Winter Soup Fest: Black Garlic Moreishness!

in #steempress5 years ago (edited)

My first word, apparently, was 'more'. Whilst the family DELIGHT in re-telling this anecdote as if I was some kind of greedy pig child, I insist I had little choice when my grandfather was shoving food in my face saying: 'More?'. I mean, what else was I meant to say? There's an English word 'moreish', which delightfully means 'you just can't get ENOUGH of that deliciousness' - funnily enough, it's said to be a little word pun on moorish olives, that is, olives from the Moors, because they originated in Mediterranean countries whose cuisine is influenced by Moorish cultures. An olive, therefore, can be both moreish AND moorish.

Speaking of moorish food, we delighted in a Spanish feast with the family last weekend, where I was surprisingly left with half a jar of homemade romanesco sauce, a jar of my sister's homemade pickled olives, three quarters of a bottle of Pedro Ximenez, and half a block of manchego cheese, a hard and parmesan like sheep cheese that originates in Spain. Moorish, and moreish. This was most definitely going to be a feature in whatever soup I made through the week, and my processing of the black garlic I'd made as an experiment (check out the details here) inspired me to make a soup that was so moreish that I'm making - well, more - tonight!

The taste was earthy, sweet and almost mushroomy - I absolutely loved it and of course, wanted more. I would imagine this would be lovely with roasted garlic (which also creates a deliciously creamy flavour.

image.png

Black Garlic & Swede Soup with Manchego

4 large swedes

6 large potatoes

stock to taste

1 tablespoon of black garlic paste (or 4 - 6 black garlic cloves)

Manchego and parsley to top.

Gently fry the black garlic paste, powder or cloves in olive oil to release flavour. Cover the vegetables with boiling stock and simmer until soft. Blend and gently reheat. Serve with manchego and parsley on top.

 




B2235A50C31CD126067343B513524EE62.gif


@naturalmedicine II Discord Invite II #naturalmedicine


Website | @homesteaderscoop | Discord Community
image.png


MindfulLife.gif


Discord 🧘About
image.png

 


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://www.riverflowings.com/?p=400

Sort:  

Sounds simply delicious!

Posted using Partiko Android

It was - so good I made it again this week. And I've been adding that black garlic to a lot of things - gonna run out soon!

I am so glad you shared the recipe - I've been curious about it ever since you showed me the picture. Love your childhood story!! moreish rolls off the tongue so nicely.

It does, doesn't it?

I've actually been using it in all sorts of things - just adds a yummy richness to it. YOu'd love it. Great for vegos to add that other 'meaty' dimension to things.

Looks delicious...feel like more more and moreishhhh👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Ha, yes, triple moreish @steemflow!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @vibesforlife.

Aw, thanks @helpie and @vibesforlife, you are the bestest xxx

Well, even though its summer in here, I would definetely choose eating a soup like this! Soup creams are my favs!

I love the word moreish. This soup looks delicious, I have made a roasted garlic and butter bean soup which was divine, it reminds me of this and you did mention roasted garlic. I think I need to start posting some recipes soon xx xxx

This looks yummie... I have never heard that word swede? Dooh, so cool as I have rutabagas growing first time in many years... Gonna have to try this, when they are ready for harvest. Thanks for sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77