Boston Bars... NOT the drinking kind. ☺️

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

Our 10 day East Coast adventure was quickly coming to an end. We’d toured, seen a show, mini golfed, beachcombed and sailed. But I still had one crucial thing to tick off my list.

Find a coin shop.


During our wanderings through Massachusetts, Connecticut and Rhode Island I had occasionally googled “coin shops near me”. Inevitably, what popped up was never near me. Until I hit the jackpot on the last night of our vacation.
We had spent the day on a hop on hop off bus tour of Boston, checking out the spots we had missed earlier in our trip. We saw most of the big sites from the bus and hopped off to visit TD Garden (home of the Boston Celtics 🏀 and Boston Bruins 🏒), Harvard and the Boston Tea Party Museum. After the day long tour we decided to walk back to the Kimpton Nine Zero our homebase in the city.
Well wouldn’t you know, just two blocks from the hotel, I looked up and realized there were FOUR coin shops all in a row along the street!!!!

💩

image

With no time to mess about (it was close to closing) I went into each shop and asked if anyone had Hamilton Mint 1970’s Silver Art Bars.

Here’s what I brought home. ☺️

image
Massachusetts and New Hampshire bars, front.

image
Massachusetts and New Hampshire bars, Reverse.

The Massachusetts bar is the 6th in a Hamilton Mint 50-bar set called Official Ingots of the United States. The face shows the Massachusetts State House in Boston. The bar’s reverse lists the date Massachusetts became a state. There is also a map of Massachusetts and revolutionary war soldiers. The bar is 1oz .999 pure silver. Only 15,000 of these bars were minted way back in 1974.
The New Hampshire bar is the 9th bar in the same series. The face shows New Hampshire’s capitol, located in Concord. The reverse shows one of the state’s mining operations. Like the Massachusetts bar, New Hampshire is also 1oz, .999 pure, with 15,000 produced in 1974.

image
South Carolina

My last bar to show you tonight is from the Mount Everest Mint. This bar, The South Carolina, is also 1oz and .999 pure. ONLY 5000 were minted. The bar was also released in 1974. As the bar’s reverse indicates, it commemorates the South Carolina, the first eight wheeled locomotive in America.

Hope you’ve enjoyed my Boston Bars. ☺️


Keep on Stacking!

Proud Member of:

steemsugars, steemusa, teamaustralia and steemsilvergold
636963AE-FE77-4EDB-A218-8694258BD5C1.jpeg
AF549FDF-30ED-40BB-B316-6C976C1D1DB5.jpeg
34D07EC8-3FC0-4EED-98CB-2F7B4DB8447A.png
2D208B35-7EB8-4786-9979-B012AABF619D.png
8CC2E61B-D924-4C5B-A853-CF910C378B76.png

Sort:  

Wow, great finds. Those are exactly the kind of thing I look out for. Great score.

☺️ Thanks @methus. Every time I get bars like these I feel like I’ve won a little treasure hunt.

You are a lucky girl! The three bars are very collectibles.

☺️ Old art bars are delightful. I always feel lucky to find them.

@dfinney That Is EXACTLY the STUFF I like to pick Up at the LCS. Most times it can be had for the Same Price as STUFF that will Never be as Scarce as the Silver Bars you bought. I Give you a Standing Ovation on this Purchase !!!

When I saw the one bar only had 5000 made in 1974 I knew that would make you happy. ☺️

Hitting up the LCS is a pleasure afforded to onlyba few 😎👍👍

Much like the pleasure of the three word story. ☺️

Good thing you didn't find the shops earlier in the trip or you might have spent all your food money on getting silver. As it is, you ended up walking away with some pretty awesome bars. Well done!

OMG, that would have been a NIGHTMARE. Lol

Excellent way to find the “silver” lining. 😃

It's all about the silver lining for me. I'm glad I don't have $1,000,000, because if I did, I'd end up buying a LOT of silver, and then I'd spend all my time sorting it and getting it ready for storage, so I wouldn't have time to be on Steemit. Silver lining! Ha ha.

😍 Awesome.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by dfinney from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @dfinney! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39