I Like My Tempeh Like I Like My Men

in #steempress5 years ago (edited)

20181213_185140.jpg

With the man away I can cook what I really love to eat without worrying about food intolerance. I'm not that keen on elaborate meals on my own.. something quick and easy is my thing.


I'm a huge fan of tempeh... one of my favourite breakfasts in the world is fried tempeh with tomatoes, some cummin and chilli, maybe sriracha and a splash of tamari (that's an awesome tofu brekky, by the way).

And I like one pot meals - especially when I'm on my own. I don't generally eat a lot of noodles or pasta, but every now and then I get cravings for noodles - except I'd run out. The eggplant in this dish mimics the softness of the noodles and satisfied this craving. The sweet corn is almost char grilled which adds another flavour. I do it all in a really big frying pan so I kinda fry them separately then bring them together at the end, if that makes sense.

20181213_185127.jpg

I'm not sure a conventional recipe works here as I didn't follow one myself - I really follow my intuition on most of my cooking (um, all). In the big frying pan I sauteed eggplant on one side of the pan until tender, adding spring onions about half way through as well as some coriander stalks. On the other, with less oil, I fried the corn (you could dry fry it separately for a more smoky taste, or shaved barbecued corn would be brilliant). The tempeh fried in the third section of the pan with a splash of tamari. I then tossed all the corn and eggplant together with some fresh chilli, thai basil, coriander, and black and white sesame seeds - just very quickly to mix. That's it - serve with tempeh and cucumber for the crunch and the balance with the chilli.

So good!

What's your favourite one pan dinner?


How do you like your tempeh?


What are your noodle alternatives?


Oh, and as for the title? Just a bit of click-bait fun. I like my dinners like I like my men - hot and spicey and a lot closer than the other side of the world.

 



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://www.riverflowings.com/?p=273
Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

One pan dinners are awesome. Last night I simply had seasonal mushrooms & garlic with fresh spinach tossed in & wilted. Over some leftover black rice. Cucumber on the side. 💚 I like tempeh too but soy is on my black list due to the way it blocks zinc absorption. Having our loved ones away creates space for appreciation & experimentation .... I like that. 😊

Perfect. I'm a huge fan of cucumber at the moment ...!!

Posted using Partiko Android

This definitely ranks up there as one of my favorite titles. Love some tempeh! I did a mostly sheet pan meal tonight with roasted tofu, onion, bell pepper and bok choy. Then I made a bit of Jasmine rice to go with. Pretty darn easy, but definitely hit the spot!

Posted using Partiko Android

Yum, that sounds delicious! Mum is experimenting with tofu jerkey in the dryer... I did debate on whether to put this title on it, but then it made me laugh, so I thought why not.... xx

Love our men. But kitchen duty is so much less work and so much more fun without them ;) Your dish looks delish @riverflows! We don't get tempeh here but I enjoy tofu with either a mess of roasted veggies or fresh garden greens. And tamari?! Oh yes. It makes anything boring extra special. My favourite noodle alternative is making raw spagetti with baby marrow/zucchini. It's YUM! With a pesto and cashew cheese I could eat buckets of the stuff!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85