365 Days Later

in #steempress6 years ago (edited)

'It should be any day now'. That words kept popping up in my mind for the past few days now.

And today, @steemitboard just commented one of my posts that I've received a personal award - my 1 year on Steemit.

Happy first anniversary to me!

 

Design by Canva

Yeah, it's about that time.


I've been thinking a while now. As a matter of fact, for the past few months, I'm trying to get some idea of what should I do on my 1st anniversary on Steemit. What can I do to make it extra special for me? It's not that I'm planning to buy myself a cake and blow a candle. Although it is actually not a bad idea at all 😊.

I have few ideas in mind actually. So when the day comes, I knew this is exactly what I should do.

Today, I've decided to do my #selfintroduction for the second time. Or should I say the proper introduction? Haha.

My first introduction kinda sucks - well, that is what it feels like to me. It was done in a rush and honestly, when I did it, I was kinda forced to do it 😂. To sign up as a member of Steemit seems not my 'priority' at that time. The truth is, I don't really see it something I should be involved with. Like they say, seeing is believing.

I was quite active for the first month after I've got my password. Geez, I even remembered my first is about my 'kudow' (eyebrows) 🤣😅. It was so bad, I would ROFL just thinking about it.

Then, I stopped writing for four months (stupid me).

Then there is one fine day I received a wake-up called from @bitrocker2020. I still remembered our conversation that day. He told me that I have around RM3K in my Steemit wallet and I should consider withdrawing it since the market value at that time is high. I drove to work with my mind's trying to process what does he meant. It is too much information for my brain to digest and I don't know if what I've heard is real. Should I believe him? Afterall, that man knows what is Steemit and blockchain all about.

So, when I reached to the office, the first thing I do is to withdraw my SBD through Luno. And the rest is history. It was indeed an early Christmas present to me. I remembered bragging about it to @danieldoughty and keep telling him it was so unreal to me.

It was then I've started to get to know more about Steemit. Try to get involved and attend any meetups I could go.

I was then invited to join the #teammalaysia first gathering which was held in Big Hug Burger, Kuala Lumpur. Using our SBD, @danieldoughty and myself purchased return tickets from Kota Kinabalu (KK), Sabah to Kuala Lumpur.


You can read all about it here.

I don't really consider myself an introvert but I do have an issue (I'm shy, haha) when it comes to mingling around with new people. Fret not, once I feel comfortable, I can assure you that I am not that'shy' 😝.


In February this year, we had our very first Steemit masterclass held in KK and TeamMalaysia Sabah first outing to Beringgis Fireflies Cruise.


Who knew within two months I can actually participate in meetups like this? And within that two months, I've been sharing my experience on Steemit and it is safe to say that I am addicted to it. It is like Steemit is my 'religion' and I've been preaching about it to every person I knew.

And now, I've attended countless meetups and involved with Steemit community project in my area.

I say it is pretty awesome to have done something and giving back to the community.



My friends in Steemit, please allow me to introduce myself again.

My name is Cornelia, or you can call me Connie. I am from the island of Borneo, Sabah to be exact. I've never done blogs before I knew about Steemit. Never in my wildest dream that I would end up being a blogger.

And here I am 😊.

I used to be heavily involved in the tourism industry, from cruise liners to diving companies. It was fun and challenging. Those kinds of days are gone now for me especially since @danieldoughty and I got little @matthewdoughty in our life.

The challenges for the tourism industry is the kind of working hour it demands, it is pretty tough if you are building a family. With Steemit, I feel like I am now my own boss. Yes, the income out of blogging is not as great as what I am getting in the tourism industry, especially now since the price of Steem is so low, but it is good enough to get me things I want and most importantly the time I have in spending priceless moment seeing little @matthewdoughty grow.

Perhaps I will get back to the industry again someday, but for now, I am happy being the Minister of Home Affairs and unofficially a PA to @danieldoughty. LOL.

I love cats and dogs, and recently I am pretty active in homesteading. I finally understand that joy of seeing the fruits of your labor in growing your own veggies and fruit trees. It is truly rewarding.

I am now passionate about educating others about Ssteemit and enjoy being part of a growing community we have here in TeamMalaysia Sabah. Having Steemit in my life, gives me some sense of community, independence, empowerment and personal growth, something that is worthy to be shared with others that I think needs it.

 


The Steemit Family - myself with @danieldoughty and the cheeky boy, @matthewdoughty 😁

 

 


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://viverridae.vornix.blog/365-days-later/

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @viverridae! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Welcome to Steem, @viverridae!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3200 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.19 : Updated Boost Button - Collaboration announcement - Earn more with SteemPlus points.

Congratulation @viverridae on your 1st year in Steemit 👏

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Wow. Another great year. Happy anniversary. We should do a anniversary Meetup with all steemians

Posted using Partiko Android

That is not a bad idea @bboyady. I know few of us will be celebrating our 1st anniversary this month. I think @veenang’s anniversary is the same with us 😁. Wouldn’t that be awesome?

Yes. It should be awesome and off course others that haven't reach also join to make it more happening. Haha

Posted using Partiko Android

Nah, since we’re having a meetup next week, why don’t we take this as an opportunity to celebrate? A cake perhaps? Hahaha

Haha.. good idea oh..

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77