The 1975 Bahama Independence Proof $10 Commemorative Coin - Part One of Two

in #steemsilvergold5 years ago (edited)

1 P

”Blackbirds tend to like shiny objects”

The Bahamas, images of warm sandy beaches, the roar of Atlantic surf, the cool shade of lush palm trees next to an sprawling exotic resort complex where the rich guys hang around to throw wads of cash around just to see how many bikini clad girls bend over to pick it up, and somehow that’s my mental image, I won’t quote what movie gave me that impression.

W
Wiki Map of The Bahamas by OCHA License under CCO 3.0

Sailing back to the Caribbean Islands we have another pretty coin I’ve borrowed from Punky's Dad as well as a little preview to #piratesunday’s Part two.

The Bahamas is an Independent Commonwealth encompassing an archipelago of over 700 islands and has quite a high standard of living following Canada and the USA powered by it’s numerous Vacation Resorts and large Banking Industry.

But 'Admiral' Christopher Columbus, yes I said Admiral, never saw any fancy Resort as he was the first European to land in this new world and originally naming it San Salvador on October 12 of 1492. His goal was still to find that short cut to the Far East and to claim for Spain any wealth and lands he discovers along the way.

W
The Landing of Columbus by John Vanderlyn License under Public Domain

This painting makes for an impressive sight. Columbus the first European to discover the Caribbean ,more than that of the Americas, depicting the Captains of the Nina, Pinta, and members of the crews witnessing Columbus claiming this Island in the name of Ferdinand and Isabella of Spain and to continue to look for that Route as well as the riches.

But we're here for the silver aren't we?!

I believe this big behemoth of a coin is meant more as a tourist souvenir that was beautifully struck by the Franklin Mint for the Government of The Bahamas.

1
Reverse: The Bahamian National Flower, the Yellow Elder Flower.
Weight 1.4601 oz or 49.1 g of 0.925 Silver
50mm diameter KM#76a and a Mintage of 63,000

These are not my color yet I can admit that I am somewhat fond of flowers.

Yellow Elder Flower by SherryBerryVA License CCO 2.0

1
Obverse side: Commonwealth of The Bahamas and the Coat of Arms 1975
Numista 1975 Bahamas 10 Dollar

And for those that are also attracted to colorful Paper currency!

1
1968 Bahamas One Dollar note. Pick Catalog P-27a

1
SEA GARDEN
The Protected Reefs of the Bahamian archipelago of what the Bahamas are naturally famous for.
Made by the Thomas De La Rue & Company Limited

I hope you enjoyed this coin feature, thank you for stopping by for a look.

Part two is on this #piratesunday ‘s feature, Arrrh!

1
EXPULSIS PIRATIS RESTITUTA COMMERCIA

So has anyone been to the Bahamas? Please tell me what it’s like there.”

1. My own pictures shot with a Samsung SM-A530W
R. Clip art from 123RF
W. Wiki Commons
The Bahamas Wiki

R

“Et lux in tenebris to serve laboro, sum sicarius” “I work in the shadows to serve the Light, I am an Assassin”

Sort:  

Awesome... That is a huge 1.46 ozt coin!!!! it must be hefty to hold. I love it, sis @kerrislravenhill. Great background info on the coin. I am looking forward to part2!!!

The next coin is similar in size and another beauty from Bermuda and another old expensive note, on loan for this upcoming article. I'm not sure I may recall that @silver_vessel may have this coin.

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow... Wow.. Wow... 😜 You get where Im going? I looove this round.. So incredleble beautiful in its details and flowers... You know I love them.
Amazing piece and Thank you for sharing 🤗🌹💞

I think so too. Big coins are often big on the fine detail as everything on this huge coin is impressive, so sometimes size does matter.

Posted using Partiko Android

If the rich dudes accidentally drop large denomination fiat currency. You can't get that mental image out of your head now can you.

Posted using Partiko Android

Now that's Real Pirate Mayhem.....

Posted using Partiko Android

Oooo. I really like the coin and the paper money. Everyone has way more interesting money than we 🇺🇸 do. The fishy scene on the back is awesome. Way cooler than a bunch of old rebellious white dudes.

Paper money has it's own huge numismatic collecting field and my friend tries to match a note with a coin in his stack, he's got quite the collection of colorful banknotes to go with the coins. I got to be careful with the next note as its expensive. Coming up.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm not much on paper currency, but those are some great looking bills. And of course the coin looks amazing too!

The bills are a part of my friend's collection that sometimes has a nice coin to go with it. They have quite the numismatic value as well.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you kerrislravenhill! You've just received an upvote of 67% by thejollyroger!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Hi kerrislravenhill, did you know you can also view this post on Steemie?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11