Metal detecting - I think I found a new hobby+$49 detector review

in #steemsilvergold5 years ago (edited)

hfdetector.jpg
hfmetaldetector.jpg
hfdetector2.jpg
If anyone isn't familiar with Harbor Freight, it's a chain store in the U.S. that sells low quality tools and hardware for low prices.
Most of the tools are throw-away but certain items they have are good deals, like hacksaw blades, power tools you only need to use once or twice, micro fiber cloths, tape, zip ties, that kind of stuff.
Anyway they were having a 20% off sale and I decided to buy their "9 function" metal detector (normally $49 bucks)to go around my yard and see if I could find any silver coins or anything cool without spending the money for a real detector.
I spent about an hour and a half just checking around my front sidewalk and a small area next to some stairs in my backyard and I was surprised how well it worked.
I didn't read the instructions of course but was able to figure out how the discrimination setting worked and I was getting hits all over the place for nails and various metal junk, then I started finding modern coins and learned what that tone sounded like, so I started just digging the coin hits and found 10 modern coins easily before I finished checking the area I wanted to start off with.

I was told by the people that owned the house before me that at least 10 dollars worth of change had been lost under and around the back deck over the years and they were in the house since 1955 so that means there is probably a few silver coins under there. I swept the area and it's hitting all over the place but I'm saving that for a warmer drier day and maybe for a better detector.

I was surprised how quick the time went by and it was a lot of fun. I'm already researching different detectors and pin pointers and local laws around detecting.

Being intimately familiar with digging in lawns without making too much of a mess and using wire locators and having a wide variety of digging tools, I found the whole process pretty easy, even with the limited function of this detector.

hfdetector.jpg

Pictured are my finds from my first try, A galvanized stake or chunk of pipe, a ball valve handle, a piece of wire, a few nails, an irrigation clamp(which I must have dropped myself),a piece of a bike derailleur or part of a lawn mower, what looks like the base of a metal army man toy, 3 modern quarters, 4 modern dimes, 3 copper pennies and one zinc penny.
Still hoping for some silver and I still have a lot of yard to detect and several hits I didn't dig up before I even have to consider leaving my property.

As far as the detector review goes, with the discount, it was 40 bucks so I figure if it's possible to pay for itself if I can find a few silver quarters or halfs.
It worked fairly well, the coil part is waterproof but the control part is not. It takes 6 AA batteries which is kind of a lot. Overall it was worth it so far and I can use it to find buried valves and clamps on irrigation lines in situations where my regular wire locator won't work or can't be used so for me it was a good buy, for someone that knows they want to do this seriously, I'd maybe look at a nicer one with more features.

I can see myself getting into this even though I haven't hit a treasure chest yet, lol.
Thanks for looking and if you can recommend any equipment for someone starting out please do.

Sort:  

Intriguing! I can imagine this being a fun and possibly addicting hobby. I would be so curious and always want to dig up "one more thing." Have you found out the rules for digging on public versus private property or State Park lands?

Posted using Partiko Android

yes I looked it up and you can metal detect in minneapolis and st paul but apparently some police dont know that according to a forum I lurked on. and you have to be careful about making a mess when you dig.I believe state parks are off limits. Private property requires permission.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89