Some amazing new wood pours to the collection!

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

I’ve you’ve been following my silver stacking blogs you may know by now that I have an obsessive love for wood pours!

Just the other day I had the amazing opportunity to pick up these 3 pours from Dean at Tomoko’s Enterprize.

9EF4ADA3-C0F4-4508-81F4-20CD49954CE3.jpeg

Usually I prefer a second or third pour since it just has such deeper details, but these 3 are poured from the same mold so you can actually see and appreciate the burning of the wood and see then changes in each pour. It just adds so much to the appeal of the pieces and I wondered hit how often the 2-3 pours are offered together as a set for people to truly appreciate.

D990F6C8-B953-4DC1-BDF5-405CFCE8AD56.jpeg

Here’s the first pour as you can see the details are not very intense but you still see a unique pattern forming.

638AE538-4233-4A40-A23F-71AC744BE8A3.jpeg

By the second pour the grooves are getting much deeper and much more destinct. It really has some character now.

1EFC4608-68E5-4AE0-9C5A-4724BA3B5AA5.jpeg

By the third pour chaos has really set in! It’s getting much deeper groves and in some places it’s hard to follow the previous pattern and outline, it’s taken a much deeper and more wild shape.

F3302011-69CA-48FB-AD64-A54310D8062D.jpeg

They are all 3 oz in size but the last piece is unstamped, if you noticed it has some interesting colors and toning and is a bit of a mystery. Dean was aware of it but unsure exactly how it happened and it only scanned 90% silver when tested on a sigma, but I certainly didn’t mind, it just gives it much more character and makes it ever more special and unique in my mind and I’m so glad Dean was willing to part with it in the end.

Another super cool and unique 9oz to the stack!


Footer by @bearone

Sort:  

That's looking really cool! What great pieces of silver.

Oh yeah, I'm in love with wood pours as you can maybe tell...lol.

Very cool, I didn't even think that would be possible fro the actual casting process, just that pattern makers made originals with the lost wax method. What wood is it?

They actually just router out the depression in the wood and pour silver directly into it. I honestly don't know what wood he used in this pour, but I know the guys that do it, love experimenting with different wood types and get some very different patterns and textures.

Thats a bloody awesome idea. I should try this ;)

Oh man, let me know if you do, they router all kinds of different shapes and sizes as well. I know I've love to have one of the first or only gohba.handcrafts wood pours! Would be a great addition to the collect, I know some people near you and I'm sure can get you some silver and point in the direction of some tutorials if your serious

Those wood pours do end up with some really interesting textures! I think even the first one is interesting, but I do like more subtle textures as well as the nice strong ones :)

goatsig

Yeah, I just love every thing about them!

Pretty cool. They could be mounted I a shadow box or something together, would be a neat display

Yeah, that's a great idea actually, they certainly need to stay together.

Cool pieces. Every day learning something new about pouring. Thanks.

Yeah, not alot of people doing the wood pouring, but it's just so cool.

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 9.05% upvote!
I was summoned by @phelimint. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh
A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.

Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

interesting technique.

It reminds me of a time where some construction workers had been pouring cement near our house, and some time later I found a piece of broken off cement with the outline of a leaf in it, the leaf itself having long-since decayed.

Human-made fossils !

I wonder if a technique like that could work with silver...
I guess it'd be problematic since the silver has to be hot to be poured, but if the biological object has intricate surface texture and they can get imprinted into the silver, and said biological object can be entirely degraded afterwards, it could make for something interesting.

I think pouring directly onto the leaf would just incinerate it, but I wonder about taking an impression of a particularly veiny leaf into delft clay or some similar medium than pouring into it perhaps, but I'm not sure if you could press it hard enough then extract in cleanly. Damn, I just really need to start pouring myself so I can try all these ideas out.

Hmm.... you could always press the leaf in, then place it in an environment where the leaf decomposes completely, instead of removing it ?

Or convince Nervous Systems to share their leaf vein generation code and 3D print a high detail negative mold using Shapeways 😆

Very cool wood pours! Dean has a ton talent.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28