Australian coins will have an updated effigy of The Queen from 2019

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

After 20 years, the effigy of The Queen on Australian coins is being updated, and will begin to appear from 2019. The new effigy will depict an updated likeness of The Queen designed by Jody Clark, an engraver for the United Kingdom's Royal Mint, which has been used in the United Kingdom since 2015.


source

The Queen is depicted wearing the Royal Diamond Diadem which was worn at The Coronation and, in keeping with tradition Her Majesty will continue the face to the right. Some critics say this new effigy makes The Queen look angry. This will bring the number of effigy's of The Queen, since her accession to the throne, to feature on Australian coins to 6. I'm not sure I like the new version... Thecurrent one does look more friendly..

20180514_131024.jpg

Interestingly, The Canadian Mint is using Canadian designer, Susanna Blunt's, effigy of The Queen from 2003 on their coins. I wonder if that will be updated any time soon...

20180430_191927.jpg

The Perth Mint will begin phasing in the new effigy of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II on some of their bullion and collector coins from 2019.

I think I may pay the Perth Mint a visit soon, just reading about coins has made my stackitis flare up again!!!





Team Australia, Team South Africa, and The Alliance banners by @bearone

My Awesome Upboks by @ryivhnn

Sort:  

LOL. She'd have to be happy about the new chin and jowls.

Yep, quite a change from 20 years, but she still looks very well for her years. Angry, but well ;)

There can't be too many years left in the old dear. Let's hope they make it to the printers in time.

Brett, title has typo fyi 😊

Ahh nuts!! nice catch!! Fixed :)

Don't you have any Aussies you can put on there instead of her?
Canadian and same chick on our money sigh

None as beautiful as Her Majesty...lol!! It's all about the Commonwealth... I suppose next on the coins will be Charles!! (Shudder) Loooong live The QUEEN!!!!

I think Canada will just say no to Charles dollars, i hope

This is a shame. I was just thinking the other day that of all the Queen pics on coins that I liked the Australian version the best.

Yeah, I quite like the current one too. At least it's not the picture which gives the coin it value🤔😉.. in most cases at least.

Can anyone please explain the history of using the Queen on the minted coins, after all these years . Yah they gave you the tradition of driving on the left side of the road, in addition to all the government ruling bodies for legislation. I'm open for any explanation. Long live the Queen.

It's been around since the Roman Empire days, and possibly longer... the rulers of the land putting thier faces on the coins. Brittain more specifically started putting successive monarchs facing alternate directions on its coins way back in the 1600s, and it has been a tradtition ever since. In 939AD King Athelstan became the first Brittish monarch to have his portrait appear on a coin. I guess the rest is history.

There was this rather large 'hype' years ago about a mandela coin it retailed new for about R150 000 I wanted to buy one. Recently they had a Carte Blanche expose where the coin didn't or was not able to sell for R1000 damn am I happy I didn't get in with that, that may have hurt mildly. Now if all that cash that went into crypto's now would just pay off :) Cheer$;)

Yeah, that would have been a disaster.... early days in crypto still... huge potential to make big gains. Just have to sit out the fud and hype t and see where it goes.

True story bruv. I was hoping the May 14 - 16 'conference of the year' would cause a massive spike... but alas.. SIGH

Yeah, the raid on the Upbit exchange kinda put a damper on the works the last few days. I'm fairly confident things will keep moving upwards slowly in general, with a few up and down swings here and there. You can't keep a good thing down for long...

Too right brother!

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

"I think I may pay the Perth Mint a visit soon". How envious you made me feel... :=(

Haha!! Just one of the perks of living in the second most isolated capital city in the world. I really should visit the mint more often, but my wallet won't allow it 🤣🤣

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75