Turning Bottles into a Canadian Silver Maple Leaf

in #steemsilvergold5 years ago

I picked up this 1 ounce silver Canadian Maple Leaf coin, which is from 2009… check it out!

A79D779D-3D08-4390-A464-11FED4A80A69.gif

It is a little beat up, dirty and has the milk spots that the Royal Canadian Mint is infamous for. I am going to clean it up soon, but will make a separate post about that, including how the milk spots can be removed (and caution you on when not to do it).

I paid $15 for this Maple Leaf coin, which is a steal as they normally go for a $4+ premium. I was at one of my local coin shops recently, and the best they could do was $19 for a Maple Leaf, so I got a good deal here. I found it on the LetGo app and bought it from a college student who got it from their dad… must be my lucky day!

The other day, my son and I took a number of bottles and cans that we saved up and went to a recycling center to exchange them for cash. I normally give my bottles and can to the homeless, but this time I wanted to show Jacob how to feed the cans into the machine and have an outing with him. We ended up getting $22 for the bottles and cans (they go for about $0.05 each, or $0.10 for large bottles). With that cash, we went by a toy store and Jacob picked out a few hot wheel cars, and I earmarked the rest for a silver purchase, which is what I did today. We turned the cans into hot wheels and a silver coin!

F184BCD5-039F-477A-A366-9490A339E540.jpeg

That’s all I have for today… keep on stacking my friends!

Brian

Sort:  

That's a lot of bottles and cans! How long does it take you to collect that many?

I haven't found a way to get the milk spots out, so I'm looking forward to seeing your fix.

I think it was like half a year... it was quite a lot! Yes, I will try to post that soon 👍🏻

Teach a kid to fish...

😎👍

That is a great lesson for you son, I save brass and metals for the same reason, to convert into silver and gold!

Good move... I like it!

Hi @brian.rrr,
We wanted to let you know that this weeks Show Us Your California contest has started! We'd love to have you participate. We've got 4SBI up for grabs this week!

You have a quite a bit of nice recycling system there at Canada @brian.rrr and you have a good heart giving recyclables to homeless too God bless you Sir.

Welcome.
I am a Fish-bot that supports fishing posts.
Thank you for publishing the post and use of the myhuntingfishing,fishing or pl-wedkarstwo tag, which I rewarded with "upvote".
If you care about the development of this bot, all you need is to like this comment, and the power of this fish-bot will grow. Thank you
Witaj.
Jestem Rybo-botem wspierającym tag pl-wedkarstwo i myhuntingfishing
Dziękuje Ci za opublikowanie posta i użycia tagu pl-wedkarstwo lub myhuntingfishing oraz fishing, który nagrodziłem "upvoutem". Jeśli będzie Ci zależało na rozwoju tego rybo-bota wystarczy byś w rewanżu "upwoutował" czyli polubił ten komentarz a moc tego rybo-bota będzie rosła. Dziękuje
Добро пожаловать
Я рыба-бот, который поддерживает рыболовные посты.Спасибо за Ваше сообщение и использование тегов pl-wedkarstwo, fishing или myhuntingfishing который является наградой «upvoutem ». Если вы заботитесь о развитии этого рыцаря, все, что вам нужно сделать, это «взволноваться» в матче-реванше, то есть, как этот комментарий, и сила этого fisboot будет увеличиваться. спасибо

977ed90d51b801891e07b99740d68a9e.gif

WTG... Bottles for silver and hot wheels, and a great example for your son to see. Congrats snagging a Maple Leaf at so close to spot!!! Great deal!

Hi @brian.rrr!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.037 which ranks you at #3465 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 321 places in the last three days (old rank 3144).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 231 contributions, your post is ranked at #54.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89