Calling ourselves a community is easy. Anyone can do it.

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

A guy on 9gag recently lost his parents in France.


He posted about it and strangers on the internet tracked down his parents, who were fine.

Now here we have crypto, which is fantastic, but do we have that kind of community? Do we want or deserve that? Who's responsible for building that?

Some organised thieves have snatched my 2018 Steem silver rounds en route to my house, and sent me a letter about it.
Happily the coins'll clear customs soon enough, and I can't wait to unbox them.
I thought this would make me the last of the recipients, until I saw that @welshstacker; the guy who designed the 2018 rounds, had his delivery stolen, possibly by one of the slightly less organised thieves working for the Post Office.

image.png

From Welshy's post they took:

2 X 2018 #steemsilverround for @huw28582. They included his #97 that matched the 2017 round which he bought from @raybrockman.

4 X #steemsilverround which were for me. This included the #93 that @raybrockman was so generous last year to give me his 2017 round.

2 X #steemsilverround a 2017 & 2018 off @sevinwilson as prize for winning the design competition.

2 X 2018 #steemsilverround which I won in the #monsterraffle courtesy of @goldmatters

1 X number 4 solid platinum (4grams) by MENE which I bought for Mrs @welshstacker as a present from 1/2pint. (Pictured above)

The SSG community has started pulling together to make him whole, and I take my hat off to everyone involved; he couldn't ask for a better bunch of mates.

Here's the thing, though. This won't be fixed by pooling resources, that just spreads the impact of the theft amongst the wider community.

Now maybe his stuff is melted down and gone forever, but maybe not.
Perhaps the thief is an inexperienced opportunist and is planning to wait a while then sell his shiny new trinkets online.

If he's scampered off into the night there's not much we can do, but if he comes into our house and manages to sell our stuff under our noses, then we're just a loose collection of bloggers, less effective than 9gag.

I'm posting a bounty.
If @welshstacker tells me that your information helped him retrieve ALL of his missing metal I'll send you 100 STEEM.
The numbers we're looking for: 93, 97, 192, 193, 194, 195, 251, 409, 410

This won't expire and is open to anyone. If you see an ebay post five years from now, send him the link, and it leads him to recovering his lost silver and platinum, you get 100 STEEM.

Now I don't want him drowning in red herrings, so if you send him links to coins which aren't his missing numbers he'll mute you and you won't have any chance to find his lost loot and claim the bounty.

No box at all. Driver keeps changing his story and the missing parcel case has been escalated to management. Waiting for phone call from them Monday to hear decisions. But I'm not holding out any hope at all any more.

Thankyou, @welshstacker.
For your fantastic design and your efforts in the community.
Please leave any additional information you think might be useful to internet researchers in the comments and I'll edit them in to this post.

Matt Clarke.

As long as I follow @the-canary, you'll know I'm posting freely.


Sort:  

This is something a few people have suggested. I know only 2 of the numbered rounds sent my number 93 & huw28582 number 97. If @sevinwilson knows what other numbered rounds he sent, I'll get a post out and inform the guys/gals of the numbers.

They will be found... It's my life goal now!!

Thank you for your offer @mattclarke I'm sure that 100 steem will definitely keep people alert for the coins.

Yeah, that detail would likely help a lot. I'm guessing you're in Wales?
This is one bill I'd love to pay.

Your COA's numbers have should have received have been sent in a message to you sir!

That is messed up.

Are you serious?! Oh yeah that’s got to be on purpose. Even if you track it there’s no guarantee. I would like to get myself some coins so I will keep my eyes peeled for that one on my hunt.

I've upvoted and resteemed this so that hopefully it gets at least some wider recognition. It's really crappy when postal workers do this.

I hope they are caught, sacked and punished appropriately.

Good old Aussie customs, slowing things down whenever they can!

It's wonderful how communities rally around, but like you say, it's just spreading the load in the end and it's not the same as getting your original back. I really hope the parcel either turns up or they are found some other way down the line.

Mr. Clarke, you just gave another fine example of what a community is supposed to be about. My hat goes off to you mate!

Wow, this is the first I heard of this theft, will definitely keep my eyes out online. Hope yours arrive okay, we got ours last week.

Hopefully that post comes soon! :)

I sent a follow-up email to you as well

If I found that sucker, I'd just hand him over. No bounty needed. Hopefully we track him/them down!

Arrrh! Hangins too good fer these barnacle sucking bilge rats, be keepin me unpatched eye on Ebay.

This is a great idea @mattclarke! I am sure people will keep their eyes peeled and we will eventually find @welshstacker's items.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70463.21
ETH 3549.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.87