Defining Terms | #spwi Episode 2

in #steemprowrestling5 years ago (edited)

As I move forward with the Steem Pro Wrestling Initiative, I will have to deal with some issues I currently have. It's ok, because I knew this would happen and actually I am glad that this will open up the dialog for how Steem handles alleged ID theft, spammers, and plagiarists. I truly do support the efforts that exist to stop fraud on the Steem chain. However, what I am doing is a great use case to show that some of the methods used are not exactly fair. I also believe that many people on Steem, who are good people, who are actually trying to help grow the Steem community and network, have hurdles that need to be corrected in order for us to grow. This may require some technical development in the future that can ensure that fan accounts, created for the purpose of attracting more users to the blockchain, can exist in a way that cannot be abused. And maybe this will never happen, or maybe this can lead to change. We will see. For now though, I am being slandered by @cheetah and labeled as "likely as a known plagiarist, spammer or ID thief."

At least they used the word "likely."

First, lets define some terms that are used by @cheetah, who have blacklisted my @jiujitsu account, despite the fact that I do not spam, plagiarize, nor have I stolen anyone's identity.

Plagiarist or Plagiarism


Dictionary.com

Spammer


Google

ID thief or Identity Theft


Wikipedia

Now that the terms have been defined...

So, it's obvious I'm not a spammer.

I guess there could be some argument from some that using a fan account to post content that is not your could be considered plagiarism. Based on the definition, it's not. I have never used @jiujitsu to post content that I claim to be my creation when it is not. I have created fan accounts, and while those accounts are not posting with permission from the content creator, I am actively attempting to reach the content creators so that I can give them control of the account, assist them, and educate them on Steem. Since I am not posting their content, and passing it off as my own, it's clearly not plagiarism.

Now, let's look at ID thief, because according to Wikipedia, identity theft is "Identity theft is the deliberate use of someone else's identity, usually as a method to gain a financial advantage or obtain credit and other benefits in the other person's name, and perhaps to the other person's disadvantage or loss."

We also know that ID thief is the intended slander from @cheetah and @steemcleaner, because of how the content posted from the fan accounts were flagged.

Also, be aware that you do not see posts from my @jiujitsu account specifically that have been flagged by @cheetah, or @steemcleaner. I think I have only ever been tagged by @cheetah once in the past for posting content from Eli Knight, which I had permission to post to @jiujitsu from him. Now, @cheetah doesn't know that, so I kindly removed the content, discussed that issue with Eli Knight, and he has his own account @knightbjj that his content is posted to. And, it was verified by @cheetah because Eli Knight had to prove he wanted the content posted on Steem by including the word Steem or Steemit on the actual YouTube post. But, other than that one instance, I do not have a history of plagiarism, spamming, or identity theft. They are posting the warning to my @jiujitsu account, based on the content posted to the fan accounts.

So, now that it is established that the accusation is identity theft, let's take a look and see if in fact it is actual identity theft.

Here are the facts:

1. The description of the account clearly states that this is a fan account.
2. The description of the account clearly states that there is no intended financial gain, and that "no Steem/SBD will be cashed out."
3. The description of the account clearly states that the fan account will be handed over to the content creator when requested.
4. The description of the account clearly states the intention is to "showcase Steemit to Pro Wrestling."
5. Every post from the fan accounts states the above, and asks Steemians to assist in reaching out to the content creators to make them aware of the fan accounts, and also provides links to their social media, and in some cases to emails that I have used to attempt to reach the content creators.
6. I have been very transparent by including my @jiujitsu account, and the [email protected]. I could have easily avoided this slander from @cheetah and @steemcleaner by creating the fan accounts, and excluding my identity or email. However, in good faith, I included these because I am not committing identity theft, or profiting from these accounts.
7. If you examine the transactions for the fan accounts, you will see that I have not transferred or cashed out any Steem or SBD. I have paid to create these accounts with my own Steem, free of charge to the content creators when they claim them. In many cases, I have transferred up to 25 Steem to these accounts, and powered it up. The content creators will keep this Steem/SBD/SP free of charge when they create the accounts. I could have easily just designated SP. However, I am committed to attracting the pro wrestling community to Steem, and I am personally investing in them by giving them free accounts, and free Steem/SBD/SP.
8. I am actively creating other accounts to curate pro wrestling content in the future, as well as set up a steem based pro wrestler support fund to assist pro wrestlers in need, as well as showcasing @steempeak's ability to pay beneficiaries, which can be a useful tool in pro wrestling due to the crossover between promotions, wrestlers, talent, sponsors, etc. I am creating a pro wrestling ecosystem of fan accounts, and creating the examples I can use when I actually have a chance to discuss. It's very difficult to explain much about Steem, blockchain, and the great tools that it provides. This job of attracting the users to the Steem blockchain are likely to be more successful with examples of the tools at work, and the ability to hand over already created accounts and passwords to the content creator.
9. I'm already in contact with some of the content creators and am close to setting up a discussion with one of them. I am certain that my method of creating the account beforehand, posting some of their content from YouTube, and showing how pay beneficiary works, will be beneficial in my attempts to explain and recruit these content creators to the Steem blockchain.
10. If we can bring the pro wrestling industry to Steem, the pro wrestling community will follow. This community consists of many content creators and fans, who will also be very likely to have interests outside of pro wrestling. This isn't to just grow pro wrestling on Steem, this is to grow userbase as a while, for virtually every topic and tag on Steem. The pro wrestling demographic is very large, worldwide, with every age and gender. This is just one way of attracting new users. I know it may not be conventional, and even accepted at this point, but this will work. This method can be applied to many other user bases outside of Steem. If you want the user base to grow, we need to attract mainstream content that people already consume on mainstream social media.

The people who care about blockchain and digital currency are already here. Now it's time to attract everyone else, and honestly, we as a community really suck at this. People think that we need more users to have better content. It's the opposite, we need to attract better content, to attract more users.

I hope that this has been informative. I also want to hear your opinions on #spwi, and fan accounts. Please keep the conversation positive. We need to discuss solutions, not name calling and trolling that we have seen recently on hot button issues. I think we are smart enough as a community to figure out these ideas. Even if you disagree with me, you can tell me in a respectful manner how I am wrong, and why I suck lol. I'm also interested in hearing how we can create and use fan accounts in an accepted, responsible way, that can also ensure that we are not abusing and profiting from these accounts. There are probably many ideas out there, or that may be thought of, just by discussing this.

Earn $25 worth of bitcoin for each person you refer to the Coinbase killer Voyager. Check it out by clicking my referral link now!

Want to wager some of you Steem/SBD? Check out this awesome dice game from @magicdice by clicking my referral link today! Please play responsibly.

Attention - I support Steem through my delegations!
1000 SP - @vimm - Live streaming on Steem! Earn Steem rewards!
1000 SP - @partiko - Best mobile app on Steem! Earn Partiko Points!
1000 SP - @combatsports - Combat Sports curation!
Show some love and support these great Steemians by delegating via the Steemit SP Delegation Tool.

Sort:  

Ah man that sucks. I suppose someone can misunderstand the situation and think they are being responsible, then never really check to see that it is the case.

I have seen people just start sharing articles using busy or other apps and commenting in the post that it is being done to show an organization on the blockchain. Then Donating the rewards to that organization when they decide to join.

You are definitely not a spammer. Can you get off the blacklist by joining a discord channel or something?

Interesting approach. Are you appealing to cheetah on discord?

It comes to mind that there is nothing but your word and your honor to hold you to your plan to take no rewards and to someday transfer the account to the content originator. I believe you mean it, but what is to stop someone else from claiming they are just holding the place for some big potential account, and then making off with the rewards?

Posted using Partiko Android

Not yet. I plan to appeal once I have my first conversion. When I have my first promotion or wrestler here on Steem wanting to take control of their account, I will most likely appeal then. And yes, it’s true there is risk, but if I were going to do that, I would not have included my main account, or email. I’m sure there could be a technical solution with the multi sig feature where multiple people can control these accounts to ensure that myself, or anyone else cannot keep any earned revenue. I think using a technical solution to control the aspect of trust is the best way to handle fan accounts. Maybe there should be overdone from @cheetah or @steemcleaner where they are included in that multi sig. But to label me an identity thief and slander my name and my main account, after I have been very transparent, is not an acceptable solution. And, I knew going into this, that this could be an issue. But it is important to discuss the possibilities of making it easy to attract new users who have presence in mainstream social media, by using pre-made fan accounts with donated SP, or at minimum, designated SP. Stop trying to talk non-blockchain nerds into signing up for an account when on boarding still needs improvement. It’s still not very easy for many people to sign up, although it’s improving. Most people do not have the patience to wait or learn. You have to make it easy for them. Make it so easy they will want to try it. Put control mechanisms and governance in place to be sure the accounts are not abused, or used for profit. Show the mainstream content creators and popular companies the benefits and possibilities by putting their content on the blockchain and marketing the accounts to them. Actions speak louder than words. Live accounts to use as a reference when explaining something as complex as Steem can go a long way in winning them over to try it out. SP in the account to give them the proper bandwidth to post, and earn curation, and upvote their talent, employees, fans, and communities will be necessary. This is more than just pro wrestling on Steem, it could be anything popular. I did this to prove a point about the flaws of how we manage these issues, and about the value of this type of marketing. If I can convert 2-3 wrestlers and promotions and they bring a % of their fan base to Steem, the whole wrestling community could catch fire and bring in a whole new user base to this blockchain. But it will not work in the current state of Steem. There needs to be a shift in the mindset, attitude, and processes we currently see. I’m risking my level 62 account which could stay on the black list permanently for my alleged identity theft. Anyone can look at the accounts and see it’s not identity theft. I’m not pretending to be the content creator, lying to the community, or trying to withdraw any revenue the accounts make. I’m trying to attract potential growth of users and offering to manage these accounts in an acceptable way.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeah, I see your point I have also heard there's a problem with people getting dinged when they migrate their blogs from tumblr - for plagiarizing their own work.

People always find ways to exploit, so I'm glad there are some defenses - but it might be nice to have a process before flagging and labelling someone an (alleged) identity theif.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, no system is perfect. They have processes. Some are good, and some suck. In my case it sucks. They look at what I’ve done with other accounts and make a slanderous claim, despite my transparency and proof. It’s ok, I knew it was coming. Eventually, the payoff will be these accounts owned and ran by the content creators, and hopefully the flags and black list cleared. Although I doubt the blacklist will be cleared. We will see.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05