Can You Make Black Garlic in A Rice Cooker?

in #steempress5 years ago (edited)

I absolutely LOVE a life hack. If you've got a way to make something that's expensive to buy, you get something that's more authentic, often better for you, and cheaper. Black garlic is one of those gourmet ingredients that costs a small fortune to buy - around three to five times the price of ordinary garlic. So when I heard you could make black garlic in a rice cooker, I jumped on the idea. In fact, you can see my thought processes in a previous article which you can read here.


How easy is it to make black garlic in a rice cooker? Does it work?

Buying a cheap rice cooker from K-Mart, I stuffed it with the 7 cups worth of garlic bulbs that I could fit in there, and plugged it in - in my husband's shed, much to his consternation. 'Don't worry honey,' I reassured him. 'It will only smell like garlic for 3 weeks'.

Three weeks later, the garlic wasn't ready. It wasn't anywhere near black! Yet, like Macbeth wading through his blood, I was too steeped in this black garlic project to return. 'Don't worry, honey,' I reassured the husband, who by now was mentally tallying up the electricity bill, 'only another week, I reckon'.

Today was the eight week mark. I decided to cut my losses, bringing it inside for assessment. I had suspected this might be the case, but I had ignored my instincts which said the garlic at the bottom might be done, which turned out to be true - the cloves at the bottom were hard as a rock - like drop them in a bowl and they clinked like gold nuggets in a prospecting pan in heaven. Break your teeth hard. The others were more chewy.

The Malliard reaction, the process that turns garlic black or foods brown (think caramelised onions) is a form of non-enzymatic browning which typically starts from around 140 to 165 °C (280 to 330 °F). Was my rice cooker not warm enough, or was there not a tight enough seal on it? I don't know. But I was sure a little miffed that the garlic didn't turn gothic black. The taste was there though - a kind of mushroomy, burnt caramel taste. Some describe it it as sweet like tamarind or containing hints of balsamic vinegar. It's a very earthy, umami flavour. I'd almost describe it as truffle-like - it's very distinctive.


Now what?

Out with the spice grinder (our coffee grinder) then, resulting in a black garlic dust which is intensely flavoured and I'm guessing will be amazing sprinkled on risotto, in Asian broths, on creamy pastas or just about anything. The rest I have made into a paste with vinegar and salt to preserve it a little, and I imagine it will be wonderful in all kinds of dishes too.

The health benefits of black garlic are said to be even more than ordinary garlic, and the bonus is that my husband can eat it as it changes the fructose in it, meaning he can tolerate it on his FODMAP diet. Some benefits are outlined below:

  • yeast-fermented black garlic exhibited much better bioactivity against syndromes such as obesity, hyperlipidemia, nephropathy, and hepatopathy1
  • improves gastrointenstinal function 2
  • has increased antioxidant effects3
  • may have anti-cancer actions 4
  • Helps lower cholesterol and may help diabetics
Would I do it again? No. I dread to think how much electricity we wasted. I'd like to know about some other methods first, and find out whether it was just the brand of rice cooker I used or whether there are other factors to consider.

Perhaps we might try a more traditional method instead - it will be an interesting experiment again, if nothing else! You can also use a fermenting box, which is said to only take a week.

Have you tasted black garlic?

Have you ever made it?


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://www.riverflowings.com/?p=393



B2235A50C31CD126067343B513524EE62.gif

@naturalmedicine II Discord Invite II #naturalmedicine


Website | @homesteaderscoop | Discord Community

image.png


MindfulLife.gif
Discord About

image.png

Sort:  

I'll have to try this - I love black garlic indeed

Oooh, what do you make with it? It's a real discovery for me. It's so deliciousness!

Ahh! Exceptional work! you just need to create such kind of more posts minimum 4 a day to build strong active community and get more positive response and reputation on steemit....

Are you serious??

Posted using Partiko Android

wow 8 weeks, I don't think I could have let it go that long. It is so bloody expensive though so I guess it is worth a try xxx

oh darn! I really wanted this to work I was totally set to try it. I guess the old fashioned bury it in the ground method might have to be explored.

I really think it's worth a go, I'm just not sure my rice cooker was up for it - it was a cheap one. I mean, you look on Amazon:

https://www.amazon.com/NEX-HT-KF20-black-Garlic-Fermenter/dp/B014M19I4Q

and they have fermenters that are specifically for black garlic! I just wonder if it wasn't the right temperature. though mine didn't go totally black, it did go through the malliard reaction and is delish to taste. Doiing more research, and would love to know what you know about the bury in the ground method - it's meant to stay at a specific temperature, so unless the ground is at the right temp, I'm not sure how that would work. One guy said he kept it at the bottom of his Aga - an 'accidental' discovery. I wonder if the bottom of my wood oven gets too hot or whether it's worth a shot. Problem is, it's not on all the time.

I remember you writing about this a while ago. Do you think you put too many in there so the heat couldn't circulate around enough? Just guessing.....

Possibly!!! I do think I could have rotated them too.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @riverflows! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 24000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 25000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11