Antique Sterling Silver Charity Shop SCORE!!

in #steemsilvergold5 years ago

Recently I've been struggling to add any new silver to the stack because money is tight. So I'm always on the lookout for shiny bargains in the charity shops, where I can pay under spot price for sterling silver pieces that have gone unnoticed 👁👁

image

I got this lovely pair of sugar tongs with full hallmarks for just £3. I didn't think twice I just put them on the counter and said yes please! The old woman said she thought they might be silver but she couldn't see the hallmarks without her glasses so I was lucky :-)

image

Sugar Tongs are a bit out of fashion these days as most people use granulated sugar rather than cubes, but I smoke a lot of cannabis and can repurpose them perfectly as Bud Tongs! At the moment I'm smoking a beautiful mix of 'Cheese' and 'Pineapple Crush' 🧀🍍

image

The hallmarks on the tongs have a crown, a lion, date letter k, and makers mark W.B&CoS. These show that they are made from 925 sterling silver at Sheffield in 1902 by the maker William Briggs and Company. And they weigh 20.1 grams on the scales :-)

If I was a bird, I'd be a Magpie! ⭐

Sort:  

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Nice score!!! Old,silver is awesome! If only they could tell you where they have been, love the history !

That's a great score! Good job

Nice pickup, now I must smoke!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61914.69
ETH 3017.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79