Why I Collect Old Silver Coins !

Many people that jump into the stacking game want to buy those newly minted shiny silver bullions. I am the complete opposite, and I focus on collecting old silver coins. In my opinion it is a much better investment if you know what you are looking for and I will tell you why in just a little bit, but first let me show you a part of my collection.

IMG_4886.JPG

This is a Swedish 1 Krona from 1904. 1 Krona coins from this time had 80 percent silver in them and thus make them nice collectibles. More importantly it is a very beautiful design of the coin. It's very ornate and royal in its symbols.

IMG_4893.JPG

The other side of the coin is of our king at the time Oscar II, who was king of both Sweden and Norway.

My goal is to collect all 1 Krona coins, of each year, that have been made
The 1 Krona coin started being made from 1876 and till 1942 all coins minted had 80 percent silver. From
1942 to 1968 the coins had half the amount of silver, so it was decreased to 40 percent.

Below you can see how far I have come in my collection

IMG_4885.JPG

IMG_4888.JPG

IMG_4894.JPG

As you can see this still have a lot of years missing. But it is great fun and I am sure I will get all years sooner or later !

So now why do I choose these old coins except that they looks very beautiful? The reason is because of scarcity. You find less and less of these coins and as society has become more and more anti cash many coins have been thrown away or just sold as scrap metal or for its silver value.

Like many times in history when something has been discarded, later generations have woken up to the beauty and historical value of these things. I am sure that it's gonna be super rare and badass when my grandsons grandsons show someone this completed collection. It will be exotic to hold these coins in the hand and to imagine the journey of the coins and which hands exchanges them and for what ?

Here are some more close ups of the coins.

IMG_4892.JPG

IMG_4891.JPG

IMG_4887.JPG

IMG_4890.JPG

The fact is that if I only collected the coins for it's silver value I don't think it would have been a very good investment at all because silver is more of a hedge. Below is the price inflation adjusted chart over a hundred year period for silver

IMG_4896.PNG

Basically the price of silver hasn't really risen at all if you adjust it for inflation. But the value of these coins have increased a lot and I'm sure it's just the beginning. Time will tell , but either way it feels like a great hobby, and I feel pretty sure it will be a good investment if I keep persistent.

Sort:  

Man those are cool!! I get geeked enough looking for junk silver ;)

It never gets tiresome hehe :)

I thought my private mint-ages were cool! I've never been into numismatics, but those are sweet shit. ;)

One time at the bank I got a whole roll of junk silver in quarters. My claim to fame ;)

Bingo! thats freking awesome

I have a small bag of Canadian silver coins back in Canada. Hoping one day they'll be worth something but you're right about the historical value for our descendants. Especially when physical money will be completely gone one day!

You should definitely hold on to them - can sure become valuable

Samler du på norsk 1 og 2 krone i sølv?

Kan kanskje hjelpe deg.

Ta vare !

Tjenare ! Det är jag intresserad av :)

It's fun, and something I might take up again if that dead corpse also known as silver ever start moving..(in ANY direction) lol. :)

Haha Yea it's more manipulated then any other commodity traded, and it's a big question if and when it will resurrect

Many of us started by collecting silver coins. It is a great Hobby.

It's one of the only hobbies I have kept since I was a child

Waw ,,,, very beautiful collection, I also like to collect coins Indonesia

Thanks buddy!

Thanks also to you, I follow you

I like your collection! I also like to collect old coins of any type of metal, my interest is more in their history and age, I have a few bronze pieces that I cherish more than any of my silver.

Wow cool, what country and Year are the coins ?

my, small, collection is generally bronze and copper European coins from the mid 1800s - mid 1900s (with some older American silver too).

Very nice ! I'm trying to expand my collection of American coins - it's a fun hobby but sometimes costly too hehe

Hey, if you want to check out some of my collection,
https://steemit.com/steemsilvergold/@cyber.explorer/coins-from-my-collection-60-66
At the bottom of the post there are older links to my other coins that I have posted about as well.

Wow you have a lot of coins there, I hope you can finish your collection one day!

Thanks a lot buddy !

upvote back to get it on other posts

very beautiful collection coine....

Please Stop - @mokles

You just said "very beautiful" and in your your last 100 comments you used 38 phrases considered to be spam and you made this exact same comment 1 times. You've received 3 flags and you may see more on comments like these. These comments are the reason why your Steem Sincerity API classification scores are Spam: 76.70% and Bot: 6.60%

Please stop making comments like this and read the ways to avoid @pleasestop and earn the support of the community.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11