2017 British Virgin Islands Pegasus Reverse Proof Coin

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago

Good afternoon. I love digging around in @mr-vulcan silver box. I never know what I will find. I found a coin I really like! Now I need to figure out what it is.

20180510_213342-COLLAGE.jpg
2017 British Virgin Islands Pegasus Reverse Proof Coin

Quick Facts-
1ozt of .999 fine silver
Limited mintage of 50,000 coins
First bullion coin minted on behalf of the Virgin Islands
Sovereign coin backed by the British Virgin Island government
Minted by Pobjoy mint

Now time for a closer look.

IMG_20180510_212850.jpg

Obverse
Queen Elizabeth II portrait.

Now on to my favorite side. The reverse

IMG_20180510_212915~2.jpg

It features the beautiful winged Pegasus with the goddess Athena. Athena is holding a spear in one hand and holding onto the reigns of the golden bridle to tame Pegasus in the other. They are on a frosted background. There is a "P" privy mark under Pegasus tail to indicate it's a reverse proof coin. The weight, purity and value is also on this side.

Thanks for checking out the coin and I hope you like it as much as I do. Have a great weekend!!

20180506_105740-COLLAGE.jpg

Sort:  

that is one awesome coin Mrs. V would love to add it to my collection

I really like this one but I do love mystical creatures. Thanks CD!!

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

It looks like Pegasus is proof with the frosted background. What amazes me is that Athena is frosted with Pegasus as background. I've never seen a reverse proof with a contrast like this.

That's is very interesting. I am very new at this so I am not familiar with what the norm is. I really appreciate your comment!

Thanks to you, for publishing. Reading was interesting.
Happy weekend.

Thank you nayibe! Hope you have a great weekend too.

Lookin good Ma!

Beautiful coin!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63547.08
ETH 3070.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83