Getting Started With Hand Poured Metal

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

Ever since the #MetalsMafia guys started posting in #SteemSilverGold I have been getting flare-ups of Stackitis happening regularly. I have been watching in awe at some of the amazing stuff they are making and sharing here on STEEM and I have been thinking about getting into hand poured metals myself. However it does seem daunting and it’s hard to know where to begin so I have started mapping out a plan of attack and I’m posting here in the hope that some of the more experienced guys might help me with it.

handpour.PNG
Source

In my youth I remember making some fantasy figurines out of tin using rubber molds with my dad. So I guess I have been interested in pouring metal from a very young age but I had let it go. It’s only now in my “Stacker Years” where I can see the potential for an old hobby of mine to merge with a new one. Not that I’d consider Stacking to be a hobby these days, but you get the idea. Now that I’ve been thinking about things it just feels like this is where I was always headed.

mold.PNG
Source

I know that these old rubber molds (I still have them somewhere I am sure) are not going to be able to handle the serious heat required for melting Silver and Gold, but it’s possibly still a good place for me to start from. Using a cheaper metal with a lower melting point makes common sense so I’d been thinking about what the logical progression of metals might be.

LevelMetalMelting Point
1Tin231.9 °C
2Aluminium660.3 °C
3Copper1,085 °C
4Silver961.8 °C
5Gold1,064 °C

Tin has the lowest melting point so it’s an obvious place to start and those old molds can help me get the cobwebs out. Aluminium and Copper are also cheap and easy to forage from scrap so they seem logical stepping stones as I turn up the heat.

turnupheat.png
Source

Getting a proper furnace has to be on the cards at some point. I can use my dad’s old gas cylinder and blow torch to get started, but that is not going to get me too far once I start to Level Up. I’m probably looking for an Electric Metal Furnace of some kind so that would be a few hundred dollars there and I’d need all the accessories like tongs and protective wear too.

furnace.PNG
Source

I’d also need to look at upgrading my molds as well because those rubber things will burn beyond Level 1. I could pick up some Graphite Molds for bars pretty cheaply so that would be good for Level 2. I’d love to be able to do custom molds with greensand like a lot of the #MetalsMafia guys do, but it does look like there is a fair amount of skill and practise required so that would be a long range goal for maybe Level 4 or 5.

graphitemolds.jpg
Source

Then there is the possibility of picking up a 3D printer so that I could start making some of my own designs to turn into custom molds. I got pretty excited when I saw the custom bar that @raybrockman made using a 3D printed prototype. I would love to be able to do something like that. A 3D printer is another few hundred dollars to purchase for a basic model but obviously I’ll need to do some more research into the size and quality that can be made.

moldprototype.jpg
Source

All up there is some decent financial outlays but they are not prohibitive and so possibly the genesis is there of a decent little niche hobby business. My wife has even expressed an interest in getting involved and making some jewellery type items. She is far more creative than I am and at the end of the day this is a creative process. Maybe I am just in a day-dreaming phase but it might not be too far from reality. What do you experienced #MetalsMafia guys think? I am sure there is a lot more to this so are there any good newbie resources or information you could point me to that could help me turn this day-dream into a reality?


steemsilvergold_buggedout.png

teamaustralia_buggedout.png

Images and Credits
https://www.shutterstock.com
https://www.ebay.com
https://www.thegamecrafter.com
http://www.italimpianti.it
https://steemit.com/@raybrockman

Sort:  

@buggedout you can do it and you WILL !!!
Thank you for all you do for #steemsilvergold I appreciate it..................

Thanks mate, I appreciate your encouragement.

It was your last video with the Lady of the Bunker which got me really thinking this is something my wife could get involved in too.

Down the rabbit hole he goes 😀

Haha. I like rabbit holes :)

I will see ya at the bottom.

Haha thats right.

How much money to get the basics do you figure?

I still need to do a lot of research and figure out what the basics actually are. But to my eye the furnace is probably the biggest set up expense and I only recently realised they weren't that expensive. All up if I could get a small electric furnace, a couple of graphite molds and the protective gear together for under $1K I'd be pretty happy. But it's probably a question for one of the more experienced guys because I might be totally delusional :)

Hey buggedout, I’ve been meaning to visit your blog properly. :)

I can’t comment on the investment posts, since I’m not an investor, but this one caught my eye. If you plan to make something similar to that pretty mermaid that was recently raffled, then get on with it! I was quite enamoured by that piece, it made me realize all these blocks of metal could be admired as well. Hope to hear you move from daydreaming to doing soon!

Thanks for dropping in @linnyplant

The first step is always the hardest but hopefully that step will happen soon ;)

Good lucky, I have been playing around myself. You got this ''Practice makes perfect''.

Thanks. I think there might be a few of us who have been getting inspired by the #MetalsMafia crew :)

Yes, I too have had thoughts of the art of molten metals.

My only pouring experience was melting down lead with my Dad, and making fishing sinkers with it.... It was quite fun... I lose too many sinkers to be making them from silver though..lol!!!

I'll be watching this thread with interest.

Yep, lead has a pretty low melting point too. I actually started out pouring with lead when I was young but there are health issues with lead so it's not on my list.

Glad to hear I am not the only Aussie stacker interested in this stuff tho. If I ever get going with it I'll do some progress updates ;)

Now you're talking my language buddy.

Green sand is your best friend to learn on. Learn how to make green sand and use that as a base. Its reuseable and repeatable and sand casting CAN give really good results.

Also, don't over-complicate your furnace. Gas is going to be your best friend. Check out Camec for their gas burners. Gas will make it fast and efficient.

If you sink too much money into it at the start you'll never get a ROI. Go cheap and rough and learn your materials.

I should cost up a furnace kit to sell to all you crazy stackers.

Outstanding. That is some excellent advise, thank you. Glad to be speaking your language! :)

"I should cost up a furnace kit to sell to all you crazy stackers."

That is an excellent idea. If you want to make a post and link it here I am sure there would be some others who would interested too.

Cool, I'll see what I can dig up. Should be able to piece together a gas burning furnace to hold a decent size cruicible for under $500 especially if I can get a few orders at the same time to make it worth while.

Shit! I need a garage too!

Brave man. Pit bullion has some awesome videos I like to watch.

I need to be watching a lot of videos for sure. Thanks :)

...gots the itus bad!

Yep. I am totally screwed now aren't I. I'll never be able to lead a normal life again :)

The lunatic is on the grass...

Doing a great job brother. You will definetely succeed in it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98