Pride in Our Past, Faith in our Future

in #steempress5 years ago (edited)


Back in 1986 when the Legion observed it’s sixtieth anniversary of it’s formation it used the tagline “Pride in Our Past, Faith in Our Future”. It’s a phrase that has always stayed with me. I’ve been a strong believer that in remembering and even understanding our past, we can feel some confidence about facing what is to come.

The tagline was a nostalgic look back on where the Legion had been at a time when membership was beginning to struggle as our WW1, WW2 and Korea veterans died. So why would the Legion look back at that time? Were they trying to cling to the past?

Some might have thought so but it wasn’t the intent. Nostalgia can evoke a very positive sense of well being making it a good marketing tactic. The good feeling about the past can move a person to want to be part of the present.

Traditions are reminders of our past. Carrying them on is one of the foundations of the Legion, it’s brings the past into the present. It reminds us even as things change, they are threads which remain the same, binding the past to the present and the future.

I’ve never thought of myself as a nostalgic person for the most part. When I pay attention to what I talk about, I tend to share stories from the past a lot in conversations. For the most part, I tend to be selective about what I share, they are usually good stories.

So, I guess, while it’s not something I’m really aware of, nostalgia is something I do engage in. Usually those stories are triggered by something in conversation.

There are other triggers for people to slip into nostalgia even if they don’t really think of it as being nostalgic.

Certain foods can trigger you to remember specific events in your life or take you back to a different time in the past. In many ways, traditional foods at holidays are about remembering the past, tying today with yesterday as a continuous thread in our lives.

If I was to try a really well prepared pecan pie, it would likely remind me of the awesome pecan pies my dad used to make. That he would make them in 4” pie plates because I didn’t want to have an 8” pie sitting on my counter summoning me to come and eat it.

For many, music transports them instantly to another time and space. It’s interesting of all the stimuli, it’s music which seems to speak to people who suffer from dementia. The person might not be responsive to someone speaking to them but will respond to music. The sounds will spark an almost involuntary response. Seems there is something almost primal about music.

Certain piano music will remind me of my grandmother’s talent at playing the piano. Her reticence to play for others and the memories of the times I got her to play on the pretence of her showing me something on the piano that I was trying to learn.

The “Flight of the Bumblebee” will instantly remind me of the evening my then 93 year old grandmother sat down at an electronic keyboard, played around for a little bit to get the feel of how it worked and launched into making the keyboard sing with that piece. She had me in shock, it was amazing to listen to.

Even if we’re not aware of it, we’re constantly changing — our ideas, thoughts and even our cells. Nostalgia reminds us of who we have been and who we are now. Who we were and who we are is what moves us forward into the future.

So, have pride in your past and faith in your future. If you think you lack that faith, engage in some nostalgia, celebrate the victories of your past to prepare you for your future.

the ramble

Until Next Time — Just Steem on

If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

I can also be found on Medium; Trybe

Want to @reviewme? Add your comment to this post



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://idesofmay.com/2019/01/07/pride-in-our-past-faith-in-our-future/

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Beautiful post, @shadowspub. I thoroughly enjoyed reading it and now I want some pecan pie. :)

Yes, nostalgia can be triggered by so many things. Music is a strong one for me, as are certain aromas, like lilacs. I am transported back to childhood by that smell. That is so ama I g that your grandmother could play that piece, @shadowspub. I think of the flight of the bumblebees as one of the most challenging and fast paced pieces ever.

Hi, @shadowspub!

You just got a 0.31% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

I also tend to think I just don't engage in nostalgia but as you point out there are things that make us nostalgic whether we "engage" or not, conversation is a great examples as the mind will make those connections quite naturally.

If you think you lack that faith, engage in some nostalgia, celebrate the victories of your past to prepare you for your future. shadowspub - ideasofmay

The closing for me is not just a great quote :) but exactly what I do when I feel I have lost the drive, I gravitate to old movies or something to instil motivation in a sense.

!tipuvote 0.5

This post is supported by $0.24 @tipU upvote funded by @penderis :)
@tipU voting service guide | For investors.

Hi @shadowspub!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.970 which ranks you at #316 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 256 contributions, your post is ranked at #16.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I seriously enjoy reading your publications @shadowspub

Always very refreshing and grabbing my attention :)

ps.
I've been surfing youtube a while ago and I've found one influencer which content I found very valuable and interesting and I figured I can share it with you. Especially if you're planning to be an influencer yourself.

It's 8 min long but first 2 min are enough. Check out this youtube video:

Hope you enjoyed NY Celebrations.

I believe that 2019 will be difficult and challenging. Hope you will go through it without any real difficulties. Hope we can all make it through without many problems.

Obviously upvote on the way :-)

Yours
Piotr

I seriously enjoy reading your publications @shadowspub
Always very refreshing and grabbing my attention :)

Thank you @crypto.piotr, you're very kind. It's always nice to know that my content is at least readable :)

It's 8 min long but first 2 min are enough. Check out this youtube video:

I listened to it all. He has an interesting message. Who is he? Funny, I don't' really consider myself to be an influencer but I have had people refer to me as that. I just sort of do what I do, if some folks find it helpful, I'm happy to help.

I believe that 2019 will be difficult and challenging. Hope you will go through it without any real difficulties. Hope we can all make it through without many problems.

With the health challenges of the last couple of years behind me, I'm looking forward to what 2019 produces. Without challenges of some kind, do we know we're actually living? Hope you enjoy some great challenges this year.

@shadowspub
The current Rambling Radio Schedule can be found here
It's All About Community!

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 367 (01/11/19)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61482.47
ETH 2990.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67