A disqualified illustration

in #steemshorts6 years ago (edited)


Yesterday I made an illustration for the Adsactly shortstory competition, but there were rules that I hadn't checked. When you win the competition you will have to wait for two turn before you can participate again... So now you will instead have to see the illustration here and then you can go read the story, written by three different authors here:

ADSactly Contest - SteemShort #7 - Post 4: Request for an Illustration and the Title of the Story

To all the pictorial artists out there: go make a proposal, the prize is always good and the story is quite stylish this time. It has that cynical old pulp fiction feel. But hurry you only have a day or two (remember to read the rules :)

Here is my illustration.


"When Magnus came out to the porch in black overalls with dishevelled grey hair, all their doubts were cleared."

Sort:  

Rulebreaker! It's still a great drawing, though. There's one thing that distracts me slightly and that is that the young man looks a bit like Finn.

BTW I came across this photo, published in the book The Celts by Frank Delaney, of two relatively recent Celts living in poverty on the edges of Europe, more specifically two crofters on Skye grinding corn:

It struck me and somehow also reminded me of your drawings.

I gave him the ligne clair look, so yes he does look like Finn/Suske. The story is a real pulp drama. The old man is supposedly their real father of these two adopted children - later it is revealed that he is not.

I have been to Skye and I am fascinated by old and cold cultures. It feels nice and homely.

I gave him the ligne clair look, so yes he does look like Finn/Suske.

That is your best non sequitur I have read so far! Heehee, just teasing.

Nobody ever understands me.

Ow 8-(. Well, I try to, that's something, no?

;) better than nothing.

I have trouble following rules too. Especially if the terms and conditions go on for longer than a paragraph.

I love this illustration, though. It's full of character and charm.

Guess, it always come back and bite you. Rules have this inner logic thing.

And thanks.

Congratulations! This post has been awarded the roused boomerang award for breaking the rules ;-)

PS Love the drawing!

I'll take all the awards I can get my hands on. The boomerang sounds great.

The boomerang award has become a @tipu award, they are very similar ;-)

OOOh. It is even some kind of monetary thing. Just goes to show how much I understand - I just thought it was a cool award name and the honour!

There are days I feel like the old guy.

I see you are a true professional artist. Such as you are not so much here. I'm glad I found your blog. I will follow your creativity. Thank you @katharsisdrill!

P.s. Your name is Phil?

NO, it's Katharsisdrill. The hero in my comic is named Phill. You can see it here: Phill from GCHQ

Thank you for answer. I understand you.
p.s. My name is Phil :)

Hello Phil :) I do have a name apart from the pseudonym, but I keep that secret.

Hello katharsisdrill!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

Man I wish I had a meme to show you how happy this made me

Great post. It doesn't seem like you are getting the likes it deserves though. Have you checked out the upvote communities? You should check out steemengine. or steemfollower.com.

This post received 1.81 SBD upvote from @tipU funded by @roused | @katharsisdrill now has a chance to win free @steembasicincome share :) | @tipU voting service quick guide.

This post received 1.82 SBD upvote from @tipU funded by @roused | @katharsisdrill now has a chance to win free @steembasicincome share :) | @tipU voting service quick guide.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 66739.07
ETH 3228.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23