A teacher isn't a teacher- My students feedback on my way of teaching!

in #steempress5 years ago


After months of endless teaching, today I dared to ask my students of their opinion about my pedagogy. It was indeed the need of the hour as I always had this feeling of ' would have been better had I did this and that!'. Thanks in large to my inferiority complex that kept on insisting me upon improving myself all these years.

Before bringing your attention to my students' feedback on my teaching, I would like to mention the ecosystem that existed prior to my arrival(Sadly even now to a large extent!). As a person from Kerala(the southern part of India), I always had this notion that it is a breach and encroachment into their fundamental human right to physically punish the children for their so-called wrongs And I always ran away from the thoughts of regarding the activities of children as any kind of wrong deeds. How can punching and pinching and not doing homework be international crimes? In Kerala, teachers hardly ever punish their students! My heart and soul were completely used to this peaceful system and anything contradicting this notion seemed to me to be alien!

For obvious unavoidable reasons, the relationship between students and teachers had never been pleasant throughout the history of the school that I now work in. Teachers punish the students essentially for not obeying their orders. Orders would range from doing homework to keeping silence in the classroom to any kind of such trivial stuffs. It seemed quite weird to me. Who the hell these teachers are to physically harm these toddlers? It is completely awkward to see parents granting permission to teachers to punish their kids!

Here is where I get into the picture. As a first time teacher, I did my share of research before starting my first lesson! My google and youtube search histories that time filled up with the keyword 'How to become a good teacher?'

I saw a lot of videos and read a lot of articles. Most of them figured out the presence of a comparatively good teacher in me! YES. I had an instinctive hatred for violence. I like silence and piece. I love to be called a calm person. And that's where all my efforts have been centred around all these years though!

My career as a teacher began almost 4 months ago. I am so sure that my peaceful way of teaching must have made many students pinch their own skin to check if it is a dream. I never beat anyone with a stick to this date; even as it is encouraged by parents though! I rarely give any kind of punishment. I consistently leaned towards becoming one among these children because it is through that way that I can become a good teacher. However, I never had to put a lot of efforts towards achieveing that goal because being a child is not a tough task at least in my case!

So a brand new pieceful teacher has become the talk of the town. some said I'm inefficient, most of them being my co-workers. But some others said I am the best. You know whose opinion that was? Yes, My students found in me a teacher who isn't actually a teacher! They found in me someone whome they can approach for any kind of their doubts. I'm grateful..!

Did I forgot to mention that I'm the class teacher of 7th grade? Yes I'm. I am given with the powers to take care of all these 60 kids who are the members of that classroom! The classroom is quite congested as is the school. And as a liberal teacher it is indeed hard to divert everyone's attention towards me while I teach. I hope that the school management will split this big class atleast into two small divisions!

And about the feedback I received... I am leaving one here..

According to the words of an unknown kid-

A teacher is someone who thinks like a kid and acts like an adult


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://sathya-sankar.com/a-teacher-isnt-a-teacher-my-students-feedback-on-my-way-of-teaching/

Sort:  

Sadly, in the north, people think nothing about using kids, punishing them, not educating girl children and so on. You are a boon to them and that is seen from the note written by the young mind. I wish and hope that you go on to become an inspiration to all the other teachers there as well.

The very first instruction I received from my management on the date of my joining was to maintain a distance from these kids for otherwise they would take advantage of me and behave badly! But I never followed them and also I'm the only teacher here who doesn't punish the students! The result is they can approach me for about all kind of their doubts. I try to educate my colleagues of understanding the psychology of children. But these experienced dudes seem nowhere near to heed my words.

An interesting fact is many 7th graders are aged well above the prescribed 12 or 13. Even I could find 14-year-olds studying in 2nd grade! Not getting proper education at proper age is a big problem.

oh dear, I really find it very disturbing. Compared to this, our state is very advanced. I hope they find your methods motivating and follow your steps in teaching. A teacher should be more humane than any other, even the parent. Take care and stay blessed

Now I understand where you went missing for the past few months. Teaching is really a great thing. You will be able to get full satisfaction from teaching. Nice that you have taken that path. Way to go. Cheers!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Indeed the satisfaction I get is inexplicable. To be honest, I enjoy the process of teaching.

About my missing, it was a self-imposed one. My working time is just 5 hours a day so I get enormous free time to spare which for sure I could have used for steemit. However, I figured out that I was really bad at many things. I dedicated my time to improve my skills. Notably, I have properly learned to type in keyboard and now I can type with a speed of nearly 55WPM which was just 8WPM when I tested it a couple months back. Currently learning python alongside preparing for GATE 2019.

Well done satya
Keep it up

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you moghul!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by sathyasankar from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86