?

Behavioural design founding father BJ Fogg anticipated the addictions of this internet age and the tools used by its applications, calling for a new field he dubbed ‘captology’ – Computers as Persuasive Technologies. Whilst the term didn’t quite catch, to me it’s more indicative of how we’re manipulated, rather than wholly empowered, by new technologies.

And being captive, we need to figure out how to be freed.

Resources and Credits

1 https://medium.com/thrive-global/how-technology-hijacks-peoples-minds-from-a-magician-and-google-s-design-ethicist-56d62ef5edf3

2 https://www.nirandfar.com

3 https://www.1843magazine.com/features/the-scientists-who-make-apps-addictive

 


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://www.riverflowings.com/breaking-free-of-captology-stepping-out-of-the-box-for-a-little-while/

Sort:  

Absolutely spot on, and I so agree. We are being manipulated every moment of every day, on the Internet, on TV and the radio, and through print media. Every moment of every day.

That said, unplugging isn't as hard as we make it out to be. I'm lucky in that I get a regular dose of nature just walking around our place, and I do sometimes leave my phone behind on purpose, just to get away from the electronic noise for a while.

And I hope to do more camping in the near future. Marek and I did a lot of camping in the beginning, because we both grew up camping as kids and love it, and leaving behind the electronics is a big part of "getting away from it all."

Marek has on occasion mentioned that I'm addicted to the Internet, but I remind him that I am after all writing on a regular basis, and a decent amount of the time I'm on my laptop is using it strictly as a word processor, without our wifi even being active. Partly the joys of slow rural Internet, but also a conscious decision to limit the wifi radiation to which I'm exposing myself daily.

In the end, like everything in life, it all comes down to the choices we make, to being responsible for our own decisions and their outcomes, and to being awake and aware enough to recognize the manipulation for what it is, and to resist its encroachment into our lives. This is why I ousted cable TV from my home in 2006, and have zero intention of ever bringing it back.

This was, at the time, part of my decision to be kinder to myself, by limiting my exposure to daily news, which doesn't inform and exists pretty much only to spread fear and stir up the shit.

You wouldn't believe the reduction in my stress level from that one simple act.

Life is good and getting better and better. We need a whole lot less to be happy than others try to convince us that we do, but we can turn them off if we choose to, and simply recognize their offerings as the distractions they are.

Be. Here. Now. ;-)

Oh gosh yes I unplugged from news a few years ago. So did Jamie. He kept shouting at telly about what was happening in the Middle East and it was really stressing him out. I explained there was nothing he could do about it and it was going to happen whether we want to the news or not. He was definitely a lot happier when he stopped paying so much attention to it.

I've been writing articles without the Wi-Fi as well and I don't know why I didn't do it before. It's far less distracting lol. It's all just about time management really and being very attentive about where your attention goes. Jamie certainly happy that I'm not as distracted and I tend to put it away when he walks in the room now or set myself an hour limit.

Posted using Partiko Android

I actually did that night before I read this . . . wrote my post while offline. There's a lot to be said for it.

And I can relate to Jamie's plight. I had the same issue, as every time I heard GWB's voice on the TV I wanted to throw something at it, and I could feel my hackles raise.

I've been far less stressed since giving up cable. Now it's films from Netflix and concert videos . . . much more relaxing. ;-)

This is such a wonderful piece and important topic. I was spending far too much time on steem related activities but I've recognized it and corrected my behavoirs.

I tend to refer to cell phones as digital leashes. For a time I had TWO and one had to be with me at all times, on vacations, because that's how we rolled at our company. Always accessible.

Ipads and other portable devices are just as bad. We have people come here for the off-grid experience for a day or two and the first thing they do is ask for outlets to charge their phones and tablets and our wifi password. Then they'll start reading and telling us all about what is happening at home - where they aren't. Isn't this slightly insane?

I haven't had a cell phone for over a year now. I missed it at first but now I appreciate the luxury of not having one. I actually feel better off 99% of the time.

Well... I can't say that I don't enjoy Steem.. I really do. It's my naughty secret, among many others.

Naughty? you may ask... "How could Steem be naughty?" Well lemme show you.

Absolutely every single one of those arguments were aimed at the internet and repeated ad-nauseam back during the 90's. The major media of the time were shit-terrified of such a disruptive technology, and did everything they could to crush people enthusiasm for it. And now, the "Free" internet services, which are anything but, are shit-terrified of people owning themselves online. Even governments are scared, because if self-ownership becomes a thing in a virtual space, how long before people start agitating for it in on the ground?

I've been researching this heavily within certain occult (e.g. concealed) subcultures lately, that are all, in their own way, incarnating the subtle art of IDGAF. For me, Steem is part of that research. Steem reminds me of what the net used to be, prior to the fetters of social media. I have never considered it to be source of financial freedom, for I consider such to be a pipe-dream. When I want money, I'll get a damned job...

And I'm getting one, because I want an RV for me and my fur-baby... and I'll kill debt, and I'll save plenty, and I will have many experiences that others beat themselves black-and-blue to get, all while laughing and playing my harmonica, gathering more strength and Learning. I found the cheat-code for Life. It's been here all along...

And it is every bit as forbidden and demonized as you would expect. Society cannot abide Freedom.

But as Aunt Lili says: FAIR IS FAIR. I'm so grateful...

And yes.. I'll be posting it here, because why not?

Sure. Agreed. But I totally think that all of these technologies are designed to steal our attention, otherwise what's the point of them? They wouldn't exist if people didn't pay attention to them.

I loved the internet about ten years ago. Now I don't so much. As you said, Steemit gave me mojo back. But still, it hasn't replaced the internet for me. And that's not even the point - the point is that there's no subsitute for real life, and this stuff affects your brain. Whether it's dapps or something else, we're all enslaved to something.

Lol. Well yeah, the internet is certainly not a substitute for real life. In the winter though, it'll have to do. Do you have any hobbies?

Posted using Partiko Android

He he.. hobbies?? Seems such an old fashioned word.

Hobbies include surfing, yoga, gardening, pinhole photos (well... the desire is there) and Steemit.

Posted using Partiko Android

Well... I suppose those might be considered hobbies.. But I meant something you could sit and do in the air-conditioning, listening to a podcast and generally just chillin' with a nice buzz. <3

Nope. I don't even understand the word hobby, clearly. Is that like knitting? 🙄

Posted using Partiko Android

But when is attention enslavement, and when is it choice? Is it always choice, to enslave the self? As humans we do it constantly. Whether we have awareness of it or not, we are taking part in the bigger picture with our attention... And our intention.
This was such a great article. I love what happens when we plug in to the real world.

Posted using Partiko Android

Society cannot abide freedom, well said that.
What a world to build for self, that of freedom. Can't wait to hear more about it, whilst we build our own. 😊 Thanks for sharing.

Xx ToL

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh how bold!
I feel those dopamine rushes here on Steemit too, and I love the fact that it got me writing again (plus the wonderful people I was meeting and cherishing) but I was starting to see that I was spending a heck of a lot of time on it (luckily I'm not connected to a smart phone so I have to actually sit down at my computer.)

It's continually a balancing act between my time spent on the internet, including the STEEM blockchain, and what I call real life, relating to my friends and family, taking care in the householders life, plus spending the time developing my meditation practice.

It's scary how manipulative things are in Cyberspace and I try to be aware of this. Also knowing what I value, where I want to spend my time makes it so I'm not being sucked into someone else's agenda for me to easily.

What's working for me is to schedule what I will be doing for the day and work in aprox. 2 hour chunks with a short break every hour or so.
It takes discipline but I like when I can look back and see what I have been doing with my time and that...
Hey! my world didn't stop just because I missed doing a post today or replying or what ever.
I give myself permission to get done what I get done, no pressure or stress about it. That seems to make it more enjoyable too.

The main thing is to keep focused and not pulled away by all those distraction. It's not easy but it's well worth it.

Thanks for this - getting us out of the box!

Absolutely!!! Being organised and firm with boundaries helps for sure!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Well that's thoroughly depressing. 😂

I quit Facebook and other social media and replaced it with steem. Idk if I have a problem with that though, as it's a better place here than there. Though that idea of wilful addiction is kinda shitty.

I need my phone always so it tracks my actifit steps so I can post. And for the camera so I can make a post about whatever happened. You deleted crypto wallets?!!? Yeesh, I've got half a dozen that I don't think I've ever used and can't bring myself to delete them because they may come in handy.

See, all these things popped into my head when we talked about vipassana in NM. It's like a total detox from all the things all at once. That's really scary to me.

Oh no I'm just bringing a big downer to everyone it seems. Sorry.

Yeah but only deleted from phone..!!!! And just for a week. Steemit is way better than anywhere for sure, but when you find yourself thinking about it every waking minute you aren't truly living, which worries me personally. One day of vip was enough for me to reassess how and when I use this platform.. in a healthier way than I was using it before. Xxx

Posted using Partiko Android

No apologies needed, I was joking about the depressing bit. Gonna take more than that to depress Nate ;)

So glad you've been able to reassess things! And it sounds like balance is being put back in a healthy way.

Congratulations @riverflows! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 55000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Quite a read, a bit depressing though.

Nonetheless, on a brighter light, i wanted to express my gratitude for the help you provided during the ''Santa Venezuela'' Initiative, you made a difference for us. Thank you for your support.

Sorry to depress you!!! It's all good with balance and awareness. Xxx

Absolute pleasure to help! You are very welcome Xxxx

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @riverflows!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.578 which ranks you at #1786 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 31 places in the last three days (old rank 1817).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 199 contributions, your post is ranked at #41.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Thank you for this post - it describes my behavior on steem to a T and I am now trying to correct that.

My first thought was "yikes! trapped again! I gotta get outta here!" And then I remembered the connections I have made on steem that have truly enriched my life, yours included and, in the "enrichment" category, especially. Unexpected involvement in the writers community, help from the natural medicine community, inspiration from the homesteader community. There is so much good here!

The question is, what can we do about the addictive qualities of being a steem goer? So far just having it brought to my attention has helped greatly. No more posting every day, no more obsession with my "value", more taking the time to go back and read and comment on earlier posts from intriguing people.

So again, thank you for telling us your thoughts on this matter.

Your reassessment is EXACTLY mine. We CAN give it attention.. just in a healthier way.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00