Finally made it out to do some treasure hunting!

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago

I’m down visiting my buddy Eli, @ejr and we did some metal detecting at Sand Banks provincial park.

1405AD36-F397-4FCF-974F-683F3DF0A90A.jpeg

Beaches are always so great for detecting, mostly since it’s so fast and simple for digging. The down side seams to be the trash to dig.

But it’s a great chance to get some time behind the machine and play with some of the discrimination settings.

A74310C9-FC56-4280-896D-5948AD501EE3.jpeg

Here was our very first find of the day!

2A2821EC-9EC5-413F-8BED-5D306A2F0993.jpeg

And turned out to be a pretty popular find, I think we got about 8 tent pegs of various sizes in total.

517295DF-A32C-4584-8863-1EFA2C2A815B.jpeg

We also found this massive spoon and 26 cents!

25D87198-A021-4361-92CA-70A8E82225F0.jpeg

Here’s the full haul! We didn’t bring back all the trash but by the end we were pretty good at skipping all the bottle caps, foil and pull tabs!

Still not able to retire, but a great day at the beach!

Sort:  

Which is the best for searching near water and wet sand, I understand this type requires a different frequency metals detector.

I wish I knew, we are really just beginners.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

And where is gold ? :))

Cool ... I must try this too one day :)

No luck finding any gold yet :(

Soon you get ... I am sure ... just try every day .

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 13.64% upvote!
I was summoned by @phelimint. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh
A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.

Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

That's a good day buddy! And you have a great machine there, once you figure out the discrimination you should be all set to go find change and big iron things. Small jewelry is often at beaches, I used to like going right after a long weekend, or I the evenings on a long weekend. Always found something, usually toy cars and loose change. But it's always fun.

Yeah it's fun for sure, I do think timing it just right makes a big difference too.

You have gotten a vote courtesy of @phelimint!
They have enlisted the help of the @alliedforces!
We gladly answer your call!
(@alliedforces is a collaboration of witnesses @jatinhota & @enginewitty)
Have you supported your favorite witnesses?

Nice to see a fellow metal hunter. Nice stick you have there! I have a MineLab Equinox 800 for searching.

Yeah we went a little over the top likely, I think we liked the fact it was called "gold" we had bit plans when we were working up north to find some gold, but it never happened.

Did you find any silver?

Nah, nothing that exciting.

Makes me wonder how hard it would be to create an automated metal detecting drone.

The principle would be to have it zoom over the beach near the sand, then stop and send you a signal / ping you when it detected something of interest.

You could just set it, and then take a small walk / read a book till it found something...

Probably a bit hard to make, but who knows XD

I'm quite sure it's possible, I'm sure with the help of a computer too it could probably discriminate much better too.

Keep at it, you’ll eventually find that bag of gold coins left forgotten by pirates! Another possible strategy is to wait until after it rains and to follow the rainbow...

Good luck and may your detector hit jackpot soon!

That would be the day a whole bag of gold, If only, sounds about as likely as your rainbow plan...lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70846.59
ETH 3567.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79