On the road with @fat-elvis

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago

Hi everyone.

Today was another day behind the wheel, heading to my second job this week. This one is about 700Km away, on bush roads from Flin Flon, where I was yesterday.

I figured since I see so many beautiful, and oddball things, I'd take you all on a little tour of Northern Saskatchewan.

This is what I see for the most part
IMG_20180605_180326.jpg

Then I stopped by a lake to water the weeds a bit. This ain't too bad of a view.
IMG_20180605_113100.jpg

Another while later and I came across this guy
IMG_20180605_180227.jpg
He was busy eating grass, and didn't care one bit that I was there.

Quick stop in Pelican Narrows Saskatchewan, fueled up. This is the shore line in town.
IMG_20180605_180307.jpg

Outside of town somewhere, my phone rang, surprised me as I don't have much coverage anywhere, so I pulled over in a random spot, and while I was talking to my wife, I noticed a little thing on front of my truck.
IMG_20180605_110420.jpg
Why the heck is there a garden gnome on the side of a road in the middle of the forest?

Anyway, I drove and drove and drove, and kept seeing this every few miles.

IMG_20180605_094303.jpg

IMG_20180605_152823.jpg

So many smashed and burned up cars along the road. Literally seems to be one every 10 miles.

image.png

That's it for me, I made it to a hotel, and will be back at it tomorrow.

Thanks for reading

images (1).jpeg

Sort:  

Thanks for the share! What is it you do exactly? Always interesting to learn about the different things people do for their state dollars...

I work for a big company that has offices all over the prairies. I do corporate security. Physical security, electronic security, mechanical, etc. When they have a breech, theft, or system failure, I hit the road. And I do preventative maintenance at sites along the way. Thanks for the interest!

sounds kinda fun! ...never a dull moment, and if you're like me, the alone time is nice too!

Elvis... Fat Elvis — Licensed to Swill bourbon!

Looks like a ride through Mississippi. You need s drink🥃

I love Mississippi. But I felt at home when I was in Lebanon Missouri last year, on the way to Atlanta to see my wife. Actually the whole area felt like home... I picked my wife up in Stone Mountain Ga. And took her to the Chattahoochee Lake region and finally found a place I the US that maybe I could live in! I mean outside or The Dakota's, which is basically where I live now, lol. Everyone was so friendly in Kentucky, Tennessee and Georgia (except Atlanta which is gross) especially since the main stream.news led me to believe everybody's a racist there, lol. I didn't find that.

I love the bear.

The gnome.... creepy AF. Seems like it would be in the start of a horror movie. Innocuous garden gnome on lonesome highway... inbred forest family lures you in for their “hunt”.... LOL. I watch way too much cable tv. 😉 Be safe out there! ☺️

Lol. Well, I've been living and working in the remote north for 20 years, and although there is inbreeding, it rarely produces anyone with the skills to hunt, lol!!!

WOW. You need to take a fishing pole with you. And I need to bring a big car hauler up there to get those cars. That's free scrap money right there. Do they just leave them there to rot?

theyre everywhere, just abandoned, rolled, burned, you name it. but theyre all over

That's crazy. I would be all over that. Lots to be made from the parts that are still there.

Very cool pics! What is with all of the rusted cars?

most were rollovers or crashed, the roads are quite treacherous and a lot of people drive too fast and crash. there is literally a wrecked car every few miles

Great tour. Garden gnome ran away. or. Somebody's husband hated the damn thing and left it there.

likely the latter, I suspect...

Careful of those gnomes. Could be indicator of when to pull the switch and set off an IED (improvised explosive device). Which may explain all the burned cars :S...
But seriously, you did encounter some weird shit. But what were you driving 700km to do?

Now I know another small part of Canada. Thanks.

Great post...we're in the adirondacks for the summer (NY) looks similar!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64140.77
ETH 3133.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15