Koala 🐨Throw Down

in #steemsilvergold5 years ago (edited)

Before starting this post I went to Google and typed, “name for a group of koalas”.


Wouldn’t you know, there is NO name!

There's no collective noun for a group of Koalas moving around together because Koalas don't move around in groups like dolphins or some birds. They are fairly solitary creatures, although they do like to be living in overlapping home ranges in bushland with other Koalas. We usually call these groups 'Koala populations’ or ‘Koala colonies'. Source

Well, this may be rare in the wild, but I have a special koala colony to share today.

image

Perth Mint 2007-2019 1oz BU koala coins

In December 2017 I purchased my first silver coin. It was the 2017 koala. This quickly led to an obsession which saw me buy ALL of the koalas (standard issue no privies). It also sent me deep down a rabbit hole of silver stacking and coin collecting.

image

I am so cute.

Recently, Australia’s Perth Mint released the 2019 Koala. This is the thirteenth coin in a series highlighting the nation’s most iconic animal. (Shhh. Don’t tell the kangaroo.)

image

2019 Perth Mint Koala

The first coin in the series was released only in a 1oz silver .999 pure version. Later release years include size variations from 1/2oz to 1kg. They are also special releases in gold, gilded silver, colorized and well as coins featuring privy marks. In 2018, the coins moved from .999 pure to .9999.

image

All 13 koalas

During early years of the coin’s production, the bullion version of the koala was produced on demand. This meant minting stopped when it was time to start on the next release. However, beginning in 2016 the mintage for each release has been set at 300,000.

43E6CFE6-695E-42C1-8EAA-5F31C7BE85F0.gif

All the koalas. Look fast!

This is a series I look forward to collecting in all the years to come.


Proud Member of:

steemsugars, steemusa, teamaustralia and steemsilvergold

6A604F2C-BEDA-4D4F-B1A1-9D5D7001163A.jpeg
FBC61C2A-29B4-4A57-919D-E4215F7488B3.jpeg
573CA564-9359-48C7-9181-9477CB7E1800.png
4EBF4E7C-7ED4-4A4C-BA40-B38BE99EBC7B.png
53DE0451-530E-42C5-9B17-6B91F0514A80.png

Sort:  

So we call them a stack of Koalas. 2008 mintage was lowest with 84K

I like a "stack" of koala. Let's go with that.

Make it so. 😄

😜👍👍

Sounds like a good choice.☺️

I only have one koala at the moment... It will eventually have friends, but for now he is living the natural life, associating only with a kangaroo and a succubus!

And Bunyip. I hope there is a bunyip. 😂🤣

Wow, good job on the whole run. 🇦🇺

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you!
🐨🐨🐨🐨
🐨🐨🐨🐨
🐨🐨🐨🐨
🐨

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Nice collection dfinn, i have them all myself. Also have rhe entire kookaburra series as well.👍

I am nowhere close on the Kookaburras.
Maybe back to 2013?

BOOM!!!! Definitely the most extensive silver Koala collection I have seen in our ssg steemit commuity!!! Congrats @dfinney!!! I am jelly, my sweet friend!!! WTG... stack 'em, collect 'em!!!

It’s that darn case of collect them all! Closely related to stackitus

So there is no collective pronoun for Koalas? So we have an opportunity to do that I take it. Posted last weekend my "Unkindess of Ravens" blog is along that line so I think we could have a bit of fun thinking up one. An early one I can imagine is.... A Kool of Koalas, imagine them wearing fashionable Raybans. Or how about, A Kola of Koalas, avoiding a trademark of a certain popular beverage.

An unkindness of ravens seems the perfect name. I support both a kook and a kola of koalas! Well picked!

Nice collection, well done. Now you have to get the platinum koala coins as well, Lol, cheers.

I have seen the platinum ones! My local coin shop gets them. They are sooooo cute.... but sooo $$$

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83