Nice day outside, so I decided to melt some gold & silver

in #steemsilvergold5 years ago (edited)

Now it finally feels like spring is the air, the sun is out and the temperature allows for shorts n t-shirt. So it is off to the bottom of the garden to fire up the furnace and make something.

Like a Muppet I didn't really think about making it into a post, so I only have pics of the finished item but I can explain how I made it anyway. I started off with the idea of wrapping a rectangular piece of plastic round the end of a cut down chopstick and cellotaping the plastic down, this was either genius of gonna fail. I then used a casting flask to make an impression of the plastic wrapped round the chopstick and then I removed the plastic and put the chopstick back so it would leave a hole for my chain to fit through the pendant. I poured the gold into the flask and out came the pendant, there was a little bit of flashing that needed trimming but not bad at all, I gave it a quick sand but not too much as I want to keep a rough look to it.

Here it is on the chain

20190410_133154.jpg

A side view of the hole for the chain

The hole was a bit rounder and I had to gently tap it down with a hammer on the anvil to let the chain go through easier.
20190410_144906.jpg

A closer look at the front

I used my favourite mermaid stamp on the front and a little leaf one
20190410_145014.jpg

A closer look at the back

I was just playing with some more of my stamps at this point.
20190410_144944.jpg

On the scales

It weighs just shy of 8.5g , I didn't separate my gold scrap as it was for me so there was a few pieces of 14k in the mix so it is slightly higher that 9ct but it doesn't matter as it is for myself.
20190410_145044.jpg

Bonus pour

I also poured a silver bar, i think there must have been a little bit of moisture on the mould as it caused a few bubbles but i decided not to re-pour it as it looked quite cool. I struck a few leaf and butterfly stamps into this one.
20190410_154547.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89