BB613 Post revisited: Silver purchase.. I think it's time.. the itch is back!

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

https://steemit.com/money/@bearbear613/silver-purchase-i-think-it-s-time-the-itch-is-back-2017517t134012912z

What a blast from the past. Has any Steemian ever wondered what their activity was when they were first a total N00B? I do, and that's why I'm going to start choosing some posts of mine that were completely ignored by the rest of the Steemian population. I see things I would rather have not posted because I didn't understand that the block-chain records everything.... FOREVER ;)

First off, my rep was (25) and Steem Power of not even 0.01 cents USD for a 100% upvote.

Well it's pretty incredible what one year can do. It's pretty amazing what I have been able to accomplish without knowing anyone or anything. I didn't know how to use tags or even the communities to post too. This post for instance should have been in the #steemsilvergold community. I made a whole 0.06 cents on this post and for a beginner that was kind of exciting!

Kinda weird being able to upvote that amount by multiples of 5 but to be fair this was before the pre-hardfork 19!

Anyways I'm going to enjoy this blast from the past and perhaps start earning proper rewards for things I worked hard for.

"I began investing in phyz but in 2013 stopped as I believe it was SLAMMED.

I also stupidly bought in when it was hovering $50 CA

Well.. for whatever reason I'm getting the itch..

Time to jump back in? Or hold off and concentrate on crypto!?

Either way.. I win with steem :)

Please upvote as it's my first week and I have been working hard on getting followers and of course those upvotes.

I'll follow you if you follow me. I'll upvote too :) LOTS"

What a N00B I was. Just a sample of what I'm going to start doing. It's all going to be original, and it's kinda exciting to see old steemians I have connections with for over a year now. I noticed @drpuffnstuff made a comment and I never responded. - LOL

His question was:

drpuffnstuff:

"Ya, the thing I wonder most about silver is why it is so far below its historical ratio with gold. And if it will eventually go back up and even out. or if the ratio is forever lower now? Do you know anything about that by chance?"

I never responded because.. I WAS A N00B and didn't bother to check the replies tab.

My personal opinion on your comment is that silver has many industrial uses. The ratios are way out of wack because the paper contracts (like gold) have artificially kept the metal low in order to build our iPHONES and electronics which heavily depend on silver. The world does not like sound money or the idea of FINITE assets where precious metals need to be dug up.

If there are 100 pieces of paper for every physical ounce then prices can become lower due to fake statistics. Whenever there is more of something prices can be kept low. You probably already knew this, but I thought it was fun to revisit.

For the record the itch is gone in terms of buying more silver. I feel I have enough in the case of Armageddon, but then again if it starts rocketing up again I'll be under the FOMO effect.

Reply

Sort:  

Hey its been a minute, but thanks for getting back to me :) ! I have yet to amass my horde of silver. Too much focus on crypto, I want some nice metal to touch and look at from time to time though. I agree that bonds and junk certificates. Those don't allow me to touch them and listen to the metal clink though so I have no interest in them, aside from seeing them going away and allowing true value back.

This is a treat man :D

Although I am only five month old in steemit but when I see some if my earlier stuff................ well it's pretty embarrassing for. Weird part is that I knew, even at that time that stuff here cannot be completely removed.

your reply to @drpuffnstuff now after all this time should be a nice little surprise for him. That's really cool of you.

I'm sure I missed a lot during my first 6 months. I could have been even BIGGER ;)

Silver is a good investment, I bought some half dollars 90 percenters today. Precious metals are a good way of preserving your money. You can also barter with them, an ounce of gold that cost $20 years and years ago could buy you a lot more today and a $20 bill that we carry in our wallets today. Thanks @bearbear613

Totally agree @bearbear613, early on we make mistakes, early posts had good content, but very little attention when your REP is under 50. But one thing that was not a mistake is joining the #steemsilvergold community, the WEALTH of information and support was the best thing we can do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84