THE RICHEST PEOPLE IN HISTORY... all had GOLD!

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago

Hello Steemians of Planet Earth!

Well, a few weeks back I picked up another ounce of Gold for the stack. Sadly, it wasn't acquired at today's lower spot price, but do I really care? NO I DO NOT! - I LOVE THE YELLOW SHINY!

Check out my beautiful new Geiger bar!:

PS, my pictures are loading sideways, so I've made these clickable for your up-close viewing pleasure

0513180933a_HDR - Copy.jpg

Backside:

0513180934_HDR - Copy.jpg

Anyway, the rich history of the Mint that makes these got me thinking about history and the everlasting value of Gold across all societies. That, in turn, got me thinking about wealth and wondering about historical figures. I am a huge fan of the work at visualcapitalist.com and I found this article. It is a fascinating read. Among other facts, I learned these little tidbits:

Emperor Basil the 2nd of Turkey -

Accumulated 100 TONS of Gold by the end of his life.

King Soloman of Israel -

For 39 years, received 25 TONS of Gold annually as tribute; had so much Gold, Silver was near worthless in his kingdom. Imagine that!

King Mansa Musa of Mali -

Incalculable amount of Gold; so much in fact, he caused hyperinflation in Egypt as he passed through on pilgrimage to Mecca. His caravan included about 72,000 people, each of which carried a 4 pound Gold brick and 80 camels, each carrying a bag of Gold dust weighing between 50-300 pounds.

Crassus of Rome -

Estimated to have amassed 7.4 MILLION ounces of GOLD!

WOW!

Here is the infographic if you prefer not to click on the link:

richest-people-of-ancient-history-full.jpg

Now, if you look very, very closely, you will notice a pixel that seems out of place. That represents me -

Emperor Goldfucius Nofiat!

...building his wealth one ounce at a time, hahaha

0419181550_HDR - Copy.jpg

...and one last look at that Geiger beauty:

0513180934a - Copy.jpg

I hope you enjoyed the post and the info and the link! Feel free to help my stacking addiction with your chunkiest upvote! God Bless!

GoldfuciusBTCnobox_SSG.jpg
DQmW5Vt83KGnqRbK76H1exomqThuozGvjuJv5oDSzWnBL1W.png

Sort:  

my bigest investment are gold silver and crypto

NICE! I would like to add other assets over time as well...

That Geiger is a beauty. I need to add more Gold to my stack. Pretty cool info also. Thanks for sharing.

thanks for checking it out @vgholdingsllc!

Beautiful! Geiger puts out some of my favorite products.

They do indeed! I always hesitate to pay the premium, but in the end, I always end up pulling the trigger!

You just planted 1.81 tree(s)!


Thanks to @nofiat

We have planted already 19034.05 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 25670.58
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

I am not an emperor but feeling blessed anyway with the gold I own. Nice post!

Thanks! We are all blessed indeed, with many more blessings on the way. In my household, only perhaps my dog considers me Emperor, lol.

This post has received a $41.67 % upvote from @siditech thanks to: @nofiat.
Here's a banana! banana-small.png

I thought most of the richest people never divulge how much gold they have. Funny how the Rothchilds are not listed on Forbes list of Richest names.

That can be true, for sure. And certainly, many extremely wealthy dynasties were not included in the article. Its all estimation anyway. THANKS for taking the time to leave a comment, much appreciated!

No warren buffet?

Hi @propane! The article was kept to only historical figures , with the caveat that it is very difficult to accurately measure the wealth of these old timers. Some actually, were not known for holding precious metals, but instead focused on land, etc. Check out the link. It is very interesting and the site itself is a wealth of information!

Sounds good thanks

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Lovely collection @nofiat.
Besides crypto I'm thinking of making investments in precious metals.

There's a reason the kings of old were so rich.

Assets baby! They are all wonderful. There is just a certain assurance having PM's provides me. Thanks for stopping by!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29